We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tierra Divina

Save Saved
You added La Tierra Divina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Tierra Divina
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Escaleras, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Dominical B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Your own private paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Becky and Troy (and Marvin also) are great hosts here. Rooms are new, compfy, and plenty of hot water in the beautiful shower. They have a nice pool for cooling off. The ocean view room has an amazing view of the ocean, while the two jungle rooms offer privacy. As another person wrote, the breakfast is very good! We were lucky enough to have Becky's spaghetti dinner and a great fish dinner across the street at Burt's. I would recommend staying here for a few days if you are in Dominical, and a private tip, have Marvin take you on a horseback ride to the big waterfall. Thanks Becky and Troy and Marvin for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My friend and I chose the area around Dominical to hang out in for several days. We opted for La Tierra Divina over staying down in town and are soooo glad we did! It is a special place up the mountainside with ocean views and privacy. But the best part is the sights and sounds of the surrounding jungle. I sat in the lovely pool with binoculars and watched birds: chestnut-mandibled toucans, fiery-billed aracaris, numerous flycatchers and hummingbirds, a hawk or two, and more. The cabinas are lovely and comfortable, and the breakfasts alone are worth the stay. You can opt for dinner up the road at Burt's place (have Becky call or score some of her killer pasta sauce). Becky and Troy are attentive hosts and have created a magical place with sensitivity to its surroundings. There are several good beaches close by (our favs were Las Ventanas and Marina Ballenas) and Manual Antonio Park is an hour drive making this B & B an excellent home base for this part of Costa Rica's Pacific coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Troy and Becky are wonderful hosts and take care of your every need. Breakfast this morning was tropical fruit crepes and delivered to our patio. There place is brand new and designed with privacy in mind. Very Comfortable with view great views of the ocean.

Worth the steep climb up the mountain side. Nice pool and grounds. Saw a Scarlet Macaw and Chesnut Billed Toucan. The Howler Monkeys travel all over the property and up the mountain side.

Room Tip: You have access to several nice beaches near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our time at La Tierra Divina was exactly like the name: Divine!! The views from this property are amazing. We got to see the jungle and the ocean all at the same time! We were only minutes from being on the sandy beach, which we really liked. We really enjoyed having our own private “cabina” which had its own bathroom and little porch overlooking the ocean, as well as parts of the lush greens of the jungle. We even saw several monkeys! Our hosts were incredible and really made our time there so comfortable and relaxed. We had breakfast every morning on our patio, listening to the birds and animals in nature while we were eating yummy crepes, banana pancakes (OMG yum!) and fresh fruit. Costa Rican coffee is also very good! During the days, we went into town and did the typical tourist stuff and then came back to a comfy bed and relaxed listening to the sounds of the monkeys howling and birds chirping. We had a TV with cable, but we really enjoyed listening to nature more than watching TV. We had a fabulous time and we can’t wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view cabina!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got back from a four night stay at La Tierra Divina, and our time there was amazing. The pictures on the web do not do it justice. We don’t usually stay at B&B’s because we don’t like the shared quarters or bathrooms that most offer; however, at this B&B we had our own cabina with private bathroom and patio. First, breakfast was delicious. Each morning was something completely different, we had: banana pancakes, strawberry crepes, French toast, and fresh fruit and hot coffee came with our breakfast every morning. The hosts were also wonderful. They were a young couple who were extremely friendly and made every effort to make sure we were happy with our stay. We stayed at the B&B one evening to watch the awesome sunset views over the ocean, and we didn’t feel like going back to town to eat, so they made us a delicious dinner of spaghetti with homemade sauce. I have never had a more delicious sauce in my life.

Each morning we woke up to the singing of the toucans, and the roar of the howler monkeys. We went back to our cabina one afternoon to pick up some things, and were delighted to see a family of howler monkeys crossing through the trees above our cabina. Our cabina also had satellite tv, and although we usually don’t watch much tv on vacation, it was nice to come back after a long day of being out, and just curling up in bed to watch a movie.

We will never forget our experiences in Costa Rica, especially our stay at La Tierra Divina. We can’t wait for our next vacation there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Tierra Divina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tierra Divina

Address: Escaleras, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tierra Divina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tierra Divina is one of the most exquisite places to stay in the south pacific region of Costa Rica. Unlike most B&B's, La Tierra Divina is unique in that it offers separate, round shaped cabinas in which you will enjoy the privacy and beauty of nature that envelopes the property. You will also enjoy the daily gourmet breakfast that is served on your private balcony each morning. We are located about 3 hours from San Jose, and only minutes from the beach. There are two different types of cabinas to choose from. The first one is our Ocean View Cabina which offers 360° views. You can see all the way to Manuel Antonio, as well as the never ending horizon across the beautiful Pacific ocean. It also provides magnificent views of the immense, dramatic jungle behind the property. The amenities of this cabina include a king size bed, flat screen LED TV with satellite, Wi-Fi, ceiling fans, an in-room safe, private bathroom with hot water, as well as a small kitchenette which features a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. The second type of cabina is the Jungle Immersion Cabina. There are two of these cabinas available, and they allow you to be surrounded by all of the elements of the natural jungle. You can hear the sound of the babbling quebrada (creek), while at the same time experience the spectacular view of the monkeys and toucans as they soar in the tree tops above. The amenities of this cabina include a queen size bed, flat screen LED TV with satellite, Wi-Fi, ceiling fans, an in-room safe, private bathroom with hot water, as well as a small kitchenette which features a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Tierra Divina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tierra Divina Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tierra Divina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.