We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Baru

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hacienda Baru to your Saves list
Hacienda Baru
3 Km North of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Highly recommend a tour (we did a hiking tour). You don't have to tour to see wildlife here but you'll see more and know where to look later when on your own. Staff were very helpful and spoke enough English. Because of the second bed in the room we had plenty of space. Ceiling fan and open windows were adequate for cooling and sleeping comfortably despite high humidity. The cicadas outside will probably wake you up; we didn't mind since morning was a pleasant time to be out and about. Reasonable prices in the restaurant and great margaritas. The red wine however had possibly been kept too warm for too long.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Hello Serena,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, especially the hiking tour, because that is exactly what we want for you and our visitors. We will check on the red wine and find a cooler spot to keep it. We hope to see you again soon, probably for a zip-line tour and a nice glass of wine afterwards.

Best wishes

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at Hacienda Baru for 3 days. I could easily have stayed here for at least a week as this was one of my favorite places during our trip. Not only was our cabin very comfortable (it has 2 rooms equipped with a fridge and cofffeemaker in addition to a stove), the trails and grounds were fabulous. We walked along all their trails and saw lots of birds, including toucans, wood rails, blue crowned motmots, orange chinned parakeets, cherries tanagers, and a potoo. We also came across a group of capuchins and watched them for about 30 minutes--such a fun experience! We hired a guide one day and he was extremely knowledgable and pointed out several things we would have missed, including the potoo and sloth. He was one of the better guides during our entire trip.

We ate at the restuarant for all our meals (except breakfast that was brought to us for our guided hike) and the meals were great. The fruit shakes are not to be missed! I'm also happy I waited to buy my souvenirs at the Cacao Monkey gift shop next to the reception. Not only were things hand crafted, but they had a great selection and were very reasonable. I bought several of the painted feathers in frames which made wonderful gifts.

If you're a walker/hiker, take advantage of the PowerAid available in the cooler in the reception area (have to purchase). I found out the hard way that even though I drank lots of water, my salt balance got out of whack from sweating so much and my feet and hands swelled up pretty painfully. Once I drank the PowerAid, things went back to normal. We bought several bottles after that and kept them in the freezer in the room so that they'd still be a bit cold when we put them in our packs during a walk.

All in all, I loved this place and will definitely come back again to take advantage of all the birds and wildlife on their grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glaciersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Hello glaciersea,

Thank you for your fantastic remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed wildlife to the fullest in our National Wildlife Refuge & Lodge.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolf
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First of all , full disclosure, this fantastic resort is operated by my wife's cousin and her husband, neither of whom she had met until our trip to Costa Rica. This former ranch has been allowed to revert back to its natural state and is now a top notch tourist destination. They have also been instrumental in getting the government to build wildlife corridors under and over the highway which separates the coastal jungle from the higher jungle in the hills. Several times during our visit we saw the monkeys using the overhead bridges to safely cross the highway. They have wildlife cameras set up in the tunnels to monitor the animal traffic which you can see if you go their website.

Many people stay nearby in Domincal and come here for day trips but I would recommend staying here for several days so that you can also enjoy staying in the bungalows, enjoying the pool and grounds as well as the restaurant. We did an overnight in the jungle at their remote camp high up in the primary growth jungle which we really enjoyed. We found a baby sloth that had fallen out of the trees which our guide, Pedro, helped out by putting it back in a tree near to where it's mother was. Pedro was a very good guide and showed us all kinds of birds along the trail to the camp which we would have never spotted on our own.

Room Tip: Highly recommend doing the overnight trip to the remote jungle camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Hello Roy,

thank you for your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you had an excellent night in the jungle. We transfered your feedback to Pedro, who was very happy about it. We hope to see you soon here in Costa Rica.

Best wishes

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is an excellent place for people wanting to see birds and animals and be in a comfortable, well designed setting.
We saw a three toed sloth, close enough to watch it reach (slowly) for food, saw enormous iguanas on the path to the restaurant, had monkeys play on our roof and saw many wonderful and exotic birds. In addition we had a beautiful beach within a 10 minute walk and a lovely pool just outside our door.
All this plus a butterfly house.
We took the night walk, saw, from a safe distance, a fer de lance snake, as well as countless frogs and insects that are not visible during the day

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room by the pool but there are larger cabins that can accommodate more people, not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volunteer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Hello Volunteer_11,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 days in Sept 2013 and have no negatives to talk about. Comfortable, clean room (near the pool), good food at the restaurant, excellent trail system. We didn't hire any of the guides, as wildlife photographers we have spent a good deal of time in Costa Rica. Lots of wildlife, Peccary on the trail, Humpback Whales literally just off the beach and baby Olive Riddley Turtles just hatched in the turttle nursery and released on the beach. The last morning before our dash to San Jose we decided for an early last hike when we were told, in spanish, that the just hatched turtles were being released, what a great experience! With Dominical just down the road, this isn't Paradise, just damned close. And easy to get to if you are driving, back in 1992 it took an hour to drive from Quepos to Dominical, mud and 2nd gear all the way.

Room Tip: Didn't compare various rooms but ours near the pool was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phototraveler81223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello phototraveler81223,

thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come back soon to take more photos of the beautiful wildlife of Costa Rica.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was one of the highlight of my trip, a grandiose property right on the ocean, rain forest, mangrove, beach and canopy forest in one place !!! The hotel is very eco-friendly and fun, the location is wonderful...in half a day we stay there we saw : macaws, toucans, monkeys, lots of monkeys, basilisks, coatis, fresh water box-turtle (i think) and the hatchlings of olive ridley turtle (monitored by volunteers, who called us during a walk on the beach), this was at sunset, an incredible experience and worth the stay... the forest is pristine, the trails well kept and the wildlife is every where....and if you are a beach lover, Dominical is just magnificent, not to miss

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irrawady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello irrawady,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

we "just" did the walking without guide tour through the wonderful grounds of Hacienda Baru.
We started with the orchid garden where we were already greeted by numerous monkeys !!!
then had a look at the butterfly garden...soooooooo beautiful and you can take endless close ups on them.
After that we explored all these wonderful trails like : Pizote, Lookout, Strangler, Teak & Canal etc.
There is so much beauty to see & it actually felt like in the movie Avatar.
We got our information beforehand by Jack Ewing's book : Monkeys are made of chocolate, highly recommendable !
We ended our fabolous adventure in nature at the beach & could not have been more delighted!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank flamboyanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello flamboyanta,

thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed reading my book. The fact, that you mention, that you could not have been more delighted with your stay means a lot to us. Because that is exactly what we exactly want for you and our visitors. We would be happy to see you soon again in our beautiful national refuge.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.6 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#6 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#2 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
6.4 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#13 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Address: 3 Km North of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is located at the entrance to Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge which protects 330 hectares (815 acres) of tropical forest, wetlands, mangrove and 3 kilometers of pristine Baru Beach. The refuge offers seven kilometers of well marked nature trails and a bird watching tower for a modest entrance fee. Guided tours with sharp-eyed local guides include two different types of canopy tours, five hiking tours, a camping tour and three bird watching tours. Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge & Lodge is situated on Costa Rica's Southern Pacific Coast. This is a region of distinct natural beauty where forest covered mountains rise up from the dramatic Pacific coastline. The village of Dominical is just 3 km from Hacienda Baru located. Hacienda Baru Ecolodge's bungalow style cabins are large and roomy. Each one has two bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with one double and one twin bed. Each bungalow has a bathroom with hot water shower, living room, porch, and kitchenette. For your convenience, they come equipped with fridge, coffee maker, hot plate and fans in all the rooms. They are ideal for families. In addition to the cabins, Hacienda Baru Ecolodge is now offering six new Pool View Guest Rooms. Each of these superior units has a large bathroom, a porch and ample space for beds and other furniture. Each will normally have a king size bed and a twin bed , but they can be equipped with up to four twin beds. Each has a frige and coffee maker as well. The attractive tile roofing is made from recycled plastic bags. A well ventilated design, insulation between the roofing and the polished teak ceiling, and overhead fans all insure cool comfort for our guests. All of the teak and gmelina wood used in the construction came from Hacienda Baru's own plantations. The wood for the pine beams and cypress furniture all came from plantations as well. Not a single piece of the wood used came from a natural forest. Solar heaters provide plenty of hot water for the bathrooms. The outside walls are slate and polished teak. The new guest rooms are conveniently located right in front of our new swimming pool. Our breezy open air restaurant allows you to observe the gardens and natural surroundings as you dine. We have five private ranchos for guests that want an intimate setting perhaps for a romantic candlelight dinner or a special family meal. Our menu is primarily very tasty typical Costa Rican food, but we do offer a variety of dishes for those who either don't like or want a break from rice and beans. We offer a selection Costa Rican fruit drinks known as FRESCOS meaning refreshing, soft drinks, a selection of Costa Rican beer, you must have heard of Imperial, wines and other licors. The swimming pool at Hacienda Baru Lodge is disinfected with ozone produced by an ozone generator which injects a constant flow of this eco-friendly gas into the water. This system of disinfection allows us to maintain a very low concentration of chlorine in the pool. The chlorine level is so slight that it is imperceptible to pool users. The swimming pool is open from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. Guests from both the cabins and guest rooms are welcome to use the pool during these hours. Bird Watching, Canopy Exploration and Ecological Tours are our specialty. Our bilingual grass roots naturalist guides will help you discover the wonders of the tropical rainforest, such as leaf cutter ants, the sleepy sloths and the nesting site of the Common Pootoo. On our tours you can experience everything from the Rainforest Canopy to Mangrove Swamps or the Jungle at Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Baru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing