We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Utopia On the Pacific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Save
You added Costa Paraiso to your Saves list
2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
1 review
“Stunning Utopia On the Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Our stay at the Toucan Room was a piece of secluded paradise and laid back appeal with amenities close at hand. Unlike other accomodations in Costa Rica, the property at Costa Paraiso was right to the water's edge with adjacent beaches that were easy to roam and discover. The porch at the Toucan Room had a spectacular view combined with a privacy that would normally accompany an expensive luxury suite. Dominical is just down the road with a convenient supermarket, bars and restaurants. Bryce was fabulously hospitable whether tending to our room requests, telling us what's around or making delicious Tico breakfasts which we savored on the common deck with a panorama of crashing waves, sand, and rock. Jennifer was friendly and helpful and Bob made us feel completely at home. We have already recommended this gorgeous uncompromised gem in paradise to several friends and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    50
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
102
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed three nights at Costa Paraiso and loved it. The property is absolutely beautiful, the staff friendly and accommodating, and there was an abundance of wildlife! We saw countless lizards/iguanas, birds, and even squirrels! The private beach area was a five minute walk and my brother enjoyed surfing there with Bryce! Our villa was beautiful as well. Highly recommend if you are in the Dominical area!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Jennifer and Bryce were our most hospitable hosts whether cooking us a fresh breakfast,ordering great pizza and pollo asada from a delivery spot in Uvita or cooking us a delicious lunch with the leftover pollo.The first night we were there ,Bob and Bryce cooked burgers on the grill and had us as guests. It felt like we were personal guests ,not customers.
Bob took my 14 yr old son surfing at his favorite spot on the 2nd day and had other great suggestions for other locations while we were there. Our 4 nights there were fabulous..We enjoyed the great pool...the gorgeous Domincalita beach/cove right there...not to mention the unforgettable sunsets..
The "above and beyond the call of duty" list from Jennifer includes getting us transportation (we didn't rent a car) for all our activities,including lending us her car ,at her insistence, in a pinch one day and giving us a bottle of much-needed suntan lotion from her private stash and told "just keep it..you'll need it".
Rooms are spacious and private...outdoor showers great...wifi worked w/out a hitch..
And the common area/patio around the kitchen area was great for those wanting to enjoy the company of the other guests.
We shall return next "winter break"..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We have stayed at CP several times, across two ownerships. We always find the rooms to be very nice with upgraded furnishings, air conditioning, in room safes, helpfull friendly staff and a host of fun locals and regulars who make the stay that much more enjoyable. The location can't be any better. Surfers will enjoy immediate access to several breaks and family can enjoy beachcombing, tidepooling and several spots to play in the surf. The new owners have done a great job on improving the grounds and facilities. The location is just down the road from the town of Dominical, away from the hustle of town, but within close access to what you need. They have added a breakfast offering with reasonable prices and you can access all your internet needs while looking out across the Pacific ocean... perhaps wondering why you brought your computer anyway. Managers can help you with any and all questions and trips you may want to take in the local area. A very inclusive and friendly atmosphere is present here where you may be invited to share dinner with other guests and visitors, or just a few cold ones around the pool.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We have visited Costa Rica last year and this year, and have driven from the Carribean, to Arenal, to Guanacaste, and to Oso Penninsula. I must say, this is the most beautiful piece of property we have seen, bar none! We stayed in Tucan's Nest, by far the most romantic room on the property and with the best privacy and view, but all the rooms are nice. If any of you have been in Big Sur, California or up on the Mendocino Coast, this has equal to surpassing beauty and with 85 degree weather and 70 degree water! The breakfasts are fantastic, the gardens simply beautiful, and the pool refreshing. You won't find better in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I have stayed here a few times over the years, though the latest stay in Aug 2009 was in the midst of the new owners (Canadians) remodeling the villas. They had one building uner renovation, and the other was being rented, though it was fine. The previous time here I had the honeymoon cabina which is great, this time a huge room with kitchen and 2 huge beds and sitting area, we were the only guest besides a nice Tico family that was all 3 generations on holiday. They are also adding a common kitchen outdoors on the patio, which is very cool, with bbq. The pool is great, and I like the location, as Dominical does not have many options that are tranquil and o the beach directly. I have also stayed at the Coconut Grove Cabinas next door which is fine, but the rooms are small, but nice pool and owners there....this hotel is a nice value, and right on the beach, all to yourself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed 4 nights in Dolphin Lodge, enjoyed our stay. Nice room, nice staff. Perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.