We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Osa Peninsula Must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Save Saved
You added Finca Maresia to your Saves list
Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
kamloops bc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Osa Peninsula Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at the Finca Maresia.for five nights. It was the highlight of our visit to Costa Rica. We loved our cabin nestled amidst the jungle. The hammocks outside our room were great for reading after a busy day. The four course evening meals prepared by Juan were delicious. Juan was great as he accommodated my dislike of fish. I still drool when I think of the stuffed eggplant that he made one night. If you need help planning your days Juan is more than helpful. The days fly by as you snorkel, explore the beaches, take a horseback ride to spend the day with a Tico couple, hike, or just relax. If you want a unique experience away from the tourist traps this is the place to go. Thanks, Juan, for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    36
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
82
369
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights but wish to had more time to stay. Juan was our host, incredible and helpful person, he will arrange all you need to make your stay as pleasant as can be. La Finca, the rooms, the common areas, all was great. Breakfast was amazing, and dinners even more.

As a Tico, I have never experience the kind of treatment that I received. You can not ask for a better service.

I recommend Finca Maresia to everyone, you won't regret it. Drake's Bay is an incredible place to visit, and after you spend a couple of days you will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just returned from 2 weeks in Costa Rica, 1 week of which was spent on the Osa. We only stayed at the Finca Maresia for 2 nights, but I wish I had planned on longer. The Finca was lovely. The cabin design and the open air bathroom are truly unique and very comfortable. The meals are also very good and Juan was happy to acommodate my vegetarian diet, but the most enjoyment was from the very diverse and interesting group that gathered for conversation every evening. I'll plan on a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent about a week in Finca Maresia. Our host was Juan. He was wonderful. He did all he possibly could to make our stay the best. He did the phone calls, set up the tours, and helped out with transportation. It was great to wake up in the morning to the sounds of nature and to eat breakfast! Dinners were always 4 course affairs, great system to drink what you want and mark it down, pay when you leave. No worries about soiled clothes, for a few dollars the staff does the clothes and they are in your room in the afternoon. The hotel deals in cash, but there is a safe in the room so there is no`problem. It would be hard to find better service and a peaceful place.

Room Tip: We had a superior bugalow, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have just come back form Drake bay, Costa Rica. I stayed in lovely B&B place called Finka Maresia. I travelled on my own and this was great place full of young travellers form all over the world. Every evening after a long, adventures day a big bunch of us would gather together at the table waiting for delicious 4 course dinner cooked by Juan the owner (only $15!).
We shared our stories of the day, opinions and recomendations sipping wine or cold beer.
The whole place is very spacious located little bit away form the beach. All the cabins/little houses are placed an adequate distance from each other and very close to the forest so you can feel the "breath of the jungle" every night!
There is lovely, scenic 15 min trail down which will take you directly to the beach. Juan the owner has got dog named Kira. Kira is a little bit older, local dog and she knows every stone in Drake bay. She was my best company and tour guide for 4 days. She is a very smart dog and she will show you everything around you just have to follow her. We become best mates during my 4 days hiking adventure around Drake.
Getting back to the cabins...beds are very comfortable with nicely design baldahims. Every house has got balcony with hamaks. Bathrooms are very stylish. Shower floor is covered with the stones so when you take shower you almost feel you are standingin the river. There are no nets/glass windows in the bathroom also. You see the forest just few meters away form you. There are nets and the cooling fan in the bedroom. Breakfasts are rich and deliciousand, will give you boost of energy for many hours. I really, really liked this placenad and I hope I will be back one day...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a lovely 4 night stay here in a room with shared bathroom. Book early--we couldn't get into the bungalows and we couldn't stay as long as we wanted. But this room was quite fine. Finca Maresia is very simple and at the same time very elegant. It's a beautiful site and deserves at least one unplanned day to hang out and soak it in. You get breakfast with the room and you'll wind up eating lovely dinners here too. You can also get a picnic lunch for your out-and-about activities. This is a very special place with a budget price tag--the add-ons like beverages are offered quite reasonably. Yes it's a hike to the beach (and when we swam at the nerest beach we found we were sharing the water with Crocs.) Juan can connect guests with wonderful guides for all the attractions in the area. Book with him. We took the night tour with Gustavo, the Corcovado tour with Vincent and a boat ride to St. Josecito (very inexpensive as a group of 6 that he put together from hotel guests.) All were worthwhile. If you take the night tour early in your stay you'll learn to see and hear more on your own at other times. We didn't have a car and that was probably better for us--Drake roads are challenging. We flew into Drake Bay from SJO on Sansa (terminal is around the corner from the Int'l terminal in San Jose.) Juan had the cab pick us up at the airstrip (let him know your plans.) I took a boat to Sierpe from the waterfront--my companion flew out a few days earlier.

Room Tip: I'd have preferred to have a bungalow but I was happy we got to stay here and the room was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Finca Maresia was our last 'stop' on our 2 week Costa Rica tour and this was the real 'Pura Vida'
We selected Drake Bay as it is a good starting point to visit the Corcovado NP (the place we had rated highest on our ‘must do’s’ list when planning our trip) and wanted to stay at Finca Maresia after reading other reviews on TA. We deliberately changed our itinerary to enable us to stay here and we have not regretted this decision one single second : this place brings the nature at your balcony/terrace floor and does this in a genuine, low intrusive, way. The bungalows are constructed with basic materials but are very functional and the architect created a special feel by mixing different styles and finishing methods. And there where quality is needed, it is provided : good mattresses, excellent step-in rain shower in the bungalows, and all clean and well maintained.

But the place has other assets : I will list a few but most have been covered by other guests :
- good food at an excellent price/quality (stay for the 4 course dinner prepared by Juan !)
- excellent advise on what to do in the area (see other comment below)
- friendly and helpful staff
- spontaneous and relaxed atmosphere, inciting to meet and exchange ideas and experiences with other guests (and expect to find at least 5 different nationalities)
- acceptable temperatures during night time WITHOUT the need for A/C (but leave the fan running at lowest speed to avoid condensation inside)
- and above all : the nature at your doorstep (every morning at 5 a.m. I could not resist and got out of bed to shift to the hammock on the terrace to hear and see the forest come to life, camera next to my side, recorder set to register the sound of the howler monkeys and the birds…)

Drake Bay and Finca Maresia can be reached by 4WD during the dry season. The dirt road from Rincon will take you at least 1 ¼ hour and is a beautiful stretch of nature. By all means, try to arrive before down as you have to cross a few rivers and this is really no fun in the dark (as we experienced).

One last thing on Corcovado : don’t make any reservations in advance : on arrival, talk to Juan and the other guests and learn about their experiences of the (last) day(s) and decide what you want to do from there onwards. In preparing our tour, we were so excited about going to Corcovado that we wanted to be sure to have spot at the dorm house in La Sirena for an overnight stay, so went through the park reservation-office in Pt Jimenez etc. Finally we ended up with Corcovado Expeditions in Drake Bay where we booked a 2day tour to Corcovado/La Sirena. The trip was fine, well organized, good guide etc but for a park of this size, you do not expect to walk the same trial twice in 2 days… And that is exactly what happens if you do this trip. A bit disappointing for us and we would definitely have done other things if we had been able to decide based on the information from Juan and the feedback from the other guests. And if you still want to stay overnight, Corcovado Expeditions will get you in ; they have their contacts and it works !
The night walk starting at Finca Maresia is one of those other options we would strongly recommend !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finca Maresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.