We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cuna del Angel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cuna del Angel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   9 km south of Dominical Beach | entrance to Puertocito, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Dominical
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a large and comfortable room at this hotel The room was clean and had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool The restaurant food and service was excellent. The waiters also seemed to run the place because the front desk reception was often not staffed and when it was some of the staff seemed totally disinterested. The view from the restaurant was very good and we did see toucans from there whilst eating breakfast. We would point out that if you stay here you will need a car as transportation to Uvita and to do tours is expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, we are glad that you liked and enjoyed our rooms and restaurant and that you had a pleasant stay. Yes, it is a good recommendation to have a car, that way you can visit all the beautiful beaches that are close by,as well as other beautiful attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    59
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
118
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel sits on a mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean although there is no access route to the beach from there. There are two distinct areas at this hotel. The more pricier location is the main hotel where the restaurant and lobby is located. Lower on the mountain is the area called the "jungle rooms". They cost less and are definitely more in the jungle, which I liked, however there seemed to be no insulation between rooms so noise carries. I heard every voice, every door shut and all activities in adjoining rooms to mine. Not so pleasant. Also, although a double bed was requested and reserved, the room had two single beds. Breakfast is included in cost of room. Some staff seemed helpful and accommodating but others were kind of snotty. I also found desk staff to be difficult to locate, at times, and the information they provided was not always accurate.

Room Tip: Jungle rooms are less expensive than main hotel although you may need to wear headphones or ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed our jungle rooms, sorry for the noises. As you say, the hotel is on a mountain overlooking the ocean and the jungle, it has a great view, this means is not a beach front hotel, but there are like 15 beaches to choose from, located within a range of 5 to 15 minutes of a car drive. All very nice beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a wonderful stay! My husband and I stayed at Cuna the last few days of our Honeymoon in early January and it was the perfect end to a perfect honeymoon! The staff are amazing, kind friendly and ready to help at a moments notice. The best and most wonderful part of our stay was the restaurant! Both of us are foodies and we were overwhelmed by the amazing dinners prepared every night at Cuna. We felt that this small and intimate restaurant rivaled any five star in NY or LA. Fresh delicious fish, beautifully cooked steaks and to-die-for crepe Suzette, prepared by the incomparable Bernardo, the head waiter! The passion fruit mojito is a must-have. The main rooms are beautiful and overlooking the infinity edge pool. We looked at the jungle rooms and would probably not recommend those. The staff suggested terrific activities during our stay. Strongly recommend the massage at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hiii, thank you very much for writing this nice review, we feel very happy that you had such a good time, in fact Hotel Cuna del Angel is a very romantic hotel, and offers very good food, probably the best on the area. We are glad that the staff satisfied all your needs and more.Thanks for all the recommendations you make, they will help a lot of people that would like to experience the beauty and great service of this hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is not worth it. The room was hot, small and tacky. Our a/c did not work and it was a 1000 degrees even with the fan. No one was at the desk to ask to be switched. The staff is helpful when they are around but the hotel itself is way over-rated. There are much better places to stay in Dominical.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your review, this kind of reviews help us to improve and get better every day, I am sorry that your A/C did not work during your stay, it is not usual that this happens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very clean in a great setting. The photos speak for themselves.

The staff is nice, not as helpful as in other hotels we have stayed at, but overall good.

You should have a meal at their restaurant, I will easily say my husband and I had one of our best meals EVER there. However, when the waiter kindly offers you a cocktail, go ahead and ask how much it is. Mine was 20 bucks, just saying!

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the time in writing your comments, we feel happy that you had a good time with us, yes, as you say the food is very good, probably one of the best restaurants on the area. We hope you can come and visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel had a pleasant appearance at first impression but the room we had was well worn down and disappointing. The AC was so loud it kept us awake. The ceiling fan above the bed had settings for 3 speeds but only the high speed worked. The shower spray was substandard. It consisted of a heavy dribble. The floor drain in the bathroom released a constant odor of sewer gas. The tub tile was well worn and gross. At least the towels were thick and in good shape. The mattress was pretty worn and should be replaced. But the room was clean and a good size over looking the pool. The hotel staff were very accommodating once we checked in. It was strange that the staff saw us pull in the parking lot but no one came down the stairs to help us bring our bags up the 30 or so steps to the reception. The only way in the hotel are by the stairs. The hotel staff were very professional, friendly and helpful with questions. the restaurant food was excellent along with the service. the pool was very nice. Seems as though this hotel is overdue for some much needed maintenance. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the time spent in writing your comments, we will defenetly put attention to every aspect that you pointed out, we feel very happy that you enjoyed the service, the food and the areas surrounding, but we are concerned about the feeling of lack of maintenance, I promise we will do an effort on the aspect and check every point you mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was fine and comfortable, and the restaurant was truly exceptional. The menu was not full of exotic dishes; rather, every dish we tried was exceptionally well prepared and beautifully presented. We liked the food so much that we asked to talk to the chef to compliment him personally. The pool was lovely, the setting was very nice. The ground floor room opened up to the garden, which was nice, although the room was quite small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
The food for our guests in the restaurant has been always one of our priorities, we feel very happy that you liked and enjoyed it. Thank you for the time to write your review, please come visit us again, we will be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: 9 km south of Dominical Beach | entrance to Puertocito, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unique architecture, Cuna del Angel (Cradle of Angel) is the result of careful planning to create an exclusive and cozy Boutique Hotel in midst of exuberant and lush tropical forest with boosting wildlife right in front of your room. Our Gourmet Restaurant „La Palapa“, the finest in the area,100% gluten free, and our luxury SPA, together with Cuna’s Salon, are specialized in a very personalized service to make your stay a unique feeling home experience.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cuna del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.