We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gem of a Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
Save
You added Costa Paraiso to your Saves list
2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Beautiful Gem of a Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well thought out, well executed, perfectly situated, boutique hotel with post card quality rooms, excellent views, atmosphere and a great staff.

The food is excellent.

For all practicle purposes the adjacent beach is private.

This could be used as a base for visiting most of this part of Costa Rica inc..Manuel Antonio Park about 45 min north.

My only regret is that I only spent two nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are absolutely happy that you had a great time and good memories of this beautiful area, thank you for stay with us!!! We hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    46
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
97
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

That's my 2nd trip to C.R and I was looking for a nice place, walking distance from the ocean in Playa Dominical.
This is a 5 bedroom hotel, and I was amazed how well this place was maintained with only 5 rooms. They keep the place very clean, the pool is small and nice with an ocean view. The rooms are spacious with small kitchen.
You can walk to Dominicalito beach, but you'll need a car to get to Dominical. so if you are a surfer, you might want to spend your stay right on Dominical beach.
Little piece of paradise...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Costa Paraiso, we are glad to be part of your 2nd great experience in Costa Rica, we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The place is great, just at the ocean with fantastic views.
We had the room "tucan nest" for 1 night and would have stayed more if we could...
The staff is very friendly, the pool is great (with view on the ocean) and internet worked well from our room. The room was nice too.
The only issue was that there were not really hot water for the shower... which happened in several hotels where we stayed in Costa Rica...

Room Tip: Try the Tucan Nest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the ocean view, the rocks where the waves were crashing, it is a view that you don’t get tired of, we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We've stayed at and even got married at very luxurious places in Costa Rica such as Villa Caletas and Marriott Los Suenos. This was our 4th trip to Costa Rica, and we decided to make it a short trip. We wanted to learn how to surf. The best place to learn is at Playa Dominical. Costa Paraiso is located by Playa Dominicalito (which has more advance waves for surfing) and 1 mile away from Playa Dominical. Our room was equipped with a kitchenette (microwave, dishes, utensil, kitchen sink, small fridge, drinking water tank, breakfast table), small A/C unit, and safe. There was no TV, but the WIFI was decent. The staff was friendly and nice. The small restaurant "Porque no" was very good and fresh. Service was slightly slow (but that's everywhere in Dominical). Take your time and enjoy the breath taking ocean view of the waves crashing onto the rocks as you eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks for your review of Costa Paraiso, We look forward to welcoming you back again. NB Just to note the surf at Dominical is generally considered to be for advanced surfers only (except for the white water beginner lessons) whereas Dominicalito is for beginners and intermediate surfers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Ocotal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Dominical is not large, so the choices are limited, unless you are the surfer type, young, and will sleep anywhere. Costa Paraiso is a very unique setting, as there a small number of cabinas set into a lush tropical forest, just up from the ocean. The accommodations are simple, and you get to hear the sounds of the surf as you go to sleep at night. The rooms are clean, and spacious with a small kitchen for making coffee, snacks, etc.

There is a restaurant on property, with a limited, and in our minds, somewhat pricey selection.
There are more dining options in the small beach community nearby that offer more variety and will give the opportunity to mingle with a very mixed crowd.

Be prepared for a damp environment, especially in the rainy season, as Dominical gets a fair share of precipitation and accompanying humidity, which can get pervasive. The shower is warmed by what is affectionately referred to as a "suicide shower head" (see pic) These shower heads are not uncommon here, but it takes a leap of faith that the installer knew what he was doing as you step into the shower stall!

Most of the accommodations in this small town are just off the highway, which is good for access, but you will probably hear trucks downshifting through the night. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to consider finding a place up the mountain, as virtually all the beach side accommodations are not far from the highway.

There is a definite charm to Costa Paraiso, and it is truly a lovely setting. With the setback regulations currently in place, this property could not have been built this close to the shore. A swimming pool is on the property, and this is useful as the shoreline is too rocky and and the surf too rough for sea-bathing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Some of the things you mention are just part of life in Costa Rica / Dominical, but it is useful for travelers to know what to expect! We believe our restaurant offers reasonable prices for the premium view, but at Costa Paraiso we are constantly reviewing our services in order to improve where possible, and we will use your feedback to do so. We'd love to welcome you back to experience our privileged corner of paradise again, and see some of our planned changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just got back from our stay at Costa Paraiso. What a gem! There are five villas on the property - four of them have two queen beds, and one (the Toucan Nest) is tucked back into a more private space and has a King bed. We rented two villas, the Toucan and Pelican. Both villas are immaculate and so well equipped. They have fans and airconditioning, beautiful furnishing and great porches with ocean views. The sounds of the waves crashing on the rocks in front of the property was dramatic, but soothing. The pool on the property is cute and pristine. It is semi-shaded, which was very nice for us. Hammocks are spread throughout the property, which is covered in beautiful iguanas and colorful birds. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the food at the restaurant was very good, with the exception of the pizza (bland and unseasoned). Nearby Dominicalito Beach is perfect for an early morning walk and shell collecting, though not great for swimming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Costa Paraiso, we are glad to be part of your great experiences in Costa Rica, we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay. Cute little duplexes on cozy property. This was our first night in CR and the lush foliage and crashing waves started out trip out with a great frame of mind. Our room had a nice kitchen, but the meals were EXCELLENT. Breakfast was especially good. Pizza was a bit of a disappointment. The room had two queen beds with curtains between, which suited us just fine. The bathroom could use a paint job, but nothing to worry about. Rocks give the coastline character and the beach is a very short walk.
This is a great place. Book it!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are behind the parking lot and registration/restaurant, but not to worry. Everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are absolutely happy you started your vacation with a great experiences in Costa Rica, thank you for your stay at Costa Paraiso and your positives feedback, We review it and fix it recently, we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#2 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.