We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, relaxation, and nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Paraiso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa Paraiso
2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Dominical
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort, relaxation, and nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My partner and I spent four nights here with two of our close friends during a two week trip to Costa Rica over the Christmas holidays. I was such a great way to start the trip. The rooms were clean, spacious, and nicely decorated- although you won't be spending much time in them. The views from the pool , the patios and the ranchos are amazing (especially the crashing waves and sunsets), and it is a short walk to either the quieter Dominicalito beach, or the busier surfer beach near town (Dominical). You can walk to town (make sure you take the beautiful beach route) in less than a half an hour for great food, friendly locals, and surf board rentals. Great staff, great location, amazing place! A wonderful mix of relaxation and low-key activity. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but Pelican Roost has a nice big window by the bed that looks out onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Amber!!

Thank you for your comments!!
Come back soon!


Pura Vida!

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    44
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
63
93
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

The moment you walk in,you realize how unique the setting is with waves crashing against old lava rocks, perfect tropical landscaping, and untamed but walkable beaches. A tad hot for our tastes during the day but side trips to higher elevations worked well for us. Unfortunately the dining room was only functioning for breakfast and it is two kilometers of not easy walking on busy road so we had to pay a taxi to deliver from town. the promise of excellent food to come is there in the delightful breakfast options, which are not included and did run $12-15 each when juice and coffee etc were all run up a la carte. One of the owners was present and he was a friendly accommodating gentleman who took obvious pleasure in spending time with his guests. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for the feedback!!

On behalf of all the staff will say it was a pleasure having you and your son as guests!
Come back soon!

Pura Vida!

Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Grumpy teenagers didn't really want to travel during the Christmas Holidays but once we arrived at Costa Pariso the frowns turned into smiles. We spent the week in the Dolphin Room and had a blast. After spending a week on the Caribbean side, Dominical seemed like Heaven. Sandra was wonderful. She helped us navigate and book all of our excursions.The whole staff was very helpful and the property spotless. We especially loved the three resident toucans in the trees.
The views don't get much better and the swimming beach is right next door. The soothing sounds of the waves crashing lulled us to sleep each evening. The lovely comfortable decor was appealing. Hammocks for relaxing everywhere, sunsets to die for.
The only drawback was the renovation of the kitchen but fortunately the rooms have kitchens. The suggested restaurants were nice. I would highly recommend this property as it is the nicest in the area and probably the best location. I would go back tomorrow!!!

Room Tip: Dolphin and
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the encouraging feedback!!
We love having your family as guests!! Come back soon!!
Pura Vida


Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This little resort is tucked away on a private cove just south of Dominical. The beach to the south of the cove has some fantastic surfing for beginners and intermediates. The staff at the resort was very knowledgeable and helpful during our 3 day stay. We loved the deck and food in the cafe was fresh and delicious. We have friends locally and they all rave about the Paraiso, so you know you've come to the right place. Book early. It is a small resort which is the biggest part of its charm.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Hi Jay!!

Thank you for a valuable feedback!!

Looking forward to your next visit to Dominical!



Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tg1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with our 2 boys and brother-sistern in law. They added 2 cots to our room for our 2 boys. Unfortunately, the restaurant was being renovated and was closed during our stay. The hammocks, setting was beautiful. The jagged rocks in front of the property was beautiful to look at (and sip a glass of wine in front of a setting sun)- but to swim we had to take a trek up the beach. The room did have a kitchenette, which we put to good use.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback!! We are constantly improving our service!

Looking forward to your next visit so you can enjoy the restaurant!


Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days up to new years eve. With 3 kids and us parents all in the same room (Coconut room) it was tight and somehow comfortable all at the same time. There was a fridge, micorwave and little sink- so simple meal prep was possible. No TV's- so only the beautiful surroundings to keep you busy. The beach is more like a volcanic rock formation. The waves crashing are always beautiful. You need to drive a bit to get to a "real beach"- but not a big deal. The staff was super friendly- and helpful as we faced a car issue during our stay. I would highly recommend Ballena Info Center for all sorts of different tours- whale/dolphins (we saw both), snorkeling at the whale's tale (awesome!), horseback riding you name it. This hotel was a great value and perfect place to lay your head after a day of fun activiites. No restaurant while we were there (which was a bummer)- but otherwise perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi Family Schunk!

On behalf of all the staff will say it was a pleasure to serve your family!
Thank you so much for your feedback, we constantly try to improve our service.

Looking forward to your next visit to Dominical!


Pamela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

We are here right now in the Tucan villa with a spectacular garden & ocean view. Comfy beds and a short distance to Dominical. The beach, pool, staff, grounds are magnificent here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPManagement, Public Relations Manager at Costa Paraiso, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Hi Robbie!!

On behalf of the entire staff will say it was a pleasure to serve you guys.

Looking forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Paraiso

Address: 2km South of Dominical | Rocas de Amancio Rd, Dominical 12345, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Paraiso is an oceanside boutique hotel located near Dominical on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, you will find several hideaways to relax along with a refreshing swimming pool. The onsite restaurant Por Que No serves delicious Tican-fusion dishes along with a Chef's Daily Special.On the beach, the hotel backs onto the north entrance to Playa Dominicalito. Only a 5 minute drive to Dominical, you have access to all the adventure tourism the region has to offer...surfing, kayaking, scuba, stand up paddleboards, canyoning, ziplining, atv, horseback riding and yoga. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costa Paraiso Dominical
Costa Paraiso Hotel Dominical
Costa Paraiso Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Paraiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Costa Paraiso to your Saves list