We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing destination wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge to your Saves list
Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge
600 m northeast of the church | Cana Blanca de Baru, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An amazing destination wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The villa was perfect for our wedding and party of 19 people. It was a rustic, beautiful location and very private. We loved the fact that it was only our party, no outside guests like at other resorts. The staff was helpful and informative and the cooks we hired could not be beat. Everyone loved the food and was blown away by the hospitality we were shown. The neighbor was so sweet and took us horseback riding through his farm. We all enjoyed the hiking trails and waterfalls on the property as well. We did discover that renting a car was we should have done from the beginning, as some of the busses had difficulty getting to the villa. The dirt road in is very steep, windy and gets slippery in the rain. We saw may toucans and other wildlife while staying at the villa. I would absolutely return in the future.

Room Tip: No room service offered
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Los Aires. Very tranquil place off the beaten path. About 20 minutes to Dominical and the same to San Isidro up the hill.

We heard monkeys in the distance and were visited daily by macaws and other birds. Pool was very nice and the A/C was welcome in the afternoons as it was the hottest time of year when we visited.

Also the driest time of year too so the waterfalls were trickling but they were still fun and I know would be really nice during green season.

Viviana is a great person to work with as were the owners and my entire family enjoyed our stay. Nobody wanted to go home!

We posted pictures on this facebook page.
https://www.facebook.com/robert.turner.52831666

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Los Aires in February 2014 for 6 nights. We had a great time. The use is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. Viviana and her husband did a great job accommodating us. They were extremely helpful and flexible with out big group of people. They did a great job cooking meals for us, and accommodating members of our group with food allergies. Viviana set up snorkeling and white water rafting trips for us, both of which we're amazing. She also recommending a certain company for zip lining which we ended up doing on our own. Again, it was an amazing time. We couldn't have asked for better caretakers.

Here are a few things people may want to consider before renting:

1. One of the rooms in the main house does not have AC.

2. The weather was beautiful. No rain, no wind, sunny days, yet the house is in the mountains of Central America which is why I think we lost power almost everyday we were there. Once we lost power for about 12 hours, but according to Viviana the whole area did. It was from approximately 10pm to 10am. It must happen pretty often since all the rooms are equip with battery powered LED light strips which was helpful. The unhelpful thing is about half of them didn't work, and none of them worked in our room. To use the bathrooms we took pool water in a 5 gallon jug and hauled it up to our rooms to fill the toilet tank. We were okay with all of this because it's all part of the adventure. But I think it would be helpful for others to know.

2. The hot water didn't work in our bedroom for the first 2 days we're were there and the cold water didn't work in the upstairs bedroom the entire time we were there.

3. The hottub didn't work while we were there which out of everything was probably the one thing we were disappointed about. The nights were cool and it was perfect hottub weather.

4. One screen in our bedroom windows was old and had tears in it. One tear was quite large.

5. The chess set was ill maintained with spider webs all over it and debris on the board.

We had a great time at Villa Los Aires. Thank you very much

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del_Agua, Owner at Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for your honest comments. I am pleased to hear that the staff did such an excellent job looking after you and you enjoyed your stay at Los Aires. I have reminded the staff of the importance of minor maintenance issues such as sweeping the chess board (which is infrequently used) and checking the screens, and the power failure lights. All the sleeping rooms do have a/c - unfortunately one of the portable units we have for the the smallest rooms was not in place during your stay. The hot tub has been repaired. It is a challenge to get repair technicians promptly in CR and especially to our remote location. Our apologies that it was non operational during your stay.
The electrical grid is usually quite reliable in our area - except in the stormy season when one can expect brief interruptions but we generally do not accept reservations at the villa during those months. Our goal is complete satisfaction - my regrets that we were unable to meet all your expectations. Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked Los Aires for a family vacation in Feb. 2013. My husband and I, my mother,grandmother and two boys ages 5 & 8 stayed here. It was the perfect place to get away from it all. Steve was very friendly and easy to work with in regards to planning our vacation.The grounds were beautiful and withing walking distance to some great waterfalls on the property. The house is magnificent! It is very remote so i would recommend renting a 4x4 vehicle. We decided to have the house personnel cook lunch and dinner for us everyday (sent email food request ahead of time). The food was better than going to a restaurant and you don't have to travel back to town. The onsite concierge Vivanna and her husband attended to our every need. My mothers luggage didn't make it on the plane to Costa Rica until the next flight. They made plans to have it delivered to the house the next day. Highly Highly recommend this property for small or large groups! One word AWESOME.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Costa Rica, where we spent 2 weeks at the Villa Los Aires celebrating my 50th Birthday. The place is great, there were 8 for us staying here and had a great time. Vivanna was very helpful and the trips/activities she recommended were great. The Zip wire through the rainforest canopy is a must, so is the white-water rafting where you really get to see some of best views of the rainforest and wild life. We saw Squirrel Monkeys and a King Vulture and lots more. The guides for both these activities were very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife.

The Villa is wonderful and in the middle of no where. If you are looking for somewhere that you will be close to Nature, woken in the morning by the sound of Monkeys and Toucan then this is it.

We started with two cars a four-wheel drive and a normal salon car, we had to return the salon car and get a second four-wheel drive as the salon car could not coop with the track leading to the villa, it is very steep in places and gets slippy when wet. Four-wheel drive vehicle in a must.

We would love to return and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I, and 5 other friends rented this house for a week and had an awesome time. We opted for the transportation provided by the Villa which worked out great for us, and Viviana was very easy to work with as far as planning activities both before we arrived (via email) and once we were there. The food was excellent (as good at the Villa as at any of the local restaurants we tried!) and they even cooked up the Mahi Mahi and Tuna we caught while deep sea fishing, so that was a treat. We all stayed in the main house and the rooms were great (though bugs did seem to creep in here and there!). 3 of the 4 rooms we used had air conditioning, but it was cool enough in April that it wasn't a problem for the occupant of the 4th room. We enjoyed several days lounging at the Villa (swimming, hot-tubing, playing chess, listening to music, and walking around the grounds), as well as several days exploring Quepos, Dominical and all the adventure activities they have to offer (zip-lining, 4-wheeling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, Manuel Antonio park, etc). The driveway down to the villa is LONG and steep, so if you're not comfortable driving a manual transmission, I would recommend not renting your own vehicle! The people in Costa Rica were very friendly and most spoke at least some broken English. Manuel Antonio park was another highlight of trip, but would highly recommend hiring a guide. They're generally easy to find outside the entrance area, and you can negotiate the rates. We wouldn't have seen any of the wildlife without our guide...he was well worth the $8-$10 per person in addition to admission. We loved our first trip to Costa Rica and would definitely recommend the Villa if you're looking for beautiful surroundings, good food, and being away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

There are times when words fail you - and in describing our experience here at Villa Los Aires left us all truly speechless. Not only was this house magical and our best family "secret", not only was Costa Rica beautiful and welcoming, not only were our days filled with unforgettable adventures - but the BEST thing of all were our hostess VIviana, our driver Henry and our amazing cooks Patricia and Aron. They tended to every detail of our vacation to this indescribable getaway making it truly carefree and wonderful. We trusted VIviana's suggestions (and were never disappointed); we felt safe with Henry on some pretty unnerving drives (including the first drive into the region of the house) and we felt truly pampered by Patricia, Aron and the housekeeping staff. I would recommend this house to anyone (except that I like the idea of keeping this our own family secret!) We stayed 12 days in the beginning of August, so did have rain everyday by about 4:00, without fail - so we had to plan early days. There were 14 of us all together and were all able to stay in the main house - definitely agree that the annex rooms were less inviting. Overall perfect and unforgettable experience - would return in a minute. Most important piece of advice - Use Patricia!!! Cooking meals and getting groceries here seemed nearly impossible to us. Dinner in the moonlight with cloth napkins and a preset table - no worries, no cleanup and DELICIOUS food! Thank you wonderful staff - we loved you all. Costa Rica - we miss you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge

Address: 600 m northeast of the church | Cana Blanca de Baru, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale jungle lodge in the rugged Southern Pacific mountains. 30 minutes to ocean at Dominical or San Isidro. Deluxe rooms with breakfast included, 5 waterfalls and jungle hiking trails on property. Hotel also has a full bar, meals, cafe with espresso bar, cinema, pool, spa, workout area and tropical gardens with giant chess. Diverse clientel, gay owned/operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.