We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovin the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Necochea Inn

The Necochea Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Necochea Inn
Save
You added The Necochea Inn to your Saves list
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Dominical B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovin the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This place is so amazing. Perfect spot to go on holiday after few long stressful months with too much work and lack of sleep. The energy and sounds of the surrounding jungle and nature bring you happiness and joy. This place is the reason my wife and I will be back to costa rica every year. (hopefully more). I think my favorite breakfast is now huevos ranchos! With some nice costarican coffee. And yes we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddybobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

This place is just gorgeous, so beautifully done. All the rooms and the whole house is just a site to behold. Set in the rainforest with a beautiful view. Yvonne is a wonderful host, incredibly helpful. Besides yummy breakfasts, we loved the option of having dinner at Necochea and she and Carlos are great cooks. We were with our 8 year old who just loved being around Yvonne, helping her cook, playing and just generally being in her company. She is just a generous and spirited woman, an artist and fun to be around. Thanks Yvonne!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnportlandoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toluca lake
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This place is so unique, beautiful, restful. Perfectly nestled in the Rain Forest. At night you can hear the cicada. it peacefully sits among all of the Rain forest creatures and allows you to stay in comfortable and wonderful accommodations while enjoying all of the beauty of the surrounding Rain Forest. The hosts Ivonne and Carlos are bar-none. I recommend this to anyone who is traveling to Dominical.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loverivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

I stayed at Necochea Inn with a friend this past January and loved it!!

It is a beautiful home owned by a charming woman who is very attentive to her guests. We were the only ones staying with her and she cooked for us, and asked what kinds of drinks (juices, alcohol, anything else) we would like to have around, and then promptly went and picked it up.. her cooking was lovely and it really felt like home.

The house itself is GORGEOUS. We stayed in the Rainforest Suite which has a huge balcony and is elegantly decorated inside with a large bathroom. Well kept, extremely clean, and the sense of style is impeccable.

There are three large dogs that guard the house and although they seem fierce, it is easy to win them over!

The only two negative comments I have are regarding the privacy of the place, and a large hill that you must walk/drive up to reach Necochea..

In terms of privacy, though the owner and her friends are not nosy at all and are more than willing to give you as much privacy as you need, the fact remains that because you are staying in someone's home, there isn't much privacy.. at all. The rooms don't have keys and you must walk right through the center of the house to get to your room.

The bathroom in our suite was open as well, so because I was traveling with a male friend, we had to be very careful when showering and using the toilet, so that we didn't end up in an awkward situation.

The hill is HUGE to get to Necochea and we only ventured up to the top of it walking once. We had no means of transportation and had to take taxis every time we were trying to get back to the hotel. It was costly and a huge pain because we often couldn't get a taxi for quite awhile as we needed a 4 wheel drive to get to the top of the hill.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacanadiensita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester hills, mi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Where can I start? The Necochea Inn was more than I imagined. The house is simply stunning! It is immaculate and over accommodating. More than the beautiful house is the wonderful staff. Our trip would not have been the amazing time that it was without Yvonne and Willy. We always felt welcome and well taken care of. Yvonne is more than a wonderful cook and hostess, she was friendly, fun, and mindful of all of our needs. We were sincerely sad to leave, not just because the trip was amazing but because we would be leaving behind some fantastic people; the best! Stay at the Necochea Inn and your trip is sure to be a most pleasant and memorable experience! Pure Vida!

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — the shared bathroom between 2 guest rooms, luckily we were able to share with friends! Would have been awkward otherwise. There are only 2 rooms that share a bathroom, though!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank angieb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

I recently spent 3 nights with Yvonne at the Necochea Inn, and would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for lodging in the Dominical area.

The rooms are actually more beautiful than pictured on the hotel website! Although we originally reserved the Ylang Ylang room, we were upgraded upon arrival to the Honeymoon Suite (the Ylang Ylang was undergoing construction), which is gigantic, comfortable, and beautifully furnished. I was also able to take a peak at the Ylang Ylang room when we left, and it was just as beautiful as the Honeymoon Suite, though not as large.

I cannot say enough about Yvonne. She is a great cook and an amazing hostess. We had a wonderful time here and were extremely disappointed when we had to leave!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnhsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

My family and I stayed at this B & B in June. We were pleasantly surprised. For the cost, it is far better than trying to survive the noise and dust in Dominical. It is in the hills just south of Dominical, with private balconies, a beautiful stone patio to watch the sunset from, and hearty breakfasts. The Inn itself is a gorgeous west coast style building with a small pool, and the staff is very friendly and made us feel at home. I would stay there again on another trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Escaleras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
#1 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Necochea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Necochea Inn

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Necochea Inn Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing