We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing it the right way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Baru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Baru
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Baru to your Saves list
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ingolf
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Doing it the right way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First of all , full disclosure, this fantastic resort is operated by my wife's cousin and her husband, neither of whom she had met until our trip to Costa Rica. This former ranch has been allowed to revert back to its natural state and is now a top notch tourist destination. They have also been instrumental in getting the government to build wildlife corridors under and over the highway which separates the coastal jungle from the higher jungle in the hills. Several times during our visit we saw the monkeys using the overhead bridges to safely cross the highway. They have wildlife cameras set up in the tunnels to monitor the animal traffic which you can see if you go their website.

Many people stay nearby in Domincal and come here for day trips but I would recommend staying here for several days so that you can also enjoy staying in the bungalows, enjoying the pool and grounds as well as the restaurant. We did an overnight in the jungle at their remote camp high up in the primary growth jungle which we really enjoyed. We found a baby sloth that had fallen out of the trees which our guide, Pedro, helped out by putting it back in a tree near to where it's mother was. Pedro was a very good guide and showed us all kinds of birds along the trail to the camp which we would have never spotted on our own.

Room Tip: Highly recommend doing the overnight trip to the remote jungle camp
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    39
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is an excellent place for people wanting to see birds and animals and be in a comfortable, well designed setting.
We saw a three toed sloth, close enough to watch it reach (slowly) for food, saw enormous iguanas on the path to the restaurant, had monkeys play on our roof and saw many wonderful and exotic birds. In addition we had a beautiful beach within a 10 minute walk and a lovely pool just outside our door.
All this plus a butterfly house.
We took the night walk, saw, from a safe distance, a fer de lance snake, as well as countless frogs and insects that are not visible during the day

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room by the pool but there are larger cabins that can accommodate more people, not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 days in Sept 2013 and have no negatives to talk about. Comfortable, clean room (near the pool), good food at the restaurant, excellent trail system. We didn't hire any of the guides, as wildlife photographers we have spent a good deal of time in Costa Rica. Lots of wildlife, Peccary on the trail, Humpback Whales literally just off the beach and baby Olive Riddley Turtles just hatched in the turttle nursery and released on the beach. The last morning before our dash to San Jose we decided for an early last hike when we were told, in spanish, that the just hatched turtles were being released, what a great experience! With Dominical just down the road, this isn't Paradise, just damned close. And easy to get to if you are driving, back in 1992 it took an hour to drive from Quepos to Dominical, mud and 2nd gear all the way.

Room Tip: Didn't compare various rooms but ours near the pool was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was one of the highlight of my trip, a grandiose property right on the ocean, rain forest, mangrove, beach and canopy forest in one place !!! The hotel is very eco-friendly and fun, the location is wonderful...in half a day we stay there we saw : macaws, toucans, monkeys, lots of monkeys, basilisks, coatis, fresh water box-turtle (i think) and the hatchlings of olive ridley turtle (monitored by volunteers, who called us during a walk on the beach), this was at sunset, an incredible experience and worth the stay... the forest is pristine, the trails well kept and the wildlife is every where....and if you are a beach lover, Dominical is just magnificent, not to miss

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

we "just" did the walking without guide tour through the wonderful grounds of Hacienda Baru.
We started with the orchid garden where we were already greeted by numerous monkeys !!!
then had a look at the butterfly garden...soooooooo beautiful and you can take endless close ups on them.
After that we explored all these wonderful trails like : Pizote, Lookout, Strangler, Teak & Canal etc.
There is so much beauty to see & it actually felt like in the movie Avatar.
We got our information beforehand by Jack Ewing's book : Monkeys are made of chocolate, highly recommendable !
We ended our fabolous adventure in nature at the beach & could not have been more delighted!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

On our last day in Costa Rica I wanted to experience and support a private Eco-Lodge since we were in the vicinity of Dominical, decided to book a room at Hacienda Baru. I also read about the Path of the Tapir Biological Corridor straddles and connects some of the most biodiverse territory in all of Costa Rica and since we did not have time to go to Corcovado, decided this was the next best thing.
Right off the Costanera Sur highway 34 just north of Dominical Hacienda Barú's 330 hectares (815 acres) have a variety of habitats, from wetlands and secondary rainforests in the lowlands to primary rainforest on the highland coastal ridge. They have seven kilometers of walking trails and three kilometers of pristine beach are here to be explored as well as a small orchid garden and fascinating butterfly garden. Tours ranging from the Rainforest Canopy to Mangrove Swamps or the Jungle at Night available with bilingual guides although we did not chose to do any of these.
The reception was less than friendly and price of the room includes access to the trails, but not the mangrove, as I had been led to believe. We were given a room in the new 6 unit building near the pool that was very nice, spacious , clean and comfortable......EXCEPT the room has no air conditioning. Now perhaps they purposely decided to design the rooms with ceiling fans and ventilation points to reduce the energy consumption footprint but at $95 a night we really wanted a/c. Eventho it was the dry winter season with less humidity, temps and rain, it was still rather uncomfortably warm in the room even at night. The bed and mattress was fine although pillows insufficient. Pool was warm but still refreshing and very nice to spend time in.
We took one trail down to the beach and saw some interesting flora and birds...the highlight being a mating pair of Chestnut-mandibled Toucans. Quite a treat!
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it is served in a lovely open air thatched roof dining room, buffet style. Plenty of food even for a big guy like me and you are welcome to seconds. Enjoyed to Orchid and Butterfly gardens too.
Overall, I was disappointed with the lack of air conditioning, eventho I knew that was the situation and the trails being so close to the highway noise saddens me. Still it is worth supporting this preserve if you don't mind no a/c.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Really nice and quiet place. It is possible to see lot of animals and nature almost without tourists. The path for the excursion is easy and well explained. It gets you trough the forest up to the see in a awesome desert beach.
The restaurant is also good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Baru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.