We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst beds in Costa Rica” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Domilocos to your Saves list
Hotel Domilocos
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst beds in Costa Rica”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've traveled all over the world and I've never experienced beds as bad as this hotel had. We're talking sink in the middle, squeaky, can't walk in the morning beds. worst beds ever. Don't stay here unless you are desperate or too cheap to care about being able to walk the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    36
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
22
68
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very good location close to the beach, restaurants, and surf rental.
The room was basic but very convenient and defintely worth it given the price.
The breakfast delicious and staff very nice.

Maybe lacking a bit of air and space in the room but it was OK for 4 nights.
Anyway in Dominical, you stay on your surf board, at the beach and not inside.

Olivier

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived in Dominical for what we thought was going to be for 5 nights to do some scuba diving. The pictures on reviews reflect this hotel when it was new. Not sure what has happened here but it has become dilapidated and undesirable. We knew that Dominical was a small surf town but we just could not bring ourselves to stay more than one night. To start off, the woman at the desk did not want to honor our reservation for the same price. The very small courtyard between the restaurant and office was unkept with about 3 or 4 cats using it for their facilities. The hot tub was not operational. Our beds were cheap and squeaked (more liked screamed) everytime you moved. The air conditioning only worked well if you kept the bathroom door shut which made it very stuffy, although it helped drown out the machinery running out back all night. We did have a small fridge in the room, held shut with a strap of duct tape. Our free breakfast was an even bigger concern. You had to fight the flies away from the jam pot while making toast and not everything looked especially desirable. I couldn't bring myself to even eat the fruit thinking there had been flies all over it on the open platter. No where else we stayed had even one fly, we think it had to do with all the cats, and there was the whiff of it in the air. Please think twice before staying here. Probably ok for surfers on a very tight budget but you still might not want to take any chances.

Room Tip: This place really needs serious improvement and the lady running the desk needs a course in customer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in low season and for the price of a hostel-room we got a nice hotel! The breakfast was so good-especially the PANCAKES!the rooms are nice and clean and the hotel is very close to the beach.Michael is very helpful.We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a bit dark in the room as one of the lights was out over the sink area. AC worked fine once I figured out how to work the controls, too many buttons! There was breakfast with the rate which is always nice but again pretty basic, mostly because of low season and low number of guests.
But for 40$ what can ya say, not too bad and with the low number of guests it was quiet.
We are returning guests so I guess that says something, and I do remember the walls being really thin.
Beach location is right across the road, the road really needs work though, I thought I was going to lose my car in one of the sink holes in the road on the way to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We chose Hotel Domilocos because the signs in town offered incredibly inexpensive rooms. They were somewhat higher when we negotiated at the desk, but by skipping the a/c (not necessary in October) we kept the price to a minimum. The hot tub wasn't operational in the off season, but the hotel grounds are well kept and rooms are clean. The owner is Dutch, and the rooms have a European feel that is different in CR. The beds have beautiful black bamboo frames, are very firm, but creak when you turn over. That's my only negative. Location a few steps from the ocean, fantastic buffet in the morning in a beautiful room, good showers and maybe in season, a working hot tub.

Room Tip: A/c is optional. By skipping the a/c, you can pay for the great breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at this fine hotel. Room was clean, had cold AC, and plenty of hot water. We needed reliable wifi for some online school that needed to be completed during our stay. We were pleased to find high speed wifi access in the room. Many hotels claim to have wifi, but often the service is intermittent or only works in the lobby. This was not the case here.

Breakfast was very good. Gallo pinto, eggs, fresh fruit, and pancakes available buffet style.

Only complaint, which is fairly significant. The beds were not comfortable and they squeaked and creaked very loudly with only the slightest movement. Merely rolling over was enough to wake you up, and any further movement was enough to wake your neighbor.

Restaurant was not open for dinner during our visit.

Overall: Great value, but beds need work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.1 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 12 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 12 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
6.2 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
22.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Domilocos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.