We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An EXCELLENT choice in Dominical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Glendale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An EXCELLENT choice in Dominical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I ended our 2 week honeymoon at the Bella Vista Lodge. We spent 3 nights here and it was a great way to end our trip in Costa Rica. Bert is a wonderful host and will take care of you real nice. He can set up a horseback riding trip to a beautiful and refreshing waterfall nearby (Nauyaca Falls). The lodge is high up on a mountain (4WD required to get up there) and you have beautiful view (Bella Vista) of the ocean. The sunsets here are MAGNIFICENT. Bert, Joao, and Max prepared us a fantastic dinner and dessert every night (strawberry and mandarina lime pie was DELISH!). It was great spending time with them and other travelers staying at the lodge. If you like a chill, laid back, and rustic environment, this place is for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Darnestown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although not advertized as such, Bella Vista is an amazing place to stay to watch nature. Without leaving the porch, we were able to identify 44 species of birds in 4 days. Fiery-billed Aracaris, Chestnut-billed Toucans, Yellow-throated Euphonia, Baltimore Orioles, Red-legged Honeycreepers, Blue Dacnis, Golden-hooded Tanagers, and King Vulture are examples of some of the beautiful birds we saw. Bert is an AMAZING host, compassionate and thoughtful, and goes the extra mile to be sure you enjoy your visit. As mentioned by others, he is also a gourmet chef, and the meals we had there were fantastic! When not watching birds, the views of the Pacific Ocean, particularly at sunset, are not to be missed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spectacular sunset’s, great food and hospitality. Your host Bert can arrange horseback tours to the waterfalls, hikes, and anything else you need in the area.

The lodge has amazing fresh local food prepared by young chefs who area masters already. Meals are served up on the porch overlooking the Pacific @ about 1100’ elevation.

Room Tip: Be sure to rent a four wheel drive car for getting to the lodge and for your local adventures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way to another destination having met the owner previously who handled the horseback rides to Nuyuaca Falls. We arrived around 4pm in time for a killer sunset and the sound of howler monkeys. The property is on the side of a mountain with incredible views of the ocean. There are tons of toucans, parrots and other birds. The dinner and homemade banana cream pie was excellent and coffee was ready when we got up in the morning. The property has some friendly cats and dogs. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first time travelling to Costa Rica and what a pleasure it was to stay at Bella Vista with Bert and crew. We were in the main house with a view of the Pacific from our room. Had the unbelievable pleasure of riding horses with Bert, Brad from San Francisco, and our guide, Carlos, down the mountain to the beach, picked up a just caught red snapper, which was dinner. Bert is host, chef as well as concierge here and he does it right!! This place is a do not miss for travelers while in Dominical.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Half-way up a mountainside, the view of the Pacific is awesome. The nature is also great, we saw over 40 different species of birds from the wrap-around porch on the beautiful, rustic ranch house. The food is wonderful, Bert and his helpers are gourmet chefs and the meals they prepare are amazing. (not a good place to loose weight :o) Beaches, horse trips and nearby waterfalls are wonderful day trips. This was closest to a "magical" experience that I have had traveling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pura Vida and Bert are synonymous. No where have I experienced such hospitality, consideration, comfort, acceptance, gourmet meals, fun, casual atmosphere or kindness towards animals (especially human animals!) The birdwatching was phenomenal and I added 30 new birds to my life list! When (not if) I return to Costa Rica, this will be on my list of places to return to. Thank you, Bert! You did a tremendous job helping to make our stay there memorable.

PS - I cannot suggest Bella Vista for those who require high maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bella Vista Lodge to your Saves list