We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Going Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Save
You added Bella Vista Lodge to your Saves list
Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“I'm Going Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my first trip to Costa Rica and Bella Vista made it an amazing trip! Bert is a truly amazing host and chef. Every meal was delicious and fresh. The rustic feel and the interaction with other guests makes this place special. At the Lodge you get great views, breezes, sunsets, and right down the mountain you can hit the beach and bars. The horseback ride on my last day really rounded out my stay. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great location, excellent owner/host/chef "Bert", had a wonderful experience. Bella Vista offers rustic accommodations with a flare of a real 'home' environment. Friendly guests to laugh, eat and share with freely, dinners each night cooked from scratch by owner Bert himself, and attention and assistance on a personal level for any need. The small lodge and adjacent 2 cabins (for extra privacy if you prefer) are far from city living. If you want to experience Costa Rica the way you should, then here is the spot. Bert helps arrange attractions, meals, and even transportation (he called to have our rental car delivered to the lodge). Breakfast and lunch are cooked and served on request and dinner is prepared in large portions each night, accommodating tastes, preferences, and even allergies of any guest. Within one hour, you will feel at home and be comfortable with the other guests. The scenery from the lodge and cabins is breathtaking. Don't be surprised to find monkeys in nearby trees, toucans passing by, or a neighboring horse stopping by for a snack. A 4x4 vehicle is Absolutely necessary to reach Bella Vista, with a steep dirt and rock road that passes through 3 small streams will provide its own adventure to and from the lodge. If you look for some real adventure and an authentic costa rican experience, here is the place to start with. It is easy to reach the local store, beach and many local parks and attractions from Bella Vista and most arrangements can be made with the generous assistance of Bert. Call or email Bert in advance with any questions or concerns and you will be convinced Bella Vista is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned a two part trip to Costa Rica over New Year, with Bert's Bella Vista lodge being the first stop. We caught the Easy Ride shuttle from San Jose ($50 pp, highly recommended) which dropped us off in Dominical, then grabbed a 4x4 taxi to get up to Bert's. It's about a 15 min trip from Dominical straight up the mountain - an unpaved, wild road with several streams that you cross on the way up! We walked into the lodges communal porch area through the kitchen where all the guests were gathered waiting for food, drinking and talking about their day. Everyone greeted us, introduced themselves and very quickly made us feel at home.

The thing about Bella Vista is this - it's really the perfect, welcoming, relaxing place for the right people. If you're looking to make new friends, go exploring the local area, want local recommendations (Bert knows someone for everything you could possibly think of doing), enjoy beautiful views and peace in a quiet, rustic environment then this is absolutely the place for you. We stayed in the main area of the lodge and woke up each morning to the Howler monkeys, then got up and made coffee, chatted with the other guests and planned our days. We rented a car through Vamos Rent-a-car but ended up car pooling most days with 3 other great guests that were staying in one of the cabins, as well as the students (Vincent and João) who were helping Bert out at the time of our visit. WiFi is provided at the lodge free of charge, which is an excellent bonus.

Bert cooks dinner every night for his guests for a small additional cost - it's better food at a better value than you'll find in Dominical (Trust me. That's true.) Bert makes bread from scratch, salads, varied main courses and catered to both a strict vegetarian diet and a nut allergy in two separate guests that were staying at the same time as us. Meal times are relaxed, so don't expect to run to a strict schedule here.

While we were there, we surfed, went on the horse back ride to the waterfall, swam in the waterfall, played with the dogs, lay in the hammocks that are perfectly placed to watch the sunsets and watched fireworks over the beach on New Year.

It was a perfect start to the vacation and if I'm honest, we missed Bert's when we moved onto the next place up North in Playa Grande.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love this place so much I've been there twice and am planning my third visit! I first came to Bella Vista last April and spent the week exploring the many activities there are to do nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the breeze blowing through the white gauze curtains kept us cool. Bert is kind and efficient and can arrange just about anything you want to do. Hiking, waterfalls, biking, horseback riding, surfing, snorkeling, diving, ziplining, etc... He also cooks fabulous dinners - probably the best food in town - every night. There are enough guests to ensure that you will meet new people, and the place is small enough that you might just make new friends.

I enjoyed Bella Vista so much on my first visit that I came back in January for a few days. I remembered how amazing the view was, but theres nothing like seeing it for yourself. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to friends and family!

A tip - You have to earn that beautiful view with a rather steep climb up a rocky road, so make sure you have 4 wheel drive!

Room Tip: There are several rooms located right in the lodge, and a couple of small cabinas a little further d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Bella Visat was the best part of our trip!
Bert is an amazing person and a great host!!!

The view is absolutely breathtaking! The food was delicious, the people who stayed there were nice and friendly, the beaches are stunning.....in one word - PARADISE!!!


WE WILL BE BACK :))))

Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Best place, best view, best people, best owner!

I travelled with two girlfriends last summer in CR. We went to a lot of places and stopped by Dominical on the 3rd week. We got there and met some people who told us about bella Vista Lodge which did not appear like a good idea to us since we were backpackers and had no car.

But the owner of the place has driven us up to the lodge and down to the beach every days. When we got there, we all felt like at home. The owner is lovely, easy-going and generous. He cooked delicious meals every night. All visitors would eat together, and spend some other times during the day. We met really good people, both the locals and tourists!
The Lodge is super clean, super nice, there's everything to make your stay comfortable.

Most of all, you have never seen something as spectacular as a sunrise from bella vista lodge balcony.

Do yourself a favor and stop by Bella Vista Lodge!

Myriam B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Bert Woodson is the Proprietor of the lodge. His background is in restaurants and boy, does it ever show! Bert is a cooking machine, and the Bella Vista has a marvelous kitchen. The first couple of days of my stay, it was cloudy (it WAS the rainy season, after all) but it really brightened up for the last few days. I stayed in both the lodge itself and also in the cabin down front. The lodge is great if you like having some company and using wi-fi, and the cabin is just the thing if you want some more privacy. The cabin has two levels but no one was using the upper during my stay, so I had the place to myself. The cabins have two beds and a kitchen, which doesn't show well in my photos, and a deck which does. Plus a real monster view!

The lodge is where you go to be social with the other guests, and the bar and common tables make it very easy to be social. You can bring your own beer, if you want, and there's no problem with that. We also made daily pilgrimages down to Tortilla Flats at Dominical Beach, a popular beach club and featured under another review.

Bella Vista Lodge is a very reasonably priced place to stay. The rooms in the Lodge are only $45 a night, and the cabin is $75 per night. There are many places you can visit nearby, and Bert will hook you up with the horseback rides and other attractions. If you are tired of hotels then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the kitchen are a bit quieter during the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.