We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Change of Pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ConFusione

ConFusione
Dominical, Puntarenas, Dominical, Costa Rica
+506 2787-0244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 39 Restaurants in Dominical
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Delicious tapas - based on Italian, Spanish, French, Dutch, Vietnamese and Indonesian food or you can order a pasta or meat entree. Very nice wine selection. Very relaxed atmosphere with elegantly cooked food.
Americus, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Change of Pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

ConFusione came recommended to us by friends who are Dominical locals, and it did not disappoint. The dining room is open-air seating - just like everywhere else in town - but with a little more "upscale" feeling to it. Nice tile floor and plenty of ceiling fans, tables set with candles, and a nice bar to the side.

I had the "Pasta con Camarones y Porcine" which is a pasta and shrimp dish that was served with a Parmesan cream sauce, and it was delicious. The bread beforehand was also so good we almost filled up before our meal.

It is tucked away on a side street a short distance away (500+/- yards) from the heart of Dominical, so you have to be very intentional when you go looking for it. Drive until you see "The Refuge" and then take a left onto what looks like a narrow alley before the building.

You may even see a few stray cats looking for table scraps, but they are friendly and not too pushy. Overall an enjoyable experience with good food and a good atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary cuisine in a remote surfer beach in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I visit the Hotel Domilocos whenever I am in the area -- perhaps 4x/ yr. and have been doing so for the past 6 yrs. I have found their European chef produces cuisine as fine as any upscale restaurant in Montreal or New York -- a pleasant surprize in a remote location. Tapas (smaller portions) allow for variety and their flaming deserts add atmosphere to the evening. The decor is tasteful and Michael and his staff have been a welcome experience in this remote and rough surfer beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Frozen pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been to ConFusione a handful of times. Most of the time the food was okay. The last time we ate there we asked for pizza but did not serve on that night. The waiter said he would make us a pizza! The pizza was a frozen pizza which was burnt on the bottom. We were very disapointed. We will think twice about eating here again concerning the price of the food!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We first stayed at the DiuWak hotel. Dishonest staff ripped us off the first night we were there. First they promised that breakfast was included in rate. Next morning after breakfast they tell us that the breakfast was not included. Felt completely ripped off. Will never stay there again. Then we moved to Hotel
Domilocos with great staff and honest staff. Room is identical quality to DiuWak for less than half of the price. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We very much enjoyed out meal at ConFusione while staying at Hotel Domilocos. The food was very good, though not exceptional, and the service was very good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ConFusione also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to ConFusione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ConFusione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.