We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surfer-watching” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tortilla Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tortilla Flats
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Dominical
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Surfer-watching”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just stopped here for a quick bite and refreshments after a fantastic day scuba diving with Mad About Diving. The place was jammed, mostly with surfers and what looked like longtime ex-pats. Good music and a great location with views of the surf. We waited a while for service as the place was jam-packed but the casual atmosphere encouraged a patient attitude. Food was good and we enjoyed the visit. Great place for a beer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    21
    10
    8
See reviews for
8
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The local bevy of ex-pats seem to hang out here. Good drinks on the bat but quite expensive. The place us right on the beach and oozes in authenticity. I know you have a 200 word minimum, but there isn't really much to add other than its a dumpy place with good expensive frozen drinks. If you're going to Dominical which I highly recommend it's a must.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is very convenient for a traveler. The rooms are what you would expect for under $20, but being beachfront makes the value well worth it. The service at the bar and restaurant is incredible and it is so nice to have people around that truly care about how ur stay in costa rica goes. I def recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Basic rooms With hot showers with hammock across from beach for 20 dollars Great busiest bar with western owners tunes and sports on tv. Try the charred burgers $7 beers $3. Shops line beach front. Ruff and Ready Dominical

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

For $15 a night, Tortilla Flats is definitely one of the cheaper options in Dominical. For us, the cheap rate wasn't worth the sleepless night on the very thin mattress, all the noise outside in the morning, the unclean bathroom and the fact that the window screen was badly torn (there's no glass etc, so the screen was the only division between our room and the mosquitoes outside). We paid double the price for a room at Dominilocos and it was much more than double the value- it's very clean, the rooms are large and air conditioned, the wifi is as fast as we have at home and it's also about 30 seconds from the beach. Go there instead.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Totally the place to stay if you're young and want to meet people and party. The room we stayed in was clean, but very, very basic. There were ants in the bathroom and a small lizard. It was noisy. The food was in the restaurant was so-so. The beach is only a few steps away. With the riptide, you really don't want to swim.
The rooms also do not have air conditioning, only a fan.
It would be a nightmare for someone just wanting a place to relax, but for partiers, it can't be beat. We also did feel quite safe as their is a lot of activity and you park next to your room.
The set up, with hammocks outside the room and lots of benches in a close quarters, encouraged socializing and by the end of the evening everyone seemed to know everyone.
Everyone was super friendly, the town is wonderful, the beach beautiful
and I do recommend it for the right type of person. My group fell in love with this place and would move in if they could....so, for the right person, a terrific place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The good things about this hotel are the location and price. It is very basic and I guess how you like it depends on how much you like to rough it. I've been in several hostels in Costa Rica and this one goes down as one of my least favorites. I prefer cheap (working as a volunteer teacher on a small stipend) but this was just too cheap for me. Our room was filthy from all the sand and the bathrooms were less than clean to begin with. The beds were uncomfortable and I barely slept more than a few hours each night from the heat (we had a fan that didn't really work), the uncomfortable beds and noise. If you are just looking for a place to crash and want to surf all day plus have access to a bar, go to Tortilla Flats. If you want to relax a little and actually get some decent sleep, I am sure you can do better. If and when I go back to Dominical, I will try a different hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilla Flats

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Dominical
Also Known As:
Tortilla Flats Hotel Dominical
Tortilla Flats Dominical
Tortilla Flats Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortilla Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tortilla Flats to your Saves list