We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mahogany Lodge above Dominical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chatham, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mahogany Lodge above Dominical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spectacular sunset’s, great food and hospitality. Your host Bert can arrange horseback tours to the waterfalls, hikes, and anything else you need in the area.

The lodge has amazing fresh local food prepared by young chefs who area masters already. Meals are served up on the porch overlooking the Pacific @ about 1100’ elevation.

Room Tip: Be sure to rent a four wheel drive car for getting to the lodge and for your local adventures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
26
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here one night on the way to another destination having met the owner previously who handled the horseback rides to Nuyuaca Falls. We arrived around 4pm in time for a killer sunset and the sound of howler monkeys. The property is on the side of a mountain with incredible views of the ocean. There are tons of toucans, parrots and other birds. The dinner and homemade banana cream pie was excellent and coffee was ready when we got up in the morning. The property has some friendly cats and dogs. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first time travelling to Costa Rica and what a pleasure it was to stay at Bella Vista with Bert and crew. We were in the main house with a view of the Pacific from our room. Had the unbelievable pleasure of riding horses with Bert, Brad from San Francisco, and our guide, Carlos, down the mountain to the beach, picked up a just caught red snapper, which was dinner. Bert is host, chef as well as concierge here and he does it right!! This place is a do not miss for travelers while in Dominical.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darnestown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Half-way up a mountainside, the view of the Pacific is awesome. The nature is also great, we saw over 40 different species of birds from the wrap-around porch on the beautiful, rustic ranch house. The food is wonderful, Bert and his helpers are gourmet chefs and the meals they prepare are amazing. (not a good place to loose weight :o) Beaches, horse trips and nearby waterfalls are wonderful day trips. This was closest to a "magical" experience that I have had traveling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Pura Vida and Bert are synonymous. No where have I experienced such hospitality, consideration, comfort, acceptance, gourmet meals, fun, casual atmosphere or kindness towards animals (especially human animals!) The birdwatching was phenomenal and I added 30 new birds to my life list! When (not if) I return to Costa Rica, this will be on my list of places to return to. Thank you, Bert! You did a tremendous job helping to make our stay there memorable.

PS - I cannot suggest Bella Vista for those who require high maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

These guys have my dream job. They live in a beautiful, breathtaking location and for work they help folks enjoy a city they love. All the while cooking amazing food every night.

The big event in Bert's day, I believe, is the horseback ride down the mountain to grab the fresh fish they are going to cook that night. (and btw, he's been a professional chef for most of his life so the dinners really are great).

Wow, how amazing, right?

Anyway, we arrived in Dominical at night and it was an adventure just to find the place. I highly recommend insuring you've got directions, etc. printed out before you arrive and as mentioned in all the other reviews. 4x4 is not optional. Not just to get up to Bella Vista but in my opinion to be able to truly experience everything Dominical has to offer. Most of our favorite restaurants, beaches, etc. were found after various 4x4 adventures.

I don't want this review to be too long but just to give you an idea of the kind of guy Bert is. We signed up to go on a horseback tour up to Nauyaca falls and I didn't have the long pants they recommended. - Bert was quick to offer up a pair of old, very hip, chili pepper chef's pants in case I wanted them. In the end, I didn't need them but I appreciate stuff like that. These guys will do whatever they can to help you enjoy your trip.

When we arrived, Bert gave us an honest assessment of BV and I think it's true. It's "a step up from camping" and the bottom villa definitely held true to that. It's rustic but as long as you've got a fan going the sleep is pretty great, especially after a day of surfing or horseback riding.

HIGHLIGHTS - advice on surfing (Dylan at Sunset Surf), local swimming holes (Poza Azul), restaurants (La Parcela, PorQueNo, Tortilla Flats), dinners (fresh mackeral, amazing salads by Max, pie w/ shortbread cookie crust).

Bottom line - even if you aren't staying at Bella Vista, it might be worth a call to see if you can join Bert and Max for dinner. Can't wait to get back to Dominical, we loved it.

Room Tip: Up top in the community area, I'd say the Toucan room is your best bet. Down below in the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hospitality, friendly hosts, and fun ambiance. Great location and amazing views! From the moment we arrived everyone was helpful and gracious. The environment is much more personal and friendly than a hotel, but the accommodations are clean and comfortable. You are minutes away from several beaches, the dinners were delicious, and we even had a bonfire outside. Perfect fusion of hotel meets hostel overlooking the ocean and offering amazing sunset views.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical
Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bella Vista Lodge to your Saves list