We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacific Edge
Save
You added Pacific Edge to your Saves list
Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Dominical B&B and Inns
West Covina, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just got back from a wonderful vacation to Costa Rica with friends including a 6 night stay at Pacific Edge. This place is almost beyond words! The view is breathtaking, overlooking both the jungle and the ocean. The cabins are all very well-constructed, clean, and cute - all right in the middle of the jungle. We stayed in the bungalow and really appreciated the extra space to cook our own food in the evenings. There were some insects but it was not a nuisance. George and Susie were very helpful and the other guests were a pleasure - they seem to attract friendly and interesting people here. If you are looking to party, this is not the place, but if you are looking for a natural jungle experience in a clean and safe environment, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We arrived right around sunset and the view was so spectacular it took my breath away. They have a wonderful deck from which you can see the jungle canopy and the beach below. There are also a couple towers you can sit in if you want to be a little more secluded.

The cabin we stayed in was very nice. It was fun to sit inside after dark with the outside porch light on - we got a fantastic insect show. The giant moths and the praying mantises were especially spectacular. Every morning, we woke up to howler monkeys announcing the dawn. The toucans and hummingbirds and butterflies were also a big treat. One of the things that makes this place so wonderful is that when you're all worn out from the surfing and the hiking and the sun, staying "home" for a day doesn't feel like you're wasting one of your precious days in Costa Rica; it feels like you're spending one of your precious days relaxing and observing the monkeys and the birds and the butterflies.

I enjoyed having their 3 big dogs around (there are dogs everywhere in Costa Rica) since I was missing mine at home. I can see how that might not be everyone's cup of tea, but I thought they were charming.

We were a bit surprised to find that they turn the wifi off at night. Susie was very helpful with making arrangements for any activity we wanted that required reservations. George gave us a great recommendation for which surf shop/school to go to for board rentals and lessons. I will definitely stay here again next time I go to Dominical.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day vacation to costa rica which included a four night stay at PacificEdge. it was the most wonderful place to stay. the cabins are spotless comfortable camping cabins. the view is beyond compare. Susie and George are most helpful and accommodating hosts. we say the flight of a toucan in the morning over the jungle canopy below and had our own howler monkey 5am wake up call. I highly recommend this fabulous spot.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

First off I would like to thank George and Susie for the hospitality!! The cabins are spotless... And yes there are some bug folks its Costa Rica... They don't kill everything like in the USA! The food was great. There knowledge of the local area is exceptional! The cleaning lady cleaned our place everyday. The dogs are fantastic. If you are staying here you NEED a 4 by 4! It's a list the road is steep and all rocks! Some reviews peg Susie are brash... She is a great women. Friendly and dry! I have been in the Hotel/Resturant business for 14 years. I would highly recommend this stay... If you want resort style living where you are waited on hand and foot... Stay in the states. Costa Rica is an adventure and its not for everyone! Safe travels!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we have stayed here every time we come to costa rica on our way to the Osa. This is true relaxing of a special kind. An amazing view, gorgeous well equipped cabinas of different sizes, a tranquil pool ,delicious food and perfect hosts. what more could you want ? wildlife, sunsets, tranquility? all there.
all the cabinas are well designed and decorated and equipped so that you can cook up a quick meal , make your own coffee and keep cool drinks in the fridge. each cabina has at least one hammock and comfy chair on the deck which gives you a view all the way up the coast past domincal. we offically relax when we arrive here and often wish we were staying longer as there is plenty to see and do around here.
we recommend this place to all our friends but do note that it is not suitable for small children though check with george and susie as this may have changed.
also - evening meals are to order and susie is a great cook. wine and beer available too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel with breathtaking views, very nice cabins, is safe, clean and comfortable, with a really nice pool overlooking the ocean. Great place if you like peace and solitude and have a car to get around, as it is very secluded.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just awesome!
The place is very effectively run by George and Susan. The location is very nice and you MUST have a 4x4 to reach up the steep 1Km road.
Rooms are very spacious, clean and unique.
Breakfast is not included in the price but Suzie can prepare something from the menu.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Edge

Address: Km. #148, Playa Dominicalito, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a finger ridge 600 feet above the sea, perched on an all around drop off. One sided a incredible white water ocean view with fantastic sunsets. On the other side a densely wooded primary rain forest, alive with the cry of howler monkeys and toucans. Pacific edge is designed for the 'eco-minded guest' seeking an imaginative escape in an environment that is both picturesque and unspoiled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pacific Edge Hotel Dominical
Pacific Edge Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.