We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and cheap hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortilla Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tortilla Flats
Save
You added Tortilla Flats to your Saves list
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
Olten
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good and cheap hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were four people staying two nights at tortilla flats. Our room was small but had a own bathroom and was clean - a good deal for 15$ a night per room!

The hostel is just at the beach and the restaurant beside is good but a little pricey. We would recommend tortilla flat for all travelling on a budget and not looking for a luxury stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
10
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staff were amazing, the setting is perfect.

My room was clean, basic and I got a great deal.

There is such a good vibe at the place you will end up talking to strangers and having some wild times.

In the morning, you'll wake up to the sound of the jungle, and the lip of that wave smacking into the pacific ocean.

In the evening as sun sets and everyone head to the beach to watch it go down, Tortilla flats will be handing out ice cold beers to enjoy it with, during their daily happy hour, easing the strain on your wallet a little.

Oh yeah and the food is pretty good too. Try the mahi mahi burger - Beast!

I will be going back to Dominical, and when I do, I will be staying at Tortilla Flats again.

Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was the first place on our trip where we could relax and enjoy a drink after hours of flying, buses, and taxis. We got tipped off about the passion fruit basil margarita and dove right in. They are awesome! The bar is very layed back, a melting pot of international travelers, ex-pats, and locals. Right near the beach, a perfect place to unwind and take in the atmosphere. No telling who you might run into here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed a week here during the Easter celebration week 'Semana Santa'...I had no idea what I was getting into! I booked a room with two beds, it cost about $12 for the room per night. I stayed alone, so I was happy to pay double price just for the security of having my own room. I made friends with a group of great friends that week, in the restaurant and we had a great time surfing with the locals and experiencing this beautiful area!!! It is absolutely gorgeous here in Dominical...the surf was quite large, and progressively bigger and bigger as the week went on...also during the Easter week it was lovely, the whole town filled with people camping on the beach and partying all night long EVERY NIGHT (wish I had some earplugs there sometimes)....not really my thing, but it was fun to be a part of that. I really don't know why people give such poor reviews...the price is great, it's ocean-front, and nice staff, and there is running water and a toilet and a locked door...what do you really expect travelling here?

Room Tip: second level is the way to go. check the room before booking...duh
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place has great cocktails- the basil margarita was to die for and I'll probably remember it for the rest of my life. The food was decent, not amazing but certainly not bad.

But, come on, what's with the surly Tica waitress?! I thought she was going to try to take me out back and beat me up. I didn't realize ordering a cocktail in a bar could infuriate someone so much. She was definitely a saucy little number.

We came back the next day because we were in the mood for more basil margaritas, and we were presented with yet ANOTHER unpleasant waiter. This time it was a stoney surfer guy, and he did not seem to care if we lived or died.

Whatever, Tortilla Flats is fine. I just think customer service should be like, somewhat of a priority.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la playa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Located right in front of the surf you can check the waves from your window. The accomodations are a little less than average, but the price is right for what you get, a basic room with a door and a bed and bathroom. We spent most of the day at the beach which is right there in from of Tortilla Flats. The restaurante serves food and also has views of the waves and the beach, good place to relax with a cold one. Dominical is a small town and from Tortilla flats you are a short walk to everything you need. Pura vida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The food was bad, the service was not good and the dont do separate checks, thatnis ridiculous.
It look like they dont care what the costumer want or think. I dont understand why they dont do separate check, al so they dont do devolutions. The fodd was nasty and the service was rude

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.6 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 12 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 12 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
22.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilla Flats

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tortilla Flats Hotel Dominical
Tortilla Flats Dominical
Tortilla Flats Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortilla Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.