We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another day in Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelter from the Storm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelter from the Storm
Save
You added Shelter from the Storm to your Saves list
San Martin Sur, Dominical 80000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langhorne, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just another day in Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

Our stay in Arriba Las Rocas was so so much more than we anticipated. The accommodations are top notch and the views from the property are just breathtaking. To wake up every morning to the sound of the surf, the birds and the monkeys was just a wonderful experience. Donna and Daryl extended themselves in every way to make sure that our visit was just great. Their suggestions on activities, restaurants and even a trip to the beach to pick up rocks were excellent! Don't miss the waterfalls or the Italian restaurant in Dominical.

We will return to Shelter From the Storm and tell everyone we know of this hidden bit of paradise! It's definitely a "Don't Miss".

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills. CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Eleven Days was not even a long enough stay in this beautiful Rain Forest location! The accommodations were 5 star! Daryl and Donna are the best hosts you could ever have. On top of everything, they were always around if needed but never in the way. They would always have an idea for a new destination or place to eat. Do not miss Exotica! This is gourmet eating in the jungle! It was our favorite restaurant. We long to return to paradise, we miss the Monkeys, Toucans, the breath taking Ocean view and the sounds of the rain forest. We will go back many more times

  • Liked — Veryclean and very well kept
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Shelter From The Storm is nothing short of spectacular. My wife and I spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica, 6 of which were spent at Shelter From The Storm in Domincal.

First, a little about the property. SFTS is perched high above the Pacific ocean on a hill about 2 kilometers from the nearest beach. As a result, you get unbelievable panaramic ocean/jungle views and a nice comfortable breeze as you sit on your terrace and relax. The apartments are very clean and top notch. You will marvel at the fresh flowers, the paintings and the furniture/decor. It really is all top notch and carefully put together. Donna and Darryl put a lot of thought and elbow grease into making these apartments your home away from home.

The rooms alone would make anyone's vacation special but what makes SFTS stand out is Donna and Darryl. We were welcomed with a fresh pineapple, a bag of Costa Riccan coffee and a few other welcome gifts including a thoughtful card...just their way of saying welcome. On our first night we rented a car and Darryl canceled dinner plans in order to help us with the rental (we needed him to speak to the rental company rep when the car was delivered since we didn't speak spanish) These people put their guests first and themselves second. Donna and Darryl helped us with dinner reservations, excursions, directions, etc. We had a wonderful and private time but D&D were there at any time when we needed help. Furthermore, Donna has put together a binder with reviews of all the local beaches, hot spots, excursions and restuarants complete with directions.

You can't go wrong staying at Shelter From The Storm. If you want to have a private apartment with a beautiful view that is second to none all while being minutes from the beach, restuarants and supermarkets then Shelter From The Storm is for you. We truly felt like we were king of the world, so much so that we spent more time on our terrace, relaxind and reading than we did on the beaches or anywhere else. It is THAT nice!

Enjoy

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

Our family of five (three teenagers 19,17,& 14, my wife and I) stayed for a week in mid-December 2,006, We rented a vehicle and drove the mountain road from San Jose. It was a magical experience, made even more special by Donna and Darryl, the owners of Shelter from the Storm.

We stayed in Las Rocas (both upper and lower levels) and the view was spectacular! Monkeys came to visit every day. The sound of the surf on the rocks below was like a continual symphony of nature.

The facility and amenities are top notch. The pool and common area is a great place to hang out, and the kids loved it.

Donna and Darryl have vast knowledge of the surrounding area, and are extremely helpful in making your stay memorable. They're happy to make arrangements and reservations for tours, and offer their perspective on life in Costa Rica.

If you stay you should really rent a vehicle, and it should be four wheel drive. The road to SFTS is steep, but that's one of the reasons the view is so impressive!

We loved exploring the area, and especially the food. Small family operated roadside restaurants (called "Sodas") are plentiful. They serve scrumptious fare, very reasonably priced, and should be part of the "adventure".

We recommend you visit Don Lulu's Nayauca Falls by horseback. This family run trip takes most of the day, but was a fabulous time. We also very much enjoyed Hacienda Baru's Jungle and zipline tour. They are helping reforest this part of the jungle, and the guides are very knowledgeable. The ziplines were fantastic! We were a little apprehensive prior to our visit, but after seeing the safety precautions and good equipment used, we felt very safe.

The beaches were, for the most part, uncrowded and pretty.

One word of advice, if you do drive in from San Jose plan on the trip taking at least four hours. Depending upon your flight times, you may want to stay in San Jose on your travel days. (It's best not to drive the mountain road at night).

Donna was able to make reservations for us to stay at the Hotel Mango. It is very close to the airport, and provides free transportation to the terminal. It also was a lovely place, with very accommodating staff.

We rented our vehicle from Costa Rica Rent-a Car, also upon Darryl's recommendation. Their vehicles are a little older, but very well maintained, and much cheaper than most other rental agencies. They were also very good to work with.

All in all, our trip was a wonderful time, and one we strongly recommend you consider!

  • Liked — Location, Attitude of owners who live on site, beuaty of environment, freindly people
  • Disliked — Actually, everything exceeded our expectations.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

The three homes for rent at Shelter from the Storm are beautiful, perfectly appointed, immaculate and situated for privacy. The hosts, Donna and Daryl are a delight... Engaging and informative... Available but not intrusive. Interesting people who have made this complex their life and work. We stayed at La Cuestas... ate in every night by grilling in the shared facility after a day of touring or hanging out by the shared pool or on our beautiful deck. Comfortable beds. Air conditioning if you need it. There was nothing more we could have asked for in terms of amenities, furnishings, equipment, cleanliness or hospitality. We recommend staying here without reservation! You'll love every minute (unless you want a hectic, nightclub-filled and "hot" location). Search elsewhere for that... come here for peace and relaxation and beauty.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Myself and nine friends just returned from an unforgettable stay at Shelter from the Storm. We rented all three houses (which gave us exclusive access to the pool house) for a week and all agreed it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. Every room is beautiful and unique, and there are plenty of porches for lounging and hanging out. There are kitchens in each house and we had a lot of fun shopping for food and cooking big meals together (there's also a gas grill up at the pool house which we made use of).

Darryl and Donna were great hosts–we felt at home immediately. They are extremely helpful as far as recommendations and helping to organize tours. They booked a fantastic horseback riding trip for us (Don Lulo's Nauyaca Waterfall trip) and it was one of the highlights of our stay. We also took a beautiful and relaxing kayaking trip through the Mangroves with Pineapple Tours, which I definitely recommend.

If you have a large group and want to reserve the whole place (which I think can sleep up to 12) book well in advance. We booked about nine months in advance. Cars with 4WD are definitely needed, since the short drive up the hill is very steep–but you're rewarded with great views once there!

  • Liked — Felt like home, but with better views and a pool!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Wonderful hideaway in the Dominical region of Costa Rica. Not visible from the road, but when you get your directions from Daryl and Donna - you'll find it very easily.

We were more than pleased with the beautiful compound that these two have built for themselves and to share with others. Casual elegance with a view of the Pacific that you will never forget. This beautiful
compound of Villas offers all the drama of this jungle region.

An abundance of natural wildlife, friendly pets, and hospitality that
is unrivaled. You will simply love the host and hostess!

Both Daryl and Donna have a vast knowledge of the area and of Costa Rica - a true wealth of information and can book guided trips for you
right from their villa.

We stayed in the Monkey House which was just beautiful and had every amenity that we could ever want. The views, the tranquility, and of course, the visits by Ocho the gray tabby made this a very memorable stay.

Book a trip to Don Lulo's for a horseback ride to the waterfalls - you will NOT be disappointed and you will defintely be AMAZED!

Highly recommended - seeing is believing!

  • Liked — The beautifu location and convenience to the small villages of the region
  • Disliked — The driveway is steep and a little intimidating - but once there you forget about it!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelter from the Storm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter from the Storm

Address: San Martin Sur, Dominical 80000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelter from the Storm is a group of 2 villas perched on a 5 acre mountainside point, 60 meters above the Pacific, high enough to give dramatic views of the coast to the Osa Pennisula, but low enough to hear the waves breaking on the rocks below. Hotel rates for your own private place! Ammenities: Shared pool adjacent Entertainment Rancho with honor bar, BBQ,satelite stereo tv & dvd, washer/dryer, & much more.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shelter From The Storm Hotel Dominical
Shelter From The Storm Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelter from the Storm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.