We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, don't expect too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tortilla Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tortilla Flats
Save
You added Tortilla Flats to your Saves list
, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced, don't expect too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Well, the view is nice, but the food is not, let's say it's ok, but, as I said, don't expect too much. The waiters seem to be very inattentive, and they refuse to do separate checks, which is very inconvenient if you want to eat here with a group.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
10
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

These guys are obviously catering to surfers, but a great restaurant/bar and good nights sleep for very little cash was pleasantly worth the diversion south - nice folks - the beach was great and for those seeking good surf it seemed to be here.

Room Tip: farther from the bar is obviously quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just stopped here for a quick bite and refreshments after a fantastic day scuba diving with Mad About Diving. The place was jammed, mostly with surfers and what looked like longtime ex-pats. Good music and a great location with views of the surf. We waited a while for service as the place was jam-packed but the casual atmosphere encouraged a patient attitude. Food was good and we enjoyed the visit. Great place for a beer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The local bevy of ex-pats seem to hang out here. Good drinks on the bat but quite expensive. The place us right on the beach and oozes in authenticity. I know you have a 200 word minimum, but there isn't really much to add other than its a dumpy place with good expensive frozen drinks. If you're going to Dominical which I highly recommend it's a must.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is very convenient for a traveler. The rooms are what you would expect for under $20, but being beachfront makes the value well worth it. The service at the bar and restaurant is incredible and it is so nice to have people around that truly care about how ur stay in costa rica goes. I def recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Basic rooms With hot showers with hammock across from beach for 20 dollars Great busiest bar with western owners tunes and sports on tv. Try the charred burgers $7 beers $3. Shops line beach front. Ruff and Ready Dominical

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

For $15 a night, Tortilla Flats is definitely one of the cheaper options in Dominical. For us, the cheap rate wasn't worth the sleepless night on the very thin mattress, all the noise outside in the morning, the unclean bathroom and the fact that the window screen was badly torn (there's no glass etc, so the screen was the only division between our room and the mosquitoes outside). We paid double the price for a room at Dominilocos and it was much more than double the value- it's very clean, the rooms are large and air conditioned, the wifi is as fast as we have at home and it's also about 30 seconds from the beach. Go there instead.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.6 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 12 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 12 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
6.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
22.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilla Flats

Address: , Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tortilla Flats Hotel Dominical
Tortilla Flats Dominical
Tortilla Flats Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortilla Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.