We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get enough of Bella Vista Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Lodge
Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't get enough of Bella Vista Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love this place so much I've been there twice and am planning my third visit! I first came to Bella Vista last April and spent the week exploring the many activities there are to do nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the breeze blowing through the white gauze curtains kept us cool. Bert is kind and efficient and can arrange just about anything you want to do. Hiking, waterfalls, biking, horseback riding, surfing, snorkeling, diving, ziplining, etc... He also cooks fabulous dinners - probably the best food in town - every night. There are enough guests to ensure that you will meet new people, and the place is small enough that you might just make new friends.

I enjoyed Bella Vista so much on my first visit that I came back in January for a few days. I remembered how amazing the view was, but theres nothing like seeing it for yourself. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to friends and family!

A tip - You have to earn that beautiful view with a rather steep climb up a rocky road, so make sure you have 4 wheel drive!

Room Tip: There are several rooms located right in the lodge, and a couple of small cabinas a little further d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Bella Visat was the best part of our trip!
Bert is an amazing person and a great host!!!

The view is absolutely breathtaking! The food was delicious, the people who stayed there were nice and friendly, the beaches are stunning.....in one word - PARADISE!!!


WE WILL BE BACK :))))

Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Best place, best view, best people, best owner!

I travelled with two girlfriends last summer in CR. We went to a lot of places and stopped by Dominical on the 3rd week. We got there and met some people who told us about bella Vista Lodge which did not appear like a good idea to us since we were backpackers and had no car.

But the owner of the place has driven us up to the lodge and down to the beach every days. When we got there, we all felt like at home. The owner is lovely, easy-going and generous. He cooked delicious meals every night. All visitors would eat together, and spend some other times during the day. We met really good people, both the locals and tourists!
The Lodge is super clean, super nice, there's everything to make your stay comfortable.

Most of all, you have never seen something as spectacular as a sunrise from bella vista lodge balcony.

Do yourself a favor and stop by Bella Vista Lodge!

Myriam B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Bert Woodson is the Proprietor of the lodge. His background is in restaurants and boy, does it ever show! Bert is a cooking machine, and the Bella Vista has a marvelous kitchen. The first couple of days of my stay, it was cloudy (it WAS the rainy season, after all) but it really brightened up for the last few days. I stayed in both the lodge itself and also in the cabin down front. The lodge is great if you like having some company and using wi-fi, and the cabin is just the thing if you want some more privacy. The cabin has two levels but no one was using the upper during my stay, so I had the place to myself. The cabins have two beds and a kitchen, which doesn't show well in my photos, and a deck which does. Plus a real monster view!

The lodge is where you go to be social with the other guests, and the bar and common tables make it very easy to be social. You can bring your own beer, if you want, and there's no problem with that. We also made daily pilgrimages down to Tortilla Flats at Dominical Beach, a popular beach club and featured under another review.

Bella Vista Lodge is a very reasonably priced place to stay. The rooms in the Lodge are only $45 a night, and the cabin is $75 per night. There are many places you can visit nearby, and Bert will hook you up with the horseback rides and other attractions. If you are tired of hotels then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the kitchen are a bit quieter during the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Staying at the Bella Vista Lodge is a unique experience. It's probably a love it or hate it kinda place. We loved it. It's very rustic and very informal. For instance, if you're still hungry after breakfast or dinner and there's food left, Bert, the owner, will tell you to go ahead into the kitchen and help yourself. We spent our mornings and evenings sitting on the porch of the lodge enjoying the company of other guests while waiting for Bert and Max to bring the food out. Don't expect a rigid timetable here. Everything is very mellow. If you're in a hurry, they will gladly speed things up to get you your meal in time, just let Bert know ahead of time. Otherwise, enjoy the incredible view, the breeze, the fireflys and conversation with interesting people from all over the world. We really lucked out. One of the guests played beautiful Spanish guitar that sometimes was the focal point and sometimes background music, but alway a treat.
I recommend having breakfast and dinner at the lodge. You get great food at a great price. Though, to be honest, I'm not sure how much each meal cost. I do know that for four nights stay, plus breakfasts for two each morning and dinner for two each night plus a few beers, the total cost was more than reasonable, a great value.
Just a side note on getting there. Bert's direction take you through a wide stream. I mean through, not over. If you want to avoid that you can go down the main road a bit further, over the bridge and turn left (I'm assuming here that you are driving south) at the little bus stop shelter just before the road with the Pacific Edge sign. It's a hairpin left that will take you down a street with some houses and other buildings. Then you go left over a small bridge and turn right a few meters later. If you look left there, you'll see the spot where you would ford the river. You'll still have two other streams to go through further up the mountain near the lodge. But those are just little things.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and didn't want to leave! The place is a rustic lodge with huge wrap around porches and a million dollar view of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Bert the owner is a wonderful host. He was hospitable, kind and very accommodating. We wanted to swim in a waterfall. He gave us instructions for one nearby his place and it was amazing! You will need 4X4 to get to his lodge and it is a true fun jungle trek! It Just adds fun to the adventure of being in Costa Rica. We can't wait to return Bert!

Room Tip: For more privacy ask Bert about the cabin below the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was lucky to spend two of my best nights in Costa Rica at Bella Vista! The place has a breathtaking view of Dominical, surrounded by beautiful nature, animals, and of course the beach. Very welcoming lodges, cozy, and the owner Bert gives it the perfect final touch! He is very friendly, attencious, and the food he cooks at night is DELICIOUS. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Bert is very helpful and friendly, talk to him and he will take good care of you! all rooms have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Lodge

Address: Escaleras Road | Dominical Escaleras Al Frente de la Plaza de Futbol, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Lodge is perched 1200 feet above Dominical with panoramic Pacific coastal views of Manuel Antonio to the north and the Osa Peninsula to the south. There are 4 guest rooms with private baths in the Lodge as well as the dining deck. Cabins are also available equipped with small kitchens as well as private decks. A truly authentic Costa Rica experience! Horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, white-water rafting, surfing, sport fishing, hiking, zip lining, birdwatching, whale watching, scuba and snorkeling--all within minutes away. Restaurant by reservation only. Fresh ingredients are gathered at the local markets -- fresh, fresh, fresh. Groups welcome! Family reunions, weddings, photo, music, cooking, and art seminars, yoga/spa/massage, and birdwatchers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Dominical
Bella Vista Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bella Vista Lodge to your Saves list