We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic hostel for backpackers, awesome location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tortilla Flats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tortilla Flats
Save Saved
You added Tortilla Flats to your Saves list
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“basic hostel for backpackers, awesome location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The rooms are very basic and essentially furnished (bed + fan, that's all), but they're quite neat even if the bathroom is not separated from the actual bedroom (the wall that acts as a divisory is not as tall as the roof) .The owners were not that helpful when our toilet clogged (apparently it's normal when the tide is high..), it looks like their core business is the restaurant and they don't focus that much in running the hotel business.

Anyways, if you are travelling on a budget and don't mind about fancy rooms and frills, this is just the right place to relax by the wonderful beach and do some cool surfing.

Next time, I would rather try some other hotel, knowing that I wouldn't regret missing out this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We staid here for 3 days and it was the best place for the money around. There used to be cheap places to stay In dominical (or any were in CR) but with the big resorts it's brought prices up. If you are looking for something a couple steps above a hostel then this is the spot. Cleen room next to a bar and beach! It's not the ritz but it was fine for me!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

There really isn't much in Dominical and I found Tortilla Flats to be the best of the restaurant/bars in the area. Right on the ocean with open air dining room and wifi. Prices are average and the food is as well. The street market is right out front and helps add to the ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you're in Dominical, this is the place to eat. Casual, good price and def. the most populated place to eat. The food was delicious and the Costa Rican cuisine was very authentic as there are little old ladies manning the kitchen! I felt like I was in good hands and I wasn't disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tafuna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

First the positives:
1. Location. it's right across the street from the beach. it's adjacent to their restaurant which served a pretty good breakfast and evening meal.

2. Affordable. I think we paid about $25 USD a night.

3. The hammocks outside the room were a nice touch.

Now the Negatives.
1. It's loud. Because the rooms don't have A/C, you rely a lot on the small fan and the windows. Thus, with the windows open, you can hear everything going on outside. Routinely, in the morning, the restaurant would begin receiving deliveries from large diesel trucks who had their Reverse Beeping Sirens on as they unloaded their deliveries. Also, because of the adjacent restaurant, there were routinely people outside our room at 10 p.m., talking on their phones and cutting up. For this reason, alone, we won't return here.

2. The water was lukewarm, at best.

Overall, it was nice, the staff was laid back (almost too laid back) and friendly... but i wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Maarten
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have spent a few days in Dominical, which is a very sharming village, with a beautfull beach and in general friendly people. The mean bar/restaurant on the oceanside - Tortilla Flats - is a nice place to hang out for a drink, or a simple meal (lunch or dinner). The staff is friendly.
However at night the area in front of this establishment (palm trees and the beach), becomes thiefs domain. On one night I and 3 other tourists where robberd from their belongings while coming or going to their parked cars, by just walking or the car got broken into. According to local police officers, the owner of the establishment is refusing to secure the (parking)area by installing (flood) lights, so that thiefs have more difficulty to hide and set up ambushes. If the police is right or wrong I don't know, but since this seems to happen over a longer periode of time, the owner could talk more responsibilty, in order to make his establishment more safe to visit at night and that his/her costumers, leave without being robbed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have been staying at the Flats several times a year for over 10 years. I have tried the other hotels and they are nice but nothing compares to being in a room just 200' from the pounding surf and the cool ocean breezes off the Pacific. Accommodations are basic but a room is very reasonable. Beds are firm so I never woke up with a sore back and rooms are always clean. The bar/restaurant was recently named in the World's 50 best beach bars by CNN. It is virtually the heartbeat of the town and is where you run into everyone you know.

Room Tip: #18 and #19 are the best in the house. Private, quiet, ocean front and good breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortilla Flats

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Tortilla Flats Hotel Dominical
Tortilla Flats Dominical
Tortilla Flats Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortilla Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.