We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place, GREAT people and OUTSTANDING Restaurant... EXCELLENT...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Domilocos to your Saves list
Hotel Domilocos
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT place, GREAT people and OUTSTANDING Restaurant... EXCELLENT...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very nice property and very short walk to beautiful beach. Be prepared with camera for spectacular SUNSETS just a block away. Hotel is well designed, clean and comfortable.
Rooms are well appointed and clean with private bath. The Restaurant is fantastic and
the menu is very creative. Wonderful breakfast starts your day off right. I found eveyone on staff to be very friendly and helpful. I like visiting Dominical for a couple of beach days every month and know I will stay only here in the future. Great Place. ENJOY. Pura Vida !
John B. Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbanks2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Never and I mean never stay at this Dump.. They have the worse customer service..NONE, until you pay your bill. They are happy to take your money but they Don't even ask how your visit was.. They don't care. The lobby area smells like dirty wet dog all the time, even when the dogs are not in the room.
The towels are ruff and small, sheets are either so thin that you have to look twice to see if there is one on the mattress and have holes or they are so ruff and itchy that you can barely stand to lay on them..I would have to get up after just a few hours and put tons of lotion on again just to bare laying on them.
The beds were so noisy that every time you moved it woke you up and the other person in the room and someone was always moving trying to get comfortable.. Who ever heard of bamboo slats for a bed? Worst beds ever. Guess you could say Very Loud Squawking Shock you awake Beds. Thank goodness I brought my own pillow!! Because the ones they have are BAD!
The beautiful spa you see the picture of, is used as a kiddy pool for the owners kids.. They are either filling it up with a water hose or draining the slug out of it, which drains out to the parking area which is in the front of the hotel, which creates a muddy mess for you to have to walk in
all the time.
The room had a faint smell of sewage all the time.. The toilets were bubbling and making noise, but mostly it was the shower drain that was making all the racket at all hours. The sink was very slow to drain most of the time.
It would of been nice to have a chair in the room to sit on. It was hard to sit on the low beds that sunk even lower.
The room was very dim and there was no lamp to read by.
This is a noisy place to stay.. One of the many dogs that hang around was barking during the night several times.. You could hear people talking all during the night.. It seemed to be coming from behind our room..Some kind of tapping going on all night..You could hear the all the road trafic. The hotel laundry room was next to our room, we could hear the noise from that, first think in the morning.
Oh...Did I mention the dead rat on the way to breakfast. I'm sure at least one (more like several) of the staff walked past the dead thing. .. My husband had walked passed earlier that morning and later it was still there.
Now this wonderful breakfast several have talked about consist of the same thing every single morning....Scrambled eggs, fruit, beans and rice, toast , ham(lunch meat), cereal, orange drink, not juice, coffee and Pancake of some sort.. Nothing had any seasoning in it. Very Bland and mostly was all cold.
The tap water had a fowl smell to it.
The room was fairly clean, and we got lucky that the AC worked the whole time we were there, other"s were not so lucky..
Next store to the left of the hotel is a small Cafe. They make wonderful smoothies, They have great food also. The owner is a very sweet lady. She runs a great little Cafe. You will meet her children most likley if they are there.. They are all very polite.
The people that have written good reviews for this place must of bumped there heads while they were there.. Because I would never stay there again...I would rather sleep in the car..
I could keep writing.. but I want to put this experience behind me.

Room Tip: If our room was any indication of other rooms.. My tip is to find another place to stay.. don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for Christmas and New Years - If you want comfortable clean rooms, great service, accessible position without being in the heart of it all, and amazing food. This is the place.

We met some amazing people here, a few of whom go back to this hotel on a yearly basis - which tells you something about the place - you are welcome with open arms. You are not smack bang in the middle of town so its a good escape from the bars but also close enough for it to have easy access to everywhere... the hotel is 2 minutes from the beach so we enjoyed many sundowners here.. with the occasional bonfire....PARADISE.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for our first night in Costa Rica because we were on our way from San Jose to the Osa Peninsula. It was the peak of holiday time and we planned our trip late in the game. Domilocos was the only place that had any rooms available. That is the ONLY reason to stay at this hotel--if there is no other place available!

We are not fussy people and have stayed in a variety of places--from very simple to the most luxurious.

A night at this place feels like living in a slum. It is not clean. The towels are old, and torn and made us itch. The sheets are also itchy and the beds unbearable. There are cats everywhere. The AC is minimal. The jacuzzi is broken and you would not want to put your foot in it, not to mention have your kids swim in it!

If you look at the back of the building, it is not even finished! It has tarps blowing in the wind.
This place isn't cheap by CR standards--we paid $140 for the room

We were hesitant to eat the "free" breakfast, but actually, that was the ONLY redeeming part of the stay here. Avoid this place!

Room Tip: There are not any good rooms from what i can tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreast1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent one night at Hotel Domilocos in route to Playa Matapalo. We felt it was a great deal for the price. Our room was quiet and comfortable with air conditioning. We arrived around 10pm and restaurant was closing but staff was very cordial and stayed to serve us a cerveza which we greatly appreciated after our long trip from the US and drive to Dominical from San Jose. We were all very pleased with our complimentary breakfast the next morning of great coffee (and believe me you can get bad coffee at hotels in Costa Rica) eggs, and fresh fruit. Open air restaurant allows you to absorb the sounds of the birds singing and the beautiful flowering plants around you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler6756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great place to stay while in Dominical. Can't get closer to the best surf spot and the staff is very helpful. Restaurant is great for groups and dinners were terrific. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've traveled all over the world and I've never experienced beds as bad as this hotel had. We're talking sink in the middle, squeaky, can't walk in the morning beds. worst beds ever. Don't stay here unless you are desperate or too cheap to care about being able to walk the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goaggieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#6 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#13 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#2 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing