We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pura vida"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Lindo Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Lindo Resort
Save Saved
You added Rio Lindo Resort to your Saves list
Entry Street, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Dominical
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“"Pura vida"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I have stayed here more than once and would recommend it to anyone. Staff is helpful and courteous. Pool is great. Hotel is secure with 24 hour personnel. George, the iguana, is getting on in years, but there seem to be three or four offspring ready to take his place and greet the tourists who stay in this fine hotel that is representative of the best that Costa Rica has to offer!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed there many times and will continue to. The owners are the nicest people in the world and very helpful. It is close to everything in town. The staff is helpful as well. The bar restraunt has great food and the best pizza in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

This was a bit of a bummer. When we arrived, the owner tried to let us pay more than we agreed by email and finaly when we could show the email (yes we brought it what he didn't expect) he was convinced.

The rooms are nice but the owner is spending more energy to have fun with his friends and in the adjented rumbar than spending time for his guests.

Loud private party’s 2 days after each other, so bad sleeping. Pool was dirty. Had to ask for towels. BBQ party with friends so we didn't feel invited swimming out there. So everything together….find another place to sleep unless you really like 70-party's.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We just got back from a week at the Rio Lindo. It was our 5th time in Costa Rica and we never had a better time. The staff made us feel immediatley welcome and at home and helped us to fully appreciate the local attractions. We saw beautiful beaches, waterfalls, rode horse and ATVs and had some of the best pizza we've had since we lived in New York. They had live music twice while we were there and the musicians and scene were some of the best times weve had in years. The views and location are almost perfect and the rates were extremely reasonable. My wife and I highky recommend Rio Lindo if your looking to get the most out of your vacation. We had planned on going to several other locations but ended up never leaving Dominical because it was just too much fun. If your looking to have a good and relaxing time as well as a true costa rican experince definitely make Rio Lindo part of you vacation here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Sure, the hotel itself is decent. It's in a good location and has the amenities you'd expect at its price point. I suppose you could manage quite fine during your stay...if you don't have the highly unpleasant experience of encountering the owner.

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights at Rio Lindo and wanted to extend our stay in Dominical. We apporached the owner (who was working the desk at the time) about staying another four nights. From the moment our interaction began, her attitude was combative, rude, and demeaning. She quoted us a multi-night "discount" rate that was 33% higher than the rate we had just paid--which was over the weekend, too. After listening to her litany of complaints (high electricity bills, unfilled rooms, the cost of the pool, which, for what it's worth, clearly does not include cleaning; it's filthy--all of these concerns that she seemed to hold us personallly responsible for), she virtually accused of us of attempting to maliciously bankrupt her. This treatment because we had the gall to ask whether we could get the same rate that we initially paid! The incident was brutal enough that both my partner and I walked away feeling verbally assaulted. It was a miserable way to be introduced to Dominical and continued to taint our perceptions over the following week.

It's rare that I write a review, particularly a negative one....but this woman's attitude was so negative, so accusatory, and so abrasive, it merited a warning to other travellers. Buyer beware! Go down the street to Domilocos for much friendlier service and comparable rates and amenities.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang,Ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Brian and Kathy make you feel like part of their family when you first meet them . Besides the two of them , their family consists of meat eating Iguana's....haha. The rooms are very clean and air conditioned, unlike many places in Costa Rica. They have Satellite TV, suicide shower heads in some rooms and regular shower heads in other rooms. Either way, in the summer, you are going to sweat right after getting out of the shower. To let you know how nice these people are, I was with my 2 daughters and had already checked out of the rooms to spend a few nights with family there. When We refused to be driven 30 miles with the drunken " said family," we removed our luggage from the car at 10: 00 pm, and Kathy gave us rooms ( at a reduced rate ) and arranged travel for us back to San Jose ! At this hotel you are treated like family, not just a guest . Every one of the staff is just as accommodating ! We also met many of the local residents. They were not only friendly, but some invited us to stay at their houses on our next trip! If not for all the kindness from the local people and the owners of the Rio (After the experience with " said family ") it would have been a disappointing trip. They made it a trip to remember. and right now I'm planning another trip to Dominical, and I will,if they have room, stay at the Rio !!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed 10 nights at the Rio Lindo Resort during our month-long trip to Costa Rica. This is our second month-long trip to Costa Rica, in a row, so we have seen and stayed at a lot of places. I love Costa Rica overall, but there are things that don't appeal to me in some places. First of all, Dominical was not one of the favorite places we visited on the Pacific side. Having been all over Costa Rica we often noted the friendliness of the Ticos in general, however in Dominical there was a "less friendly" ambiance which we attributed to the Ticos being around Gringos too much (this applies to anywhere in CR where the culture has devolved to North American dominance...like Jaco.). Many of the North Americans we saw , who now reside there, looked cranky, hungry , or hungover. There was really is nothing to do but surf in Dominical. We were not bored because we had a vehicle and explored up and down the coast most days, checking out other towns and beaches. Tortilla Flats had decent food in Dominical. The Rio had some good food choices as well. The room prices were reasonable for Dominical ($55/night). The price included continental breakfast, which became tiresome having it every morning (cold boiled eggs, toast, fruit, coffee).

As a rule, when choosing accomodations, we don't spend a lot of money and our expectations are in proportion to what we pay. We generally look for accommodations that are clean, close to a beach and eating places. We met those requirements at the Rio but there was one thing I couldn't discern from the pictures...the noise level. The problem at the Rio Lindo is the loud unpleasant noise level from many sources. The hotel is located at the edge of the highway entering into town, where numerous and large trucks engine -breaked while passing by...at all hours. Secondly, the "resort" is small but has two bars within a stones throw of the rooms, making it a challenge to sleep because the rooms are not even a little bit sound proof . The pool bar is supposed to close at 8 pm but somethimes does not. At times loud, distorted music was blaring from both bars at the same time. One night the the owners, who were returning from a party, decided to open up the bar at midnight for their friends. They played loud music and then yelled over the music until dawn. I asked to check-out the next day but was told they would keep some of the money, which I had paid them up front, as a penalty to me for wanting to leave. I was annoyed at the tone of the manager who later apologized explaining that she was tired from partying all night. We were given two dinners as compensation and a promise that it wouldn't happen again. Finally, the hotel is directly attached to an ATV rental place...another source of noise.

There is a lovely small pool on the property, which was one of the things that made me choose the Rio over other places in Dominical. There were posted rules that say people must shower before and after entering the pool, but I never saw anyone shower. However I did see several big, sweaty, hairy men jump into the pool, sometimes with clothes...all of which turned me off from going in.

So, as a recommendation...I would say stay at the Rio Lindo Resort only if noise doesn't bother you, you don't have issues with the pool hygiene, and you want a predominantly non-Costa Rican experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Lindo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Lindo Resort

Address: Entry Street, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Dominical
Also Known As:
Rio Lindo Hotel Dominical
Rio Lindo Resort Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Lindo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.