We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Baru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Baru
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

There are bungalows and rooms here. We stayed in a room which was comfortable,extremely spacious and well maintained, equipped and clean – the fridge was most welcome. The outside porch, which is screened was a particularly nice touch. The grounds here are extensive and there are several well signed tracks which you can walk in your own time at your own pace and observe the wildlife. We took one of their guided tours which was quite disappointing as the guide was clearly just doing a job and showed no real interest or enthusiasm in what he was doing. The restaurant was also a bit of a disappointment -breakfasts are very limited , not even fruit juice, and the dinner which was included in our accommodation package consisted of a main course only.
Just at the entrance there is a 24 hour garage which has a small shop attached. This proved very useful for snacks and drinks etc. While you are staying here visit Manuel Antonio Park –the wildlife is excellent and there are walks, nice beaches and safe swimming. However, you will need to survive the attentions of the numerous parking and guide touts first.

Room Tip: The rooms are all together by the pool and all identical as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    36
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

On the steamy Pacific coast, Baru is a delight. We stayed in a Superior room which looked out over the pool and gardens.The pool was probably hotter than most jacuzzis! The rooms are generous in size, have super strong showers and a huge fridge. The grounds here are lovingly maintained, and are a haven for birds and butterflies and Iguanas! The food in the restaurant is perfectly OK, not stunning, but you are really here for the guided birding, not the food (there are a selection of restaurants a few Kms away in Playa Dominical). The tours were fantastic, the guides are all very knowledgeable, true enthusiasts, with an easy manner and sense of humour. Hacienda Baru should be commended for providing such high quality people - we would have spotted very little without their help! This place definitely delivered more than it promised.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Baru for 5 nights in mid February and had a pleasant, relaxed experience. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. But, if you are interested in experiencing the rain forest, hiking, and searching out birds, this is the place. The rooms (more like attached cabins) are clean and comfortable. No A/C, but ceiling fans, bring your own toiletries, and a flash light for evening or a night hike. There are trails for self guided hikes, several hikes available with knowledgable local guides at 6:00 am (everyone should do at least one with a guide), and a zip line (Be aware of steep trails and steps to get to each platform.) all with no crowds to scare away wildlife. The meals at their restaurant were good. The pool was a nice place to cool down in the late afternoon before dinner. For a change of scenery, we took a taxi (about $2 dollars) to Dominical one afternoon, had lunch, and took in some surfer beach culture. Jack Ewing and his friendly staff do an excellent job of running this lodge and educating people on how the rain forest will regenerate if Mother Nature is left alone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We did two activities here in one day, the Pre-columbian hike (about 4 hours) and zip lining. Both were fun and fairly priced. We ate lunch at the cafe and it was great as well. We saw quite a bit of wildlife including the only hummingbird I saw during my week in Costa Rica. One of the other reviewers said the place was "unpretentious" and I would agree with that descriptor. Definitely worth a visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an excellent base to discover nature in this part of Costa Rica. The grounds are well kept, the cabins are spacious and clean and there is a good-sized pool to relax in at the end of the day. You can discover the impressive local wildlilfe within the grounds or within easy reach in the surrounding national parks (Manuel Antonia is a 45 min drive away). Tree climbing was an amazing way to experience the forest, slowly ascending up a 35m tree whilst the helpful guide shared his wide knowledge.
And in the evenings the restaurant offers simple but delicious regional food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hacienda Baru is a wonderful paradise in Costa Rica. We stayed there for six nights in January with two small children. We loved all the wonderful meals, the butterfly garden, and the natural setting. The cabins were spacious, the pool was clean, and the grounds were just beautiful. The private beach was amazing. We went ziplining right from the property, no driving. It is in a perfect location to drive to a number of tourist areas including Manuel Antonio and whale watching in Uvita. The staff were wonderful, it was such a nice scenic place to take our family. If you are looking for cabins and nature, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Select a cabin if possible, it is worth the extra money. None of the rooms have air conditioning, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been to Hacienda Baru twice for two week stays. Once as a couple's getaway and once as a family vacation. Both times we were treated like family. Jack Ewing is a most gracious host and saw to our every need personally. He checked with us every day to ensure that we were enjoying our trip. Both of our stays were in the green season, which I find to be the best time to visit Costa Rica, especially if you want a quiet, semi-private getaway, rather than a tourist flood. The grounds are exquisite, with a great many flora and fauna. The guides are knowledgeable and helpful, most are quite fluent in English and extremely patient with tourists' Spanglish. In fact, our children made fast friends with several of the staff, some of whom live on the property with their families. We were free to explore the entire spread of the property, enjoyed many guided excursions also and basically lived in our cabin as if it were our second home. Since the last time we visited, they have added some smaller rooms and a pool. The experiences we had there were outstanding and we plan to go there every time we visit beautiful Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The cabins, while somewhat rustic, are very comfortable and extremely accommodating for up to five o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Baru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Baru to your Saves list