We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Exotica - Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Breezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Breezes
Save
You added Paradise Breezes to your Saves list
| Dominical 5km noth Police check point, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Villa Exotica - Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our group of 6 spent a week at Paradise Breezes in the Villa Exotica and had a wonderful time. The house and property are safe and perfectly positioned - only a 5 minute drive to the fun surf-town of Dominical and less than a 5 minute drive to the beach. It is also a very easy drive to Manuel Antonio, Uvita, and other nearby attractions. The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained, and the staff was extremely attentive. Emanuel was able to take care of everything we needed, from planning excursions (without a middleman up-charge) to house repairs and personal issues (for example, one of our group members left his medication on the plane, and Emanuel had a doctor at the house less than 2 hours after our arrival to replace everything he needed). While we didn't see any monkeys on the property like several other places nearby, we did have some beautiful toucans perch outside our balcony a couple mornings.

Couple tips: make sure you get an SUV with 4 wheel drive. While the roads have been greatly improved, a lot of the attractions (as well as the driveway to Villa Exotica) are very steep and not paved. Also, if you are staying at Villa Exotica, be aware that the entrance to one of the downstairs bedrooms is not in the villa - you have to walk across one of the balconies to get to it (though still attached to the main house).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just spent an amazing week at Villa Pacifica! The Villa is beautiful and has everything you could possibly need! The pool is fantastic with an amazing ocean view and a jacuzzi!! Monkeys and toucans! Esteban and Emanuel are great and are there to help with everything you could need- car rental, transportation to and from airport, places to eat, beaches to explore, things to do, ATM rides, zip lining etc... There is so much to do! A chef is available to cook for you, massages are also available. The owners also gave us some great information on where to eat in the area. So many great restaurants with the best tasting fresh food! The beaches are so beautiful and you can be the only one on the beach for miles! This is our second time staying in Paradise Breezes and will not be our last!! Cant wait to come back!!

Kim and John

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My group of 10 stayed at the Paradise Breezes Buena Vista. The outside of the property was well maintained and the altitude gives a great view of the ocean. The pool is easily visible from the kitchen area. We saw toucans and lizards at the house, but no monkeys or sloths like some other properties. Dominical is about 30-40 minutes drive from any of the major activities so a car is a must. I had heard a lot of concerns about car rental but through the concierge Emanuel, our service from Toyota Rent a Car was quite professional and the cars were in excellent condition. The zip line tour from Mid-World was amazing and quite safe even for our 4 year old. The zip line tour guides at Mid-World were top notch. The downhill horseback riding at Baru Waterfalls was a little rough on our littlest but the gorgeous waterfall made it all worthwhile, the guides were very nice and one of the wives made us several amazing meals. Our inland fishing trip with Big Eye Charters was so-so, the fisherman was friendly enough but we did not catch more than one fish and the first mate did a hack job on the fillets. Christian Jiminez and his assistant were fantastic in house chef(s) and well worth the price. We spent $250 for a 1 mile long wildlife tour for our group at Manuel Antonio. The guide was very skilled and we saw animals we would have certainly missed the rest of our trip.
There are a few drawbacks to this rental. The kitchen was not at all stocked for our group: one wine glass, just a few cups, 8 plates, and cheap dollar store kitchen utensils. I felt bad watching our professional chef use garbage tools to prepare our food. We routinely ended up washing dishes so that we had dishes to finish our meals. Also, I will admit we knew there were some hazards for small children in advance but knew we would have good supervision of the kids. The stairs have large gaps where children can absolutely fall through and one of our adults actually did have an accident from this exact issue. The railings inside and on balconies are a deathtrap waiting to happen, we had to watch our children like hawks and left the balcony doors locked the entire visit. Bottom line, this is probably not a great place for children under age 6 unless they have constant supervision. We had several water and electric outages which was frustrating to say the least for a party our size. They were mostly resolved in a few hours. The alarm system is functional but there is no way to turn off the living room alarm even in the “stay” function, so you have to be standing of the stairs to activate. The beep to let you know it is on will wake up the whole house and perhaps some neighbors too.
Emanuel was helpful but I would insist to have maps provided for activities. There are not street names in Costa Rica and subtle but important dirt roads to beaches and activities can be missed easily. Without a map with reference points, you can and will get lost. In summary the people of costa rica are very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay, with some great sites and fantastic cuisine. I am sure we will be back some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We took our family of 5 (three children, ages 10, 11 and 17) to Paradise Breezes for spring break. Our trip was wonderful, and our experience with this property and the staff was fantastic! The property is safe, secure, private and clean. Frankly, the pictures don't do it justice. The house is great and very comfortable; it's was more than large enough for the five of us. The kitchen had everything we needed, the bathrooms were large, and the outdoor space was great. We spent most afternoons and evenings playing games or reading on the large back patio, taking breaks to swim in the pool (which the staff cleaned daily). The views of the ocean were excellent, and we were able to see plenty of wildlife (birds including toucans in the afternoon, lizards a plenty, etc.) from the patio.

Emanuel was a great help to us. He scheduled all of our excursions (rafting, horseback riding, zip lining, National Park tour) and was always available for questions by phone (always answered immediately). He provided good advice with respect to restaurants, beaches and just general information. He was always there when we needed him, yet not intrusive at all. Perfect.

I highly recommend this property. You definitely need a car, and it is a drive from San Jose (3+ hours), but once you get there it's worth every minute. It's a very short drive to Dominical and Playa Dominicalito, and only about 20 minutes or so south of Quepos. We had no problem getting around, and it was nice to feel like we were alone in the middle of the jungle when we returned to the house. I'd say this is great for adults or families with kids. Plenty to do nearby, and you won't find a better host than Emanuel.

Thanks again, Emanuel! Signed, Family that Escaped a Cold Chicago Winter!

Room Tip: Villa Cristal is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was a family vacation and we had an excellent time. In 2012 my wife and I went and we raved about what a good time we had. In 2013 my family wanted to go and they too were not disappointed. The property is immaculately maintained and the staff is wonderful. Emanuel- the concierge made sure all of our needs were met and more. We had Chef Wilberth cook for us everyday and I highly recommend at least having him make at least one meal. We mostly relaxed, but we did take a tour to Manuel Antonio National Park. I do not remember our guide's name but he was amazing! He was able to spot insects and animals in seemingly nondescript lush vegetation. Lastly, we had massages from and they were so relaxing.

Paradise Breezes is a great property. I have stayed two of the Villas (Cristal & Buena Vista) and both were fantastic. My only complaint is the internet speed is very slow, which is not a huge deal because we came to relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We loved Buena Vista at Paradise Breezes near Dominical, Costa Rica. Being pampered and taken care of was just what we wanted for our exciting vacation! The view was incredible and we felt so comfortable. We rented a car to arrive at the house by sunset from San Jose. It was a nice drive and the gorgeous pool awaited our arrival. We cannot wait to go back again!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the house are very nice and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just got back from our stay and can't wait to go back! The sunsets by the pool are amazing and never the same. In the pool was where we stayed most of the day. This was truly Paradise to us. Love, love, love it here!!!!

Room Tip: Villa Cristal has 3 bedrooms with amazing views from each, although we only slept in one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
6.7 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
9.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
2.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 12 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
20.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
12.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Breezes

Address: | Dominical 5km noth Police check point, Dominical, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Rican Luxury - If your vacation dreams have ever included a villa in the Costa Rican jungle - you'll relish the new Paradise! Paradise Breezes is a 10 acre luxury vacation villa destination on Costa Rica's central pacific coast. The 3 - 4 bedroom villas and single Studio are set overlooking the pacific coast surrounded by lush tropical jungle just 1 km (as the Toucan flies) from the beach at Dominical, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Breezes Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Breezes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.