We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovin the jungle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Necochea Inn

The Necochea Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Necochea Inn
Save Saved
You added The Necochea Inn to your Saves list
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Dominical B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovin the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This place is so amazing. Perfect spot to go on holiday after few long stressful months with too much work and lack of sleep. The energy and sounds of the surrounding jungle and nature bring you happiness and joy. This place is the reason my wife and I will be back to costa rica every year. (hopefully more). I think my favorite breakfast is now huevos ranchos! With some nice costarican coffee. And yes we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

This place is just gorgeous, so beautifully done. All the rooms and the whole house is just a site to behold. Set in the rainforest with a beautiful view. Yvonne is a wonderful host, incredibly helpful. Besides yummy breakfasts, we loved the option of having dinner at Necochea and she and Carlos are great cooks. We were with our 8 year old who just loved being around Yvonne, helping her cook, playing and just generally being in her company. She is just a generous and spirited woman, an artist and fun to be around. Thanks Yvonne!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toluca lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This place is so unique, beautiful, restful. Perfectly nestled in the Rain Forest. At night you can hear the cicada. it peacefully sits among all of the Rain forest creatures and allows you to stay in comfortable and wonderful accommodations while enjoying all of the beauty of the surrounding Rain Forest. The hosts Ivonne and Carlos are bar-none. I recommend this to anyone who is traveling to Dominical.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

I stayed at Necochea Inn with a friend this past January and loved it!!

It is a beautiful home owned by a charming woman who is very attentive to her guests. We were the only ones staying with her and she cooked for us, and asked what kinds of drinks (juices, alcohol, anything else) we would like to have around, and then promptly went and picked it up.. her cooking was lovely and it really felt like home.

The house itself is GORGEOUS. We stayed in the Rainforest Suite which has a huge balcony and is elegantly decorated inside with a large bathroom. Well kept, extremely clean, and the sense of style is impeccable.

There are three large dogs that guard the house and although they seem fierce, it is easy to win them over!

The only two negative comments I have are regarding the privacy of the place, and a large hill that you must walk/drive up to reach Necochea..

In terms of privacy, though the owner and her friends are not nosy at all and are more than willing to give you as much privacy as you need, the fact remains that because you are staying in someone's home, there isn't much privacy.. at all. The rooms don't have keys and you must walk right through the center of the house to get to your room.

The bathroom in our suite was open as well, so because I was traveling with a male friend, we had to be very careful when showering and using the toilet, so that we didn't end up in an awkward situation.

The hill is HUGE to get to Necochea and we only ventured up to the top of it walking once. We had no means of transportation and had to take taxis every time we were trying to get back to the hotel. It was costly and a huge pain because we often couldn't get a taxi for quite awhile as we needed a 4 wheel drive to get to the top of the hill.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester hills, mi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Where can I start? The Necochea Inn was more than I imagined. The house is simply stunning! It is immaculate and over accommodating. More than the beautiful house is the wonderful staff. Our trip would not have been the amazing time that it was without Yvonne and Willy. We always felt welcome and well taken care of. Yvonne is more than a wonderful cook and hostess, she was friendly, fun, and mindful of all of our needs. We were sincerely sad to leave, not just because the trip was amazing but because we would be leaving behind some fantastic people; the best! Stay at the Necochea Inn and your trip is sure to be a most pleasant and memorable experience! Pure Vida!

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — the shared bathroom between 2 guest rooms, luckily we were able to share with friends! Would have been awkward otherwise. There are only 2 rooms that share a bathroom, though!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

I recently spent 3 nights with Yvonne at the Necochea Inn, and would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for lodging in the Dominical area.

The rooms are actually more beautiful than pictured on the hotel website! Although we originally reserved the Ylang Ylang room, we were upgraded upon arrival to the Honeymoon Suite (the Ylang Ylang was undergoing construction), which is gigantic, comfortable, and beautifully furnished. I was also able to take a peak at the Ylang Ylang room when we left, and it was just as beautiful as the Honeymoon Suite, though not as large.

I cannot say enough about Yvonne. She is a great cook and an amazing hostess. We had a wonderful time here and were extremely disappointed when we had to leave!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

My family and I stayed at this B & B in June. We were pleasantly surprised. For the cost, it is far better than trying to survive the noise and dust in Dominical. It is in the hills just south of Dominical, with private balconies, a beautiful stone patio to watch the sunset from, and hearty breakfasts. The Inn itself is a gorgeous west coast style building with a small pool, and the staff is very friendly and made us feel at home. I would stay there again on another trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Necochea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Necochea Inn

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Also Known As:
The Necochea Inn Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Necochea Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.