We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay! Nicest Place to Stay in Dominical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Domilocos to your Saves list
Hotel Domilocos
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay! Nicest Place to Stay in Dominical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

All my time in the hotel was great. The owner Mike went out of his way to provide personalized and excellent service. The room was clean, and fresh linen was provided every day.

The restaurant attached to the hotel, Confusione, was superb. I cannot say enough good things about the place. The tapas style is a treat, and really brings dining to an intimate level with friends.

The food was always fresh and excellent. The dishes are easily on par with 5 star restaurants throughout North America. There is also something for every palate. The staff are always really helpful and happy to help in any way at all.

There was an excellent selection of wines, and Mike is only too happy to help with that.

I am going back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
22
68
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

we chose domilocos after reading all the rave reviews on tripadvisor, but when we got there we were pretty disappointed. we really wanted to like it! but the rooms felt run down and dingy, which was surprising since its a relatively new hotel and the owner michael was definitely enthusiastic and friendly. its kind of like a holiday inn -- every room looks exactly alike, with beige linens, bare bones furnishings, etc. that are all exactly the same and not that appealing. just not the kind of feel we were looking for - we can get that in the states! we've found nicer, more comfortable rooms for cheaper throughout costa rica. several of the lights were burned out in our room, there were random holes in the wall, and the reading lights on the night stand simply didn't work. the windows all look out onto a public walkway and have no screens, so we felt like we had to keep the curtains closed all the time, which was not fun. all of this was really surprising. one plus is that the AC did work extremely well. also the free breakfast was generous. if you're on a surfing trip this place may be ideal (but strangely no outdoor shower anywhere to rinse off when you get back). but if you're looking for something romantic, cozy or with any character, i'd check elsewhere first. yes, if you're in dominical you're going to spend most of the day at the beach, but this was just not a comfortable place to come back to at night, especially since we were a couple. we would have payed a little more for some character in the rooms. side note: the restaurant has changed from italian to tapas. it was really good but fyi it's no longer italian.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We arrived here looking for a hotel later in the evening in pouring rain. The owner was helpful to begin with and very friendly. We were shown a room and really that was it. The restaurant was closed, the pool was filthy, the room was okay at first but it really smelled of urine and so did the other two rooms I looked at. There was no-one else staying there at that stage although another two couples, and a family arrived the next day. The rate said inclusive breakfast but wasnt. Online when you look them up they have a restaurant, bar and everything you could want. THe location is fine for town, nice short walk to great restaurants but the backpacker in front of this place is an absolute hovel. The only saving grace for this place is the breakfast cafe next door. It is oustanding for its pancakes and fresh juice and coffee. It cheers you up to know they are there in the morning - smiling and welcoming.

A poor excuse this hotel is - off season - yes possibly but that is no excuse for the dirty, ant ridden room that we were in. I did not shower there as I didnt want to put my feet in there. The lights also didnt work properly and there was no cleaning of the room over the 2 days and nights we were there and I advised them on exit that was slack and there answer was, oh okay - you should have reminded us...

Dont visit there !!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

My two buddies and I made our way to Dominical for a second surfing trip and promptly made our way to Domilocos without reservations. Despite this, the charming and generous owner Michael treated us like old friends, remembered our names and made us feel right at home! The hotel was as beautiful as always, the rooms clean, cool and inviting, the staff helpful and first class. A perfect place to enjoy Dominical and we wouldn't consider elsewhere. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed (only the best restaurant in Costa Rica), but that only gives us another reason to come back. Thank you Michael for yet another great visit. Domilocos is the best!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed here while attending the Sunset Surf Camp, and the hotel accomodations were perfect. The setting was gorgeous, the staff were unbelievably friendly and accomodating, and the cost was very affordable. The resteraunt that was attached (Ristorante Confusione) was spectacular. Food and service were both excellent here. If you are travelling to Domincal, then this is the place that you want to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My wife and I do volunteer work in Costa Rica yearly. Wanted a low key holiday away from tourist crowd. Stayed two nights at Domilocos. Owner Michael and all the staff very friendly. Clean and quiet rooms and a wonderful breakfast. buffet. Very good bargain too! Dillon the surf instructor located here is very helpful and great rates as well. We will be back! Fun to learn to surf(a little with no delusions about becoming good), , play in the water and on the black sand beach, relax, read, walk a bit and check out the local food.

PURA VIDA!

Greg and Eva

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I had the privilege of staying at the hotel for just 2 nights and my 7 friends and I had the most incredible experience. The rooms were excellent and the restaurant was unbelievable. We also had the privilege of meeting the owners. They were a very respectful and accommodating couple who when out of their way to ensure our stay was one to remember. I will forever make it a point to stay at Domilocos for my future annual visits to Costa Rica!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domilocos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.