We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cost Rican Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Lindo Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Lindo Resort
Save
You added Rio Lindo Resort to your Saves list
Entry Street, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Solvang,Ca
1 review
“Great Cost Rican Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Brian and Kathy make you feel like part of their family when you first meet them . Besides the two of them , their family consists of meat eating Iguana's....haha. The rooms are very clean and air conditioned, unlike many places in Costa Rica. They have Satellite TV, suicide shower heads in some rooms and regular shower heads in other rooms. Either way, in the summer, you are going to sweat right after getting out of the shower. To let you know how nice these people are, I was with my 2 daughters and had already checked out of the rooms to spend a few nights with family there. When We refused to be driven 30 miles with the drunken " said family," we removed our luggage from the car at 10: 00 pm, and Kathy gave us rooms ( at a reduced rate ) and arranged travel for us back to San Jose ! At this hotel you are treated like family, not just a guest . Every one of the staff is just as accommodating ! We also met many of the local residents. They were not only friendly, but some invited us to stay at their houses on our next trip! If not for all the kindness from the local people and the owners of the Rio (After the experience with " said family ") it would have been a disappointing trip. They made it a trip to remember. and right now I'm planning another trip to Dominical, and I will,if they have room, stay at the Rio !!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed 10 nights at the Rio Lindo Resort during our month-long trip to Costa Rica. This is our second month-long trip to Costa Rica, in a row, so we have seen and stayed at a lot of places. I love Costa Rica overall, but there are things that don't appeal to me in some places. First of all, Dominical was not one of the favorite places we visited on the Pacific side. Having been all over Costa Rica we often noted the friendliness of the Ticos in general, however in Dominical there was a "less friendly" ambiance which we attributed to the Ticos being around Gringos too much (this applies to anywhere in CR where the culture has devolved to North American dominance...like Jaco.). Many of the North Americans we saw , who now reside there, looked cranky, hungry , or hungover. There was really is nothing to do but surf in Dominical. We were not bored because we had a vehicle and explored up and down the coast most days, checking out other towns and beaches. Tortilla Flats had decent food in Dominical. The Rio had some good food choices as well. The room prices were reasonable for Dominical ($55/night). The price included continental breakfast, which became tiresome having it every morning (cold boiled eggs, toast, fruit, coffee).

As a rule, when choosing accomodations, we don't spend a lot of money and our expectations are in proportion to what we pay. We generally look for accommodations that are clean, close to a beach and eating places. We met those requirements at the Rio but there was one thing I couldn't discern from the pictures...the noise level. The problem at the Rio Lindo is the loud unpleasant noise level from many sources. The hotel is located at the edge of the highway entering into town, where numerous and large trucks engine -breaked while passing by...at all hours. Secondly, the "resort" is small but has two bars within a stones throw of the rooms, making it a challenge to sleep because the rooms are not even a little bit sound proof . The pool bar is supposed to close at 8 pm but somethimes does not. At times loud, distorted music was blaring from both bars at the same time. One night the the owners, who were returning from a party, decided to open up the bar at midnight for their friends. They played loud music and then yelled over the music until dawn. I asked to check-out the next day but was told they would keep some of the money, which I had paid them up front, as a penalty to me for wanting to leave. I was annoyed at the tone of the manager who later apologized explaining that she was tired from partying all night. We were given two dinners as compensation and a promise that it wouldn't happen again. Finally, the hotel is directly attached to an ATV rental place...another source of noise.

There is a lovely small pool on the property, which was one of the things that made me choose the Rio over other places in Dominical. There were posted rules that say people must shower before and after entering the pool, but I never saw anyone shower. However I did see several big, sweaty, hairy men jump into the pool, sometimes with clothes...all of which turned me off from going in.

So, as a recommendation...I would say stay at the Rio Lindo Resort only if noise doesn't bother you, you don't have issues with the pool hygiene, and you want a predominantly non-Costa Rican experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dominical
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

This is a very nice small hotel with great view of the river and ocean.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

If you are looking for value and want to be within walking distance of the ocean and restaurants in Dominical, then Rio Lindo is your best bet. The staff is wonderful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The hotel grounds are amazing - wondeful trees, a swimming pool, and lots of green grass. Most hotels in Dominical do not have any atmosphere, this one is the best for atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

I just recently spent a week at Rio Lindo. I have to second the above kudos to Barbara- she was great! She arranged all sorts of activities for us (horseback riding, cabs, dinners, etc.) The place is great (especially the pool). We had surfing lessons with Adam. Great instructor for beginners, reserve at Hotel Domilocos front desk. Dominical is a beautiful place. I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Nice hotel with a good location. Beautiful view of the rivermouth to the ocean. Only thing that was a negative is that it was too close to the highway and the noise of the trucks. However, the number of trucks is minimal. My son went surfing with a board rental of $10 at the Pineapple Surf Shop and we went to Corcovado National Park. The boat ride was pretty cool especially when leaving the Rio Sierpe and entering the Pacific..."Hold On". If I had to do the trip again I probably would have done the Snorkling off Cano Island instead of visiting the National Park. Although the park was very nice & interesting.

  • Liked — Cable TV & Pool
  • Disliked — Distance to the beach - 10 minute walk
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

This hotel has everything you need in Dominical. We found that the Pacific Coast of CR is very warm. It was nice to have the pool to take a dip at will. During some of our excursions, that pool was never far from our thoughts. The rooms are comfortable, the grounds are pleasant and well-kept and the best part of our stay was Barbara, the hotel manager. She was helpful in every way possible. She set up adventure trips, told us of local places to see and things to do. One of our favorites was a hike up the local mountain with views of the coast, monkeys galore and even a toucan (a strenuous hike but well worth the effort). Our group recommends the horse-back ride to the waterfall, deep-sea sport-fishing and Cano Island diving. I even learned to surf while there (go to the beach and ask for Bob). This area of CR has it all and Barbara will hook you up with any adventure you choose. Have fun.

  • Liked — All of it and Barbara, the host was great!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Lindo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Lindo Resort

Address: Entry Street, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rio Lindo Hotel Dominical
Rio Lindo Resort Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Lindo Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.