We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Costa Rica EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Save
You added Costa Paraiso to your Saves list
2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in Costa Rica EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here on our way to San Jose to Cabo Matapalo - liked it so much we booked a room for our return trip at the end of the week. Great midway spot, secluded beach, private rooms with plenty of space. We were traveling with our two kids (8 - 10) and it was perfect. Pool is right next to restaurant so parents can chill and still keep a close eye on kids. Everyone is super NICE! Eric was our waiter both times and was perfect! The best part was the food! This was our 5th trip to CR and have never had food this good! Fresh fish, sweet sauces, homemade papaya and coconut/cilantro salsa...YUMMMY! Breakfast was equally delicious:) Working A/C units in both rooms (We stayed in Dolphin/Pelican), plenty of space if you wanted to cook and plenty of room for four people to spread out a little with your luggage. My only issue is the tin roof:( You can hear every little thing that hits all night long. However that would not stop us from staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review during your stay with us. We really appreciate both your visits!

You were such a great group to have around we really hope you make it back this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    52
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
75
106
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I, traveling with our little dog stayed two nights at Costa Paraiso. Our entire stay was wonderful. (Take some insect spray) Jo and Shelby, a wonderful young couple managing the restaurant, were so nice and personable. Sandra is a really sweet young lady that manages the hotel. It's true, the rooms are basic but they have a frig, stove, kitchen with all you need to cook, bathroom is basic but clean, shampoo and soaps, towels, nice A/C. The food was EXCELLENT. I had the Caribbean Chicken dish...Incredible!!!! Honestly, we didn't want to leave! If you are not high maintenance, this little place really is quite special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for the review! TripAdvisor is a great tool for our future guests so we appreciate that you took the time as well as your kind words.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Paradise is real!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Service is terrific. Extremely friendly staff. Restaurant is fantastic. Rooms are very nice. Location and view are unbeatable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
What a great review...thanks so much. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had our daughters wedding here May 2014 & they went above & beyond to make everything perfect! Their hospitality was #1 ! The meals were all delicious & their wedding reception was beautiful with everything all set up for us. We could not of found a better location & facility to have their wedding. We were there for a week & were treated like their family. I would highly recommend Costa Paraiso for your wedding or just the perfect place to escape in Costa Rica! And a huge Thank You to everyone there who worked so hard to make our daughters most important day the Best ever:-) !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks very much for filling out the review. It was a wonderful experience to help your family host the wedding. Your family are such an amazing group of people - an absolute pleasure!

Thanks for sharing this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Costa Paraiso with our friends and family for our wedding week (and also had our wedding on site). It could not have been more perfect!! The view is phenomenal! We have never had such excellent customer service in our lives. Jo and Shelby, as well as their entire staff made us feel so at home and welcome. The rooms were great and the restaurant was awesome. We can't stop talking about our next trip back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Your wedding was such a great event! Thanks very much for sharing that time with us here - we all had such a wonderful experience working with you.

The view of your pictures look beautiful as well...we were all prepared for rain for nothing!

Looking forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you are driving down the coast from Quepos, pass the turn off for Playa Dominical and you will find this hotel about 2 km down on your left. We stayed in Monkey and our friends stayed in Dolphine. They have 5 cute named cabinas on the hill. Both were simple, but clean spaces. It was exactly what we were looking for. No TV's or alarm clocks to get in our way of relaxing. The kids enjoyed the pool and the staff was amazing with them....going out of their way to get them paper for drawing and keeping them entertained.

We have decided next time we are in the area we will stay here again and enjoy the grounds even more!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are very glad you are considering coming back...and that you appreciated "No TV's or alarm clocks to get in (y)our way of relaxing". Pura Vida!

Thanks again for filling out a review and trying us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stopped here for one night to split up the drive down to Pavones. The room was super comfortable, the AC worked great which is rare for Central America, the food was amazing, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If we had a few more days to spare we would have stayed longer and enjoyed all the amenities. Did I mention the food was amazing....the food was amazing! I saw a few reviews about the rooms facing the car park...the car park is tiny and it's not an eye sore. Plus there are some many places to relax around the property, that factor didn't bother us at all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pelican room, because they were doing some work on the room we reserved. It was hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks for the review and the tips about the room.

Hoping we can get you to stay a bit longer next time. Glad you enjoyed the food.

We appreciate you mention the view from the rooms. We have 4 rooms that have a view of the parking lot from their deck and we want to make sure people are aware of this. We are an oceanfront resort with amazing views from our property. We have several beautiful spots including our pool, that we find our guests prefer to enjoy the waves and sunset from, when not on the beach nearby. Should someone really want a private deck with a view of the ocean, we recommend our Toucan Room for 2.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.