We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place. Nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacific Edge
Save Saved
You added Pacific Edge to your Saves list
Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Dominical B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful Place. Nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but I was looking for this place to suggest to a friend and saw a really negative review. I was surprised. I have stayed there a couple of times and had great experiences both times.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were here for a wedding in Dominical Thanksgiving weekend. This was just an OK place to stay. Great Views, but that was about it. No air-conditioning, way too humid and hot to be without air-conditioning, even in late November. Parking was very difficult and burdensome. You had to open a locked metal gate, pull your car into one of only 4 available spots usually blocking someone else in. You have to then close and lock the gate and leave your keys at the usually unattended front desk. Little privacy in your room. It is about 3 steep miles from the nearest beach. You have to have a 4 wheel drive to stay here. The bungalow was clean, but not particularly confortable, and the layout was poor. While there we checked out a tremendous amount of accomodations, and we would have preferred to stay elsewhere. WiFi not available after 8 pm when the owners just turn it off because they don't want people hanging out in the lounge area. WiFi not available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happynites, Owner at Pacific Edge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our 4 cabins are all very open, with screening on all the windows, allowing a nice breeze to come through. There are windows on all 4 walls, except the bathroom area. This provides vistas of the wonderful tropical forest alive with wildlife, and also the amazing beach view. The apex of where the wall meets the roof is also screened for good ventilation. This open living layout of the cabin is not designed for air-conditioning, however there are efficient ceiling fans, If we were to glass in all the windows, we would lose the beauty and feel of living close to nature. For privacy, there are easy-pull curtains on all of the windows. We are a small eco lodge and the parking area does hold 4 cars, but with 2 parking behind others. We, the owners, do shift the vehicles around for our guests at any hour, similar to a valet parking service. The reception area is where the guests leave their keys. There is no reason for this area to be attended 24 hours a day, as we live on the property and are in our house located just a few feet away. We are not a large chain hotel. If people need to get out, they can call to us and we will shift the cars around for them. For your security we are gated. The gate is never locked with a lock, but merely kept closed with a pull latch-that you do need to get out of your car and open and close it yourselves if we should not happen to be there at the time. We are 1 mile up a steep road and as our website states, you do need a 4 wheel drive vehicle. The Wi-Fi, is free from 7am to 8pm, if it is needed outside of those times, we will leave it on longer, for a reasonable fee, (the same as many hotels), if the guests let us know. The reason for this schedule is because the reception area is located very close to two of the cabins, and people want to use Skype, forgetting that not everyone wants to listen to their conversations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just got back from a wonderful vacation to Costa Rica with friends including a 6 night stay at Pacific Edge. This place is almost beyond words! The view is breathtaking, overlooking both the jungle and the ocean. The cabins are all very well-constructed, clean, and cute - all right in the middle of the jungle. We stayed in the bungalow and really appreciated the extra space to cook our own food in the evenings. There were some insects but it was not a nuisance. George and Susie were very helpful and the other guests were a pleasure - they seem to attract friendly and interesting people here. If you are looking to party, this is not the place, but if you are looking for a natural jungle experience in a clean and safe environment, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived right around sunset and the view was so spectacular it took my breath away. They have a wonderful deck from which you can see the jungle canopy and the beach below. There are also a couple towers you can sit in if you want to be a little more secluded.

The cabin we stayed in was very nice. It was fun to sit inside after dark with the outside porch light on - we got a fantastic insect show. The giant moths and the praying mantises were especially spectacular. Every morning, we woke up to howler monkeys announcing the dawn. The toucans and hummingbirds and butterflies were also a big treat. One of the things that makes this place so wonderful is that when you're all worn out from the surfing and the hiking and the sun, staying "home" for a day doesn't feel like you're wasting one of your precious days in Costa Rica; it feels like you're spending one of your precious days relaxing and observing the monkeys and the birds and the butterflies.

I enjoyed having their 3 big dogs around (there are dogs everywhere in Costa Rica) since I was missing mine at home. I can see how that might not be everyone's cup of tea, but I thought they were charming.

We were a bit surprised to find that they turn the wifi off at night. Susie was very helpful with making arrangements for any activity we wanted that required reservations. George gave us a great recommendation for which surf shop/school to go to for board rentals and lessons. I will definitely stay here again next time I go to Dominical.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day vacation to costa rica which included a four night stay at PacificEdge. it was the most wonderful place to stay. the cabins are spotless comfortable camping cabins. the view is beyond compare. Susie and George are most helpful and accommodating hosts. we say the flight of a toucan in the morning over the jungle canopy below and had our own howler monkey 5am wake up call. I highly recommend this fabulous spot.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

First off I would like to thank George and Susie for the hospitality!! The cabins are spotless... And yes there are some bug folks its Costa Rica... They don't kill everything like in the USA! The food was great. There knowledge of the local area is exceptional! The cleaning lady cleaned our place everyday. The dogs are fantastic. If you are staying here you NEED a 4 by 4! It's a list the road is steep and all rocks! Some reviews peg Susie are brash... She is a great women. Friendly and dry! I have been in the Hotel/Resturant business for 14 years. I would highly recommend this stay... If you want resort style living where you are waited on hand and foot... Stay in the states. Costa Rica is an adventure and its not for everyone! Safe travels!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we have stayed here every time we come to costa rica on our way to the Osa. This is true relaxing of a special kind. An amazing view, gorgeous well equipped cabinas of different sizes, a tranquil pool ,delicious food and perfect hosts. what more could you want ? wildlife, sunsets, tranquility? all there.
all the cabinas are well designed and decorated and equipped so that you can cook up a quick meal , make your own coffee and keep cool drinks in the fridge. each cabina has at least one hammock and comfy chair on the deck which gives you a view all the way up the coast past domincal. we offically relax when we arrive here and often wish we were staying longer as there is plenty to see and do around here.
we recommend this place to all our friends but do note that it is not suitable for small children though check with george and susie as this may have changed.
also - evening meals are to order and susie is a great cook. wine and beer available too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge

Address: Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a finger ridge 600 feet above the sea, perched on an all around drop off. One sided a incredible white water ocean view with fantastic sunsets. On the other side a densely wooded primary rain forest, alive with the cry of howler monkeys and toucans. Pacific edge is designed for the 'eco-minded guest' seeking an imaginative escape in an environment that is both picturesque and unspoiled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Edge Hotel Dominical
Pacific Edge Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.