We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw a three toed sloth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Baru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Baru
Save
You added Hacienda Baru to your Saves list
3 Km North of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Saw a three toed sloth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is an excellent place for people wanting to see birds and animals and be in a comfortable, well designed setting.
We saw a three toed sloth, close enough to watch it reach (slowly) for food, saw enormous iguanas on the path to the restaurant, had monkeys play on our roof and saw many wonderful and exotic birds. In addition we had a beautiful beach within a 10 minute walk and a lovely pool just outside our door.
All this plus a butterfly house.
We took the night walk, saw, from a safe distance, a fer de lance snake, as well as countless frogs and insects that are not visible during the day

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room by the pool but there are larger cabins that can accommodate more people, not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Hello Volunteer_11,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    48
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
67
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 days in Sept 2013 and have no negatives to talk about. Comfortable, clean room (near the pool), good food at the restaurant, excellent trail system. We didn't hire any of the guides, as wildlife photographers we have spent a good deal of time in Costa Rica. Lots of wildlife, Peccary on the trail, Humpback Whales literally just off the beach and baby Olive Riddley Turtles just hatched in the turttle nursery and released on the beach. The last morning before our dash to San Jose we decided for an early last hike when we were told, in spanish, that the just hatched turtles were being released, what a great experience! With Dominical just down the road, this isn't Paradise, just damned close. And easy to get to if you are driving, back in 1992 it took an hour to drive from Quepos to Dominical, mud and 2nd gear all the way.

Room Tip: Didn't compare various rooms but ours near the pool was quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello phototraveler81223,

thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you come back soon to take more photos of the beautiful wildlife of Costa Rica.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was one of the highlight of my trip, a grandiose property right on the ocean, rain forest, mangrove, beach and canopy forest in one place !!! The hotel is very eco-friendly and fun, the location is wonderful...in half a day we stay there we saw : macaws, toucans, monkeys, lots of monkeys, basilisks, coatis, fresh water box-turtle (i think) and the hatchlings of olive ridley turtle (monitored by volunteers, who called us during a walk on the beach), this was at sunset, an incredible experience and worth the stay... the forest is pristine, the trails well kept and the wildlife is every where....and if you are a beach lover, Dominical is just magnificent, not to miss

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello irrawady,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

we "just" did the walking without guide tour through the wonderful grounds of Hacienda Baru.
We started with the orchid garden where we were already greeted by numerous monkeys !!!
then had a look at the butterfly garden...soooooooo beautiful and you can take endless close ups on them.
After that we explored all these wonderful trails like : Pizote, Lookout, Strangler, Teak & Canal etc.
There is so much beauty to see & it actually felt like in the movie Avatar.
We got our information beforehand by Jack Ewing's book : Monkeys are made of chocolate, highly recommendable !
We ended our fabolous adventure in nature at the beach & could not have been more delighted!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdabaru, Manager at Hacienda Baru, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Hello flamboyanta,

thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed reading my book. The fact, that you mention, that you could not have been more delighted with your stay means a lot to us. Because that is exactly what we exactly want for you and our visitors. We would be happy to see you soon again in our beautiful national refuge.

Best regards

Jack Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

On our last day in Costa Rica I wanted to experience and support a private Eco-Lodge since we were in the vicinity of Dominical, decided to book a room at Hacienda Baru. I also read about the Path of the Tapir Biological Corridor straddles and connects some of the most biodiverse territory in all of Costa Rica and since we did not have time to go to Corcovado, decided this was the next best thing.
Right off the Costanera Sur highway 34 just north of Dominical Hacienda Barú's 330 hectares (815 acres) have a variety of habitats, from wetlands and secondary rainforests in the lowlands to primary rainforest on the highland coastal ridge. They have seven kilometers of walking trails and three kilometers of pristine beach are here to be explored as well as a small orchid garden and fascinating butterfly garden. Tours ranging from the Rainforest Canopy to Mangrove Swamps or the Jungle at Night available with bilingual guides although we did not chose to do any of these.
The reception was less than friendly and price of the room includes access to the trails, but not the mangrove, as I had been led to believe. We were given a room in the new 6 unit building near the pool that was very nice, spacious , clean and comfortable......EXCEPT the room has no air conditioning. Now perhaps they purposely decided to design the rooms with ceiling fans and ventilation points to reduce the energy consumption footprint but at $95 a night we really wanted a/c. Eventho it was the dry winter season with less humidity, temps and rain, it was still rather uncomfortably warm in the room even at night. The bed and mattress was fine although pillows insufficient. Pool was warm but still refreshing and very nice to spend time in.
We took one trail down to the beach and saw some interesting flora and birds...the highlight being a mating pair of Chestnut-mandibled Toucans. Quite a treat!
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and it is served in a lovely open air thatched roof dining room, buffet style. Plenty of food even for a big guy like me and you are welcome to seconds. Enjoyed to Orchid and Butterfly gardens too.
Overall, I was disappointed with the lack of air conditioning, eventho I knew that was the situation and the trails being so close to the highway noise saddens me. Still it is worth supporting this preserve if you don't mind no a/c.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Really nice and quiet place. It is possible to see lot of animals and nature almost without tourists. The path for the excursion is easy and well explained. It gets you trough the forest up to the see in a awesome desert beach.
The restaurant is also good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We came here for the zip lining with our two sons (3 and 5). They both loved it, so did my wife and I. Nice activity if you need a break from the sun and beach. On the hike up to the lines, the guides were really nice and made sure our kids got a few glimpses of sloths, bats, birds and also understood how the ant colony worked. And the ziplines were so much fun, great bang for the buck!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Address: 3 Km North of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is located at the entrance to Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge which protects 330 hectares (815 acres) of tropical forest, wetlands, mangrove and 3 kilometers of pristine Baru Beach. The refuge offers seven kilometers of well marked nature trails and a bird watching tower for a modest entrance fee. Guided tours with sharp-eyed local guides include two different types of canopy tours, five hiking tours, a camping tour and three bird watching tours. Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge & Lodge is situated on Costa Rica's Southern Pacific Coast. This is a region of distinct natural beauty where forest covered mountains rise up from the dramatic Pacific coastline. The village of Dominical is just 3 km from Hacienda Baru located. Hacienda Baru Ecolodge's bungalow style cabins are large and roomy. Each one has two bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with one double and one twin bed. Each bungalow has a bathroom with hot water shower, living room, porch, and kitchenette. For your convenience, they come equipped with fridge, coffee maker, hot plate and fans in all the rooms. They are ideal for families. In addition to the cabins, Hacienda Baru Ecolodge is now offering six new Pool View Guest Rooms. Each of these superior units has a large bathroom, a porch and ample space for beds and other furniture. Each will normally have a king size bed and a twin bed , but they can be equipped with up to four twin beds. Each has a frige and coffee maker as well. The attractive tile roofing is made from recycled plastic bags. A well ventilated design, insulation between the roofing and the polished teak ceiling, and overhead fans all insure cool comfort for our guests. All of the teak and gmelina wood used in the construction came from Hacienda Baru's own plantations. The wood for the pine beams and cypress furniture all came from plantations as well. Not a single piece of the wood used came from a natural forest. Solar heaters provide plenty of hot water for the bathrooms. The outside walls are slate and polished teak. The new guest rooms are conveniently located right in front of our new swimming pool. Our breezy open air restaurant allows you to observe the gardens and natural surroundings as you dine. We have five private ranchos for guests that want an intimate setting perhaps for a romantic candlelight dinner or a special family meal. Our menu is primarily very tasty typical Costa Rican food, but we do offer a variety of dishes for those who either don't like or want a break from rice and beans. We offer a selection Costa Rican fruit drinks known as FRESCOS meaning refreshing, soft drinks, a selection of Costa Rican beer, you must have heard of Imperial, wines and other licors. The swimming pool at Hacienda Baru Lodge is disinfected with ozone produced by an ozone generator which injects a constant flow of this eco-friendly gas into the water. This system of disinfection allows us to maintain a very low concentration of chlorine in the pool. The chlorine level is so slight that it is imperceptible to pool users. The swimming pool is open from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. Guests from both the cabins and guest rooms are welcome to use the pool during these hours. Bird Watching, Canopy Exploration and Ecological Tours are our specialty. Our bilingual grass roots naturalist guides will help you discover the wonders of the tropical rainforest, such as leaf cutter ants, the sleepy sloths and the nesting site of the Common Pootoo. On our tours you can experience everything from the Rainforest Canopy to Mangrove Swamps or the Jungle at Night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Baru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.