We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Save Saved
You added Hotel Domilocos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent one night at Hotel Domilocos in route to Playa Matapalo. We felt it was a great deal for the price. Our room was quiet and comfortable with air conditioning. We arrived around 10pm and restaurant was closing but staff was very cordial and stayed to serve us a cerveza which we greatly appreciated after our long trip from the US and drive to Dominical from San Jose. We were all very pleased with our complimentary breakfast the next morning of great coffee (and believe me you can get bad coffee at hotels in Costa Rica) eggs, and fresh fruit. Open air restaurant allows you to absorb the sounds of the birds singing and the beautiful flowering plants around you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    33
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
19
68
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great place to stay while in Dominical. Can't get closer to the best surf spot and the staff is very helpful. Restaurant is great for groups and dinners were terrific. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I've traveled all over the world and I've never experienced beds as bad as this hotel had. We're talking sink in the middle, squeaky, can't walk in the morning beds. worst beds ever. Don't stay here unless you are desperate or too cheap to care about being able to walk the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very good location close to the beach, restaurants, and surf rental.
The room was basic but very convenient and defintely worth it given the price.
The breakfast delicious and staff very nice.

Maybe lacking a bit of air and space in the room but it was OK for 4 nights.
Anyway in Dominical, you stay on your surf board, at the beach and not inside.

Olivier

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived in Dominical for what we thought was going to be for 5 nights to do some scuba diving. The pictures on reviews reflect this hotel when it was new. Not sure what has happened here but it has become dilapidated and undesirable. We knew that Dominical was a small surf town but we just could not bring ourselves to stay more than one night. To start off, the woman at the desk did not want to honor our reservation for the same price. The very small courtyard between the restaurant and office was unkept with about 3 or 4 cats using it for their facilities. The hot tub was not operational. Our beds were cheap and squeaked (more liked screamed) everytime you moved. The air conditioning only worked well if you kept the bathroom door shut which made it very stuffy, although it helped drown out the machinery running out back all night. We did have a small fridge in the room, held shut with a strap of duct tape. Our free breakfast was an even bigger concern. You had to fight the flies away from the jam pot while making toast and not everything looked especially desirable. I couldn't bring myself to even eat the fruit thinking there had been flies all over it on the open platter. No where else we stayed had even one fly, we think it had to do with all the cats, and there was the whiff of it in the air. Please think twice before staying here. Probably ok for surfers on a very tight budget but you still might not want to take any chances.

Room Tip: This place really needs serious improvement and the lady running the desk needs a course in customer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in low season and for the price of a hostel-room we got a nice hotel! The breakfast was so good-especially the PANCAKES!the rooms are nice and clean and the hotel is very close to the beach.Michael is very helpful.We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a bit dark in the room as one of the lights was out over the sink area. AC worked fine once I figured out how to work the controls, too many buttons! There was breakfast with the rate which is always nice but again pretty basic, mostly because of low season and low number of guests.
But for 40$ what can ya say, not too bad and with the low number of guests it was quiet.
We are returning guests so I guess that says something, and I do remember the walls being really thin.
Beach location is right across the road, the road really needs work though, I thought I was going to lose my car in one of the sink holes in the road on the way to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domilocos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.