We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roca Verde” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roca Verde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roca Verde
Save
You added Roca Verde to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roca Verde”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The rooms are okay, but the manager is rude and the rest of the staff are weird. We cannot recommend it.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
24
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Our third time here, and my husband finally agreed with me that it is the best hotel and location for the things that matter most traveling--especially with teens. Once we got used to no frills, no swans made of towels, no TV or room safe, no real ocean view, and a little flaking paint, we began to appreciate its plusses -- like strong hot showers, good ventelation, strong air conditioning (we don't normally like it, but this time it was a necessity), reliable coffee maker, wifi at the bar only--which was fine with us--and their 12 stroke length nearly private pool which was sparkling clean, eventhough it could use some more blue paint. Juan, their night watchman stood guard at the entrance to all rooms and was so polite and made us feel very secure. The best kept secret is their "Cheers" atmosphere bar/restaurant, where everyone mingles and feels like a "regular" -- guests, area expats, locals, and Ticos. Brothers Michael and Frank may seem aloof, but they really care, and run a great ship. Argueably, their simple, eat-at-the-bar restaurant serves the best plate of food in Dominical. Chicken Cordon Bleu, which I would normally not choose, was eye-rolling-back delicious and huge!! The kids felt independent hanging out by themselves in the open air game room, tide pools and climbing the huge rocks on this northern, more secluded and quiet part of Domical's beach -- yet they were within seeing-distance from us at the bar! Or they could feel grown up taking a walk on the beach into town to Dominical's lifeguarded surf beaches, shops and "bling," and still be within walkee-talkee range. Not far away, we rented surf boards for the kids for $10 a day, and we both had truly top-rate massages on the beach under the trees. We were glad the hotel was not in the middle of busy town, or a nose-bleed drive up a hill each night. We liked it too, that it was set back from road noise, yet close enough to zip onto the Costanera highway for all the places we wanted to go. The toughest thing about the hotel was deciding whether to bring ear plugs to endure the Friday night dance party that booms till 2 a.m., or just join in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I have stayed at the Roca Verde several times and even when I haven't stayed there I have always had drinks and dinner there a few times during the trip. Mike and Frank are great, as is Sasha and the rest of the staff. It's a great meet-up place, and the Saturday night disco is still the best for 100 miles, has been for 15 years. The rooms are very nice for the area - simple and clean with large showers and bathrooms. Saturday night is noisy with the party. Good breaks on the beach to the north or south of the namesake rock that juts out from the ocean side of this hotel. Not a place for a room with a view, just a room with great access to the water. 50% of the place is the restaurant and bar, there are only 8 or 10 rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Firstly, I LOVED Dominical- I thought the town has a cool vibe. I can easily understand how people say it used to be the hippyish, grungy destination. Many streets are still dirt and apparently the highway to reach it was only recently paved. the beach was nice but I enjoyed the open market along the beach for shopping, and the fun laid back vibe.

that said - once you decide on staying in Dominical - you have options of staying in town or closer to the beach. Roca Verde is a nice property if you want to be close to the beach and you have a car.

I wouldn't recommend it for those without a car, as town is accessible only during day- and by beach- with tides out.

The staff was nice.
Their food was good.
The bar does draw a local crowd - which is cool, but loud when they have a band. something to keep in mind. This is NOT your quiet beach escape.

Definitely would recommend

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed here one night. The owner was cold and rude. We had reservations for Wednesday and he said after reading his hand written calender which he had us for Monday , "you're late!" He had plenty of rooms, got a key and proceeded to nearly run off ahead of us. Of all the wonderful people in CR, he is a fellow American and was the only rude person we encountered. Food for dinner was very good. Wine , not so much. The waiter, Eric, was very nice. It really is not "on the beach" but actually a little set back. Our room was really nice with a balcony. They need a safe. We did not stay Saturday. Try somewher else a little further South.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Our family has been returning to Roca Verde for almost eight years, and it just gets better and better with each passing year. Mike and Frank are the nicest people anyone could ever have the good fortune to meet, and their wonderful staff make everyone feel welcome. Edgar, Eric, Juan and all the rest are great people who will make your vacation a great one.

Roca Verde is a funky and perfect place for novice and experienced travelers who want to enjoy Costa Rica to its fullest. The Saturday night party is a blast and the beach is one of the finest in the world. They should charge $300 a night just for the beach alone.

The restaurant and bar is a top notch place to enjoy excellent food and perfect drinks. You will feel like Costa Rica is your home after only a few minutes at Roca Verde's bar.

I am highly suspect of the two or three trolls who have posted negative reviews about Roca Verde. Everyone knows that Roca Verde is secure and is the most stable business in town. The place has NEVER had a theft problem, which leads me to believe that the reviewer below is a competitor trying to defame a wonderful and respectable business. Roca Verde has full-time security on staff and has never had a theft problem, so please don't believe the B.S. from jealous competitors trying to lure you to their inferior roach motels.

The owners at Roca Verde greet every guest with a smile and warm respect. The food and drink are awesome (the Sopa de Mariscos is to die for). The beach is world-class, and the grounds are funky, artistic, plush, and beautiful. All this for much less than you'd think. The prices are are not only reasonable, but downright cheap.

I am an objective reviewer, and I have no ax to grind and no agenda here. I am not affiliated with the owners in any way. I just know from many years' experience that Roca Verde truly is an amazing place to visit and enjoy. If you are planning a visit to the Dominical or Uvita area, I highly recommend this excellent hotel. If you are looking for a true Costa Rica experience, you will be glad you came.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Hotel itself is nice, but right next to a busy highway with lots of semi-trucks. Someone entered our room with a key at 3 a.m. and cleaned us out while we were sleeping. Would not recommend until they put safes in the rooms and change the doors.

The town itself is okay. Nothing charming or endearing. Be prepared to pay Hawaii prices for food and groceries. This is my 5th visit to Costa Rica and would not come back here. Surfing is beach break only. There is no surfing in front of the hotel. Best surfing is about a mile walk up the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdminRocaVerde, Manager at Roca Verde, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Reviewer REFUSED on three different occasions to sign a police report confirming his allogations that someone had broken into his room, while he was sleeping, without any sign of break-in, without the use of any lights and wal able to locate an Ipod that was hidden in a brief case. Reviewer then proceeded to change his description of the "intruder" various times. Nonetheless he stayed in Dominical at a different hotel knowing that there were criminals on the loose. We hate to think of people in this way, but this story just does not match up. A simple "we're not satisfied with this hotel and would like to move to another" would have sufficed.

Here at Roca Verde we only want our guests to leave with a smile. We have on MANY occasions been more than willing and happy to find hotels for travelers who are looking for something different than what Roca Verde has to offer. We realize that people have different traveling needs and wants. We're here to accomodate those needs and wants to the best of our ability. Thank you for taking the time to see our side of things.

--Frank Witte - General Manager - Hotel Roca Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roca Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roca Verde

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roca Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Roca Verde Dominical
Roca Verde Hotel Dominical
Roca Verde Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roca Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.