We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the chaos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diuwak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Diuwak to your Saves list
Hotel Diuwak
Across From the Ice Office, Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
“Oasis in the chaos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Considering the cramped, small size of Dominical, Hotel Diuwak felt like a spacious garden in the middle of chaos. We wanted to be near the beach and beach-front restaurants, which we were. Our room was adequate--The bathroom was spacious, water in the shower was hot, and the bedding was colorful and new. However, the room was so small that we had to move our beds to open the door. A/C worked fine in our room. Our kids had to change rooms because theirs did not. Their new room was large enough to open the door, but the bathroom was much smaller, and definitely from an older remodel.
The pool was nice, however the back bar was closed, so there was no pool-side service. The Sunday before Christmas, when a lot of new tourists were arriving, their pool was closed for cleaning.
Unfortunately, almost all of the rooms were empty, so I imagine that's why the bar was closed. There was a lackluster restaurant where we could get coffee and beers throughout the day. We tried the free breakfast one time, and it wasn't good enough to bring us back.
All in all, I would stay there again. Their staff was friendly and helpful. Be forewarned that no one there speaks English, other than Marlin, the waiter who helped me with my reservation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    17
    14
    15
See reviews for
19
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked Hotel Diuwak despite reading some negative reviews, we enjoyed our stay but there are defintely some negatives. Firstly the rooms are outdated and could do with being modernised, our room seemed too small for a double and single bed - with suitcases too we had very little space to move. The pool is lovely but the pool area is bland and not well monitored, there was cigarette butts and empty beers cans on the ground. One big negative for me was the breakfast, you are given a menu to make a choice but then you are only allowed one of 3 things from the larger menu - or else you pay for it. The breakfast I ordered could only be described a measly - a tiny portion of scrambled egg and 1 slice of toast, when I asked for extra toast I got 1 more slice .... for 2 people ! The staff took away our plates as we chewed out last mouthful and it was all very rushed. The next day we decided to give it a miss and pay for a decent, relaxed breakfast elsewhere.

On the positive side the staff are friendly, they were mostly very young and seemed to be in training but they were helpful and attentive. The AC is the room was excellant and a welcome relief from the heat. The location is also good and is quiet - but then so is Dominical in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was travelling on my own and found this hotel a restful retreat after having had an intruder in my room in the previous hostel I had stayed in. The manager went out of his way to make phonecalls on my behalf when pickups were late and to ensure that all was good for me. The room was good with fan and aircon, also hot water in the shower, and was clean and comfortable. The gardens were lovely, and having computers with skype set up really useful. The location was fine being able to walk to the village and in a good position to participate in local tours. The only poor facilty was the diningroom where the evening meals were mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We checked in and the receptionist promised us that the rate we were given would include breakfast. The next morning we had an average breakfast. At the end of our meal, the waiter asked us for a breakfast ticket which should have been given to us by the receptionist. I went back to the receptionist to inquire about the breakfast ticket and at that point he tells us that the rate given did not include breakfast. False promises, below average room for the price paid. Staff was dishonest and pretty much ripped us off. Will never stay there again and definitely you can find better places with a more honest staff. We than moved to the hotel Domilocos around the corner. Great and honest staff, room quality identical for less than half of the price. Definitely recommend Domilocos as an alternative in the same location.

Room Tip: Go to Domilocos hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Had a fantastic stay here, staff was super helpful (I kept locking myself out of my hotel room) and very friendly. The place was peaceful with plenty of monitor lizards around and some well kept gardens.
This place is located at the more southern part of "main street" Dominical and only about a 2 minute (if that) walk to the beach. You can't beat this beach, just watch the undertow.
Be sure to check out Green Iguana Surf School they are THE best with some really great instructors.

Room Tip: All rooms are spatious and well cleaned, to me you shouldn't be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolville, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, A little pricey, but probably the best place in this area to stay. The staff was very nice - my traveling buddy got sick - they postponed cleaning the room til he was better, the breakfast buffet guys fixed him a 'to go' container and sent tea / tea cups with me to the room for him. The location was awesome - a short walk to the beach. The grounds were lovely, the pool looked great (but we did not get to swim). WiFi was a litle iffy at times, but generally OK. The TV had some English speaking channels (something you notice if you are stuck in the room due to illness). It was very secure. The room did not really have a view - looked out at a tiny garden and the back of another building. The AC worked well, although there were power outages every night we were there (short ones, though). Parking was close by and secure. There was a fridge and a coffee maker but you had to buy the coffee at the front desk for $2 / packet. The thing that really stopped me from giving this hotel a perfect 5 was the lack of hot water - it is advertised as 'hot' but I think calling it even lukewarm would be fraudulent! However, the pressure was great. If you don't mind a cold / cool shower, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We arrived to Diuwak hotel since it is part of my program with EF Tours.
Upon arrival the staff was more than ready to help us with lunch and in accomodating the rooms to 43 people in record time. Must say that the personnel there work truly hard to please us in every which way that they could including breakfast at 5:30 in the morning so as to be in Manuel Antonio National Park at 7 in the morning. The memories that were left there are indeleble. Something that it will never be forgotten.
Muchas Gracias from a Naturalist tour guide, Carlos Mora

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diuwak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diuwak

Address: Across From the Ice Office, Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DiuwakDiuwak , from the Bri -Bri indigenous language in Castilian means " People of the Sun " .The Diuwak hotel is an oasis located in Dominical along the southern Pacific Coast of Costa Rica beach. The hotel is just 50 meters from the beach . The hotel has 36 comfortable rooms , including 5 suites and 6 fully equipped bungalowsThe Diuwak hotel has beautiful gardens and is the only hotel in the area with planters bio creating the perfect atmosphere in the green landscape. As part of the lovely natural landscaping is Tilapia pond surrounded by traditional figures and a small bridge, making it ideal for finding tranquility.Hotel facilities include a magnificent Diuwak pool with night lighting , plus the Tulu Restaurant, the restaurant offers delicious international dishes, the restaurant is known for having the best pizza in the area. The hotel how much a circuit cable television , car rentals , surf lessons , tours and countless options .See you soon at Hotel Diuwak , an experience you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Diuwak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diuwak Hotel Dominical
Hotel Diuwak Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diuwak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.