We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Dominical
GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wonderful visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited Costa Paraiso back in September 2012 for 2 nights. We had a beautiful drive from San Jose airport; however, by the time we arrived it was pouring rain. While waiting in the car figuring out how we were going to get out in the rain we were greeted by Sandra carrying umbrellas. She took us straight to our room to get settled in. The resort is beyond words. The rooms were relaxing, the pool was small but nice. The views were incredible!! We enjoyed talking to the other couples staying there. The last day we were there a large family with children arrived and took over the pool which made us glad we were leaving. We literally sat an entire day on the upper deck and looked at the tide coming in over the rocks. I love the beach and unfortunately felt that even in low tide it was too rocky for me to venture out into. There are few restaurants nearby. The ones we tried were just o.k. The restaurant on the property was just o.k. too. The food was rather bland. I am not a huge salt person but everything really needed salt added to it. We decided to venture to another part of Costa Rica after our stay just to find a better beach to enjoy. Overall the resort was really nice and we would have stayed had we had better beached to play in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you, was good that you enjoyed the view and the rocks where the waves were crashing, it is a view that you don’t get tired of.
The rainy season is powerful and occasionally takes the sand out to sea, so that more rocks are exposed. In the summer time the sand comes back, right now the sand is back and the beach is awesome. Please come and visit us in our summer time to see the other face of Costa Paraiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    44
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
94
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Don't let the long, cliff like driveway scare you off. After driving around and checking out 6 or 7 different hotels that are close to the water, Casa Paraiso was the clear winner for us. It's just beautiful and close to everything we planned to do (beach, surfing, riding horses up to Nauyaca falls, etc.).

Sandra was incredibly helpful and despite the fact we didn't have reservations we lucked out and were able to get into the Toucan room (the most private room with the best view) on short notice.

Great Service and if you get a chance, try the smoothies at PorQueNo. They pretty much pull the fruit of tree's that are on the property and mix them up for you. Can't beat that!

Also worth noting that we left our power cord in the room which they figured out and placed in our luggage before we left.

Room Tip: The toucan room is the best on the property. It's the most secluded and has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are absolutely happy that we could help you deal with this unfortunate incident, and in the end you kept smiling and had a great time and good memories of this beautiful area, cheers!!! We hope to see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from a 3-day stay at Costa Paraiso. It was truly a wondeful find. The staff was so friendly, the property truly an idyllic location on the coast, and so many attractions nearby. If you are looking for a small getaway location, that defines the beachfront experience, this is truly it.

We had some meals on property,but also experienced many local eateries on Playa Dominical and Domincalito. Had a good conversation with owner Bob about how to invite more guests to dine on premises.

Overall.a highlight of our week long trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Toucan cottage is standalone and very private, and other rooms are adjoining units, 2 per building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay at Costa Paraiso, we are glad to be part of your great experiences in Costa Rica, we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in Dolphin lodge for 2 nights. It is a small hotel with only 5 villas. The site is beautiful, the vegetation, the gardens and most of all, the fantastic view of the ocean with the rocky shore. There is also a small pool which we enjoyed a lot and a restaurant with great views. Let's just say it felt really good just being there and walking around. The villa is roomy and very nice but dark because of the surrounding vegetation (you'll notice the lights have been turned on on the hotel website pictures). The kitchen is equipped with the usual fridge, oven and microwave but lack a few basics for cooking like a cutting knife, salt and pepper,etc...If you're planning on cooking in the villa, get what you need in Quepos since there is only a mini-market in Dominical where you will find the basics only. The beds are very confortable, the hotel is close to the main road so you can hear the trucks in the hill behind. The restaurant is a bit pricey but everything we had was fresh and really good. There is a swimming beach at a walking distance but we didn't like it much...For a nice beach go to Hacienda Baru which is only a few minutes drive. To conclude, we would definitely return to this hotel and stay a few days more in order to make this place our base point to visit the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feeedback. We're really happy you had a good stay. We'll make sure to add the necessary basics you mention into your villa, sorry that these were missing, there are 2 supermarkets drive 10 minutes to Dominical and 30 minutes to Uvita, there has everything necessary, there is also a beautiful beach on the way called Hermosa, between Dominicalito and Uvita. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The location is great, with views of the waves crashing over the rocks below. A wonderful place to have a meal or sit by the pool. We were very pleased with the room as well (the Monkey room), which was plenty big enough for our family of five even with the extra bed. The restaurant was okay, but perhaps a little expensive for what we got. Our only real complaint was that on the one night we were there, the hotel also hosted a wedding party. The party goers certainly had a right to celebrate and have a good time, but I wish we had been told about the wedding when we booked the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and view, and hotel relaxation areas. Regarding the wedding party we believed that this would have finished by 9pm, as we only had an arrangement for dinner with the party. But clearly this had not been specific in the booking, hence the late finish. We apologize to you for this. We will correct this in the future especially with wedding parties. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to continue to improve our service and review our menu prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We went there on a weekend and we have a great time in the hotel. The view of the seashore, sea and the nature was amazing. I highly recommend to try the food of restaurant in this hotel; we ate pizza, choco chip cookies and some cinnamon roles and everything was really good and fresh.

We had a really nice time in there and I think without a doubt that we will go again soon : )

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, General Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay at Costa Paraiso, thank you for your comments; we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just off the coastal highway and fronts onto the ocean with beautiful gardens. Bars and eateries of Dominical are a 5 minute drive. We had the Pelican cabin which is plenty big enough for a family of four and liveable for five with the extra bed we had requested in advance. Make no mistake this is a classy spot by Costa Rican (or any other) standards and you will probably love the setting and ambience - we certainly did. Unfortunately my rating of only Average is due to the 'quirky' service. The first evening we were assured (twice) the restaurant would be open, to find when we showed up at 8pm that they had taken what seemed to be an on-the-fly decision to close it for the evening. Another guest we spoke to, who had managed to eat there the previous evening, said the pizzas were big in size but even bigger in price and not good value. Unfortunately we also failed to get breakfast as they don't do it on Mondays. When we checked out, they tried to charge us extra for the fifth bed despite having quoted and taken our deposit on that basis when we pre-booked. When we stood firm they accepted it only with ill grace. A shame not be be able to give the Costa Paraiso a better rating, it's a lovely property, but the management really need to rethink their attitude a bit.

Room Tip: Only five cabins I think and all are very well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We believe that our rooms are very good value for the price and that client will assume there is an extra cost for an additional bed. However, we apologize that this is not clearer on our website, and this will be rectified as soon as possible – thank you for this useful feedback. This is also usually made clear when booking and when taking the deposit. In this case it appears our standards fell below what we would normally provide – however the client was not charged and we feel that this is an acceptable redress for the situation they encountered. Regarding the restaurant being closed on the evening, this was an unfortunate situation due to staff illness and due to the holiday period some additional staff were unavailable. Once again we apologize. The restaurant is always closed on a Monday but this is made clear to guests. We do welcome the feedback and we do review our menu on an ongoing basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Costa Paraiso to your Saves list