We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Dominical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Rio Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Rio Mar to your Saves list
Villas Rio Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 meters northeast of the Dominical entrance | along the Baru river side, Dominical 1645-2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Navarro, Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Dominical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Villas Rio Mar was referred to us by one of the restaurant owners in Dominical and it had good reviews on Trip Advisor. We found the hotel to be an excellent choice. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and the grounds were absolutely gorgeous. We ate dinner in the restaurant and both my wife and I had superb meals. They have all the amenities you will need to have a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Jeff

Thank you for your warm comments, we are very happy you choice us and enjoyed your stay in Villas Rio Mar. we really appreciate your feedback; we hope to see you once again here in the future.

We are very pleased that you liked our attention of our staff, we are here to serve you, as far as possible, and then we try that our environment is always surrounded by the green and ecology.

Kind regards,

Villas Rio Mar staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    109
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
72
120
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice, clean and well maintained facilities, beautiful garden.

Food had problems:
- Freshness: Watermelon based juiced they used watermelons that were not fresh, it was rather unpleasant.

- Terrible portion control: in the same table with the same meals different plates had more than others, during dessert, different sized pieces of cake were served. Its could be a really good deal if you're lucky and get one of the bigger ones if not, you're in for a disappointment.

- Underdeveloped culinary skills: At breakfast, scrambled eggs were swimming in some liquid, the fish at lunch had burnt spots and was too greasy.

The front desk staff had real trouble assigning rooms and it took ages (even tho everything was planed and booked weeks in advance.) and were really rude on the check out "you've got 10 minutes!, you've got 10 minutes!! you've got 10 minutes to get your bags out of the room and be checked out!" , it was 13.40 at the time and there is a check out sign clearly stating: check out time 14.00.

It could very well be a nice place but i wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Pinoski

First, we would like to thank you for your comments. They are very important for us. We work every day to make our customers stay as comfortable is possible. Secondly, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

In relation to the food, we are sorry, you had a bad experience. We care about having the best and freshest fruit that's why we have a fruit supplier visit us three times a week.
About the size of the portions during the dinner time, portions usually tend to be the same size. But for sure we will take into account to standardize the size of our desserts using a better method.

According with your perception about our front desk, we believe it was a misunderstanding, because our check out time is at 12:00. When our guest need to do a late check (not later than 13:00), most of the time we don’t do an extra charge, consider we must give the room clean to our new guest at 14:00. We assigned rooms just after you make your reservation. When we have a group checking in, we do our best giving a warm welcome because we have all information in advance and they usually travel with a tour guide.

Once again thank you for your comments they make us improve our service. We want to give our guests a warm welcome. Hope to see again.

Best regards,

Villas Rio Mar Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Exceptional attention by the staff. A great place simply for R&R or an escapade. The place is great, very close to Dominical and very cool acommodations. I want to go back there, for sure! The environment is very nice with indoor/outdoor spaces and beautiful gardening spaces that surround the whole complex.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your nice words, we really appreciate your feedback, we hope to see you back around here, actually our hotel is very close to many places, very beautiful and worth to visiting.

We are very pleased that you liked our attention of our staff, we are here to serve you, as far as possible, then we try that our environment is always surrounded by the green and ecology. Hope to see you soon!

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is truly a beautiful property. The Villas are modern and clean with a fantastic patio to relax outside day or night. The pool is quite large which I love to swim laps. The food was fantastic. We found this place by accident while on a road trip to Panama and sure glad we did. I loved it! We will go back for sure next time in Dominical.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Catty,

Thank you very much for your sweet comments, initially were 40 rooms now we do have 52, with time by time we do a remodel and give them up grade, just to give more comfort to our customers.

We are glad that you enjoyed our property, the pool and the food has been fantastic.

Hopefully we would like your visit in the future, not by accident by a frequent customer, once again thank you very much.

Staff Villas Rio Mar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We called a couple of times to inquire about the lodge, but their response was unenthusiastic and gave us the feeling that they did not care much.

When we arrived, we were greeted with the same cold treatment from before. We were not allowed to keep the remote control for the air conditioning and were told to call them every time we needed it adjusted! There was an on off switch,but that was all we were allowed to do.
Once in the room, the AC was off and the room was hot, pressing the on switch did not do anything so I called the front desk and a man was sent to check it out. He brought a remote control and got it going,I asked for the remote and he left it with us.
The rooms are not bad,but the mattresses were thin and made for a hard to sleep night. The charge for our room was $80, but there are cheaper rooms without air conditioning.

The grounds are nice, it has a nice large pool right next to the restaurant, it is surrounded by jungle,but a new road is being build not too far behind the lodge,limiting the use of walking trails through the jungle.The beach is about a kilometre from the lodge,but the ocean here is rough as a large river flows into it not too far from the area.
Breakfast, which was included in the price, was good with lots of fresh fruit and typical food.
I would have given this lodge a higher rating if not for the cons mention above.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Client

Thank you for let us know your comments, our management and HR department work every day to improve our service. I would like to apologize for all the inconvenience.

Villas Rio Mar is a sustainable eco lodge, and we do have some sustainable polices to save energy, that´s why our rooms have a button, where our guest can turn on and off the air condition in a regular temperature. In case if somebody wants to control the temperature we provide the a/c control, I believe it was a misunderstanding but we will discuss. In the other hand we are happy to hear you enjoyed our large swimming pool surrounding by tropical gardens. Thank you once again for your comments, we hope to see back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Today we left the Rio Mar Resort after spending one night there. Great hotel situated on the bank of the Barù River near the town of Dominical. The hotel has a helpful bilingual staff and good restaurant. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Second day of my Relocation/Retirement tour

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Christophe H.

Thank you for taking time to write this comment. We are very happy to see you once again. Very glad you enjoyed a relaxing time in our hotel.

See you next time!

Villas Rio Mar staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Vito, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Thanks alot to the staff of Villas Rio Mar Hotel, for the excellent service, the food was delicious, beautiful rooms and finally a landscape to relax. Our weekend was unforgettable
An excellent option to share with family and friends, is a safe and quiet place, surrounded by nature.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEsquivel, Guest Relations Manager at Villas Rio Mar, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing such a nice comments. We are very happy to hear that your family and friends had an unforgotten weekend in Villas Rio Mar. We hope to see back soon.

Best regards,

Villas Rio Mar staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Rio Mar

Address: 800 meters northeast of the Dominical entrance | along the Baru river side, Dominical 1645-2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Rio Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique style 3 star hotel is set on the banks of the Barú river, located 800 mtrs from the beach and surrounded by impressive tropical forests, the jungle resort Villas Rio Mar awaits you with the traditional Costa Rican friendly hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rio Mar Hotel Dominical
Hotel Rio Mar
Rio Mar Hotel
Villas Rio Mar Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Rio Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.