We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, despite the beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Rio Mar to your Saves list
Villas Rio Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Meters Northeast of the Dominical Entrance | along the Baru river side, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edwards, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, despite the beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 6 nights. The staff is wonderful, the food at the restaurant is great, and the grounds are gorgeous. It was great to have a pool to dip in when it was so hot outside.
On the downside - it is about a 15 minute walk into town and when it's muggy, felt longer. My husband wanted to surf, so carrying the surfboard back and forth would have been impossible. Luckily, the place where we rented the board let him keep it there.
There were so many ants in our room. The bathroom doorframe was completely eaten by bugs and we couldn't even figure out where they were coming in. It was just a never ending line of ants. There was also a gecko in our room who chirped really loudly each night, but I guess that's CR for you. The major downside to this hotel is the bed. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in and the pillows were just as bad. We had 6 horrible nights of sleep when we were here, which was so unfortunate because otherwise, it would be a wonderful place to stay. The last day we were there, we did see some mattresses being moved in and out, so hopefully they are getting new ones for the rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for staying with us.

We are glad to hear you liked the food in our restaurant and our gardens, we try hard to get them in a good condition. It is good to hear you found a solution for the board, we know we are a little bit out of town but we like to give our guest a good environment to relax.

We are sorry to hear about the ants, because we are located very close to the jungle we can’t guarantee things like that will happen, but we always want to do the best for our guest and try to solve problems as soon as possible.

We also feel sorry for the bad nights you had because of the mattresses. We are working on it right now.

We hope your next stay here will be better!

Staff of Villas Rio Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    123
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
81
130
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went in the off season for my 37th birthday and loved it! The staff was fantastic, the front desk was helpful with any questions we had and were very nice. The pool was large and beautiful, since there were fewer guests it was never over crowded. The entire property was clean and full of flora and fauna. We walked into town everyday, it was a nice walk on a dirt and rocky road, and sections are lit at night (you pass the police station) and it is mostly level. I would definitely stay here again. I loved the pool so much, it was hard to go to the black sand beach.

Room Tip: The floors are tile so be careful what you track inside. The patio portion of the room was nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay here at Villas Río Mar.

We are thrilled you liked the service and had a wonderful birthday. We are also really glad you could relax in our pool and natural surroundings.

It's great to hear you enjoyed town as well!

We can't wait to have you back here. Thank you again for your kind words.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have visited this hotel for massages, and recently had a deep tissue massage from Fabiola. She is fantastic and I definitely recommend her to anyone looking to relax. The staff is also very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and recommendation.

We are very happy you enjoyed your massage and were able to relax. We're glad you were pleased with the service.

Thank you once again for your lovely commentary. We hope to see you soon at Villas Río Mar.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We came back late at night, and there were nobody to give us our room key. After more than 30 noking real hard and making a lot of noice, we found him sleeped on a sofa close to us with a pipe close to him, like if he was doing drogs.

Room Tip: Our room was far from restaurant, pool and reception, quiet though, WiFi never received at the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Primero que todo, queremos ofrecerle una disculpa por lo acontecido en días pasados por la situación que usted hace mención.

Lo otro es darle las gracias por sus comentarios, siempre son bienvenidos y nuestro propósito es darle seguimiento a lo que acontece en nuestro hotel en pro del beneficio de nuestros clientes, debido a su queja queremos informarle que hemos tomado cartas en el asunto y hemos despedido al guarda el cual estaba en entrenamiento en nuestro hotel en esos días.

Nos preocupa la seguridad y tranquilidad de nuestros clientes y amigos. Esperamos verlo por acá nuevamente en un futuro no muy lejano.

Staff Villas Río Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here with a few friends for only 1 night. Wish I could've stayed longer. This place is great. Staff is super friendly, the rooms are pretty nice for CR no chain standards, and their restaurant is ridiculously good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at Villas Río Mar.

We are glad you liked the service and were pleased with your rooms.

It's great to hear you liked the restaurant, and we hope next time you will be able to stay a little longer.

Thank you once again for your kind words and your recommendation.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

On a recent trip to the extreme southern areas of Costa Rica i stayed at Rio Mar. it has a great location in Dominical within walking distance to everything. The best staff I ran across on my three week trip. I was there 4 days but by the second morning everyone was greeting me by name and were very helpful throughout my stay. The rooms were large and the AC worked! not so with every place I stayed during my vacation. There was a nice covered stting area outside with a fan which became my place to sit and enjoy the tropical weather.
Estella at the front desk was extremely helpful, drawing maps, telling me the best spots to go, and following up on any and every request I made during my trip. I will return to this hotel because I now have a friend there. Note: The short road in will make you want to turn around but dont.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are super quiet but a couple of minutes walk to the pool and eating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely commentary. We are pleased you felt comfortable here at Villas Río Mar,

We are happy the location was a good fit for you, that the service and people around you were friendly, and that you liked our personal touch.

We are glad you felt comfortable in your rooms with working AC and enough space, and that you were able to relax in your veranda.

It's wonderful to hear you made a friend and that the short road didn't put you off!

Thank you once more for your kind words. We hope to see you return in future.

Villas Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is a combination of nature, calm, privacy and near the beach and a river. Its rooms are separately in a green area. In "houses" of 4 rooms. Very private and confortable. Nice pool and service in general. They just need to give you more towels.

Room Tip: For more privacy ask for 333 room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you were comfortable with your stay here at Villas Río Mar, along with the nature, atmosphere, and peace and quiet.

It's great to hear you liked the swimming pool and the service. We've taken note about the towel situation!

Once again, thank you for your lovely commentary. We hope to see you return in future!

Río Mar Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 900 Meters Northeast of the Dominical Entrance | along the Baru river side, Dominical 185-8000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique style 3 star hotel is set on the banks of the Baru river, located 900 mtrs from the beach and surrounded by impressive tropical forests, the jungle resort Villas Rio Mar awaits you with the traditional Costa Rican friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Rio Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.