We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“natural, unpretencious and calm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Baru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Baru
Save
You added Hacienda Baru to your Saves list
3 Km North of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“natural, unpretencious and calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an excellent base to discover nature in this part of Costa Rica. The grounds are well kept, the cabins are spacious and clean and there is a good-sized pool to relax in at the end of the day. You can discover the impressive local wildlilfe within the grounds or within easy reach in the surrounding national parks (Manuel Antonia is a 45 min drive away). Tree climbing was an amazing way to experience the forest, slowly ascending up a 35m tree whilst the helpful guide shared his wide knowledge.
And in the evenings the restaurant offers simple but delicious regional food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    51
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
87
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hacienda Baru is a wonderful paradise in Costa Rica. We stayed there for six nights in January with two small children. We loved all the wonderful meals, the butterfly garden, and the natural setting. The cabins were spacious, the pool was clean, and the grounds were just beautiful. The private beach was amazing. We went ziplining right from the property, no driving. It is in a perfect location to drive to a number of tourist areas including Manuel Antonio and whale watching in Uvita. The staff were wonderful, it was such a nice scenic place to take our family. If you are looking for cabins and nature, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Select a cabin if possible, it is worth the extra money. None of the rooms have air conditioning, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been to Hacienda Baru twice for two week stays. Once as a couple's getaway and once as a family vacation. Both times we were treated like family. Jack Ewing is a most gracious host and saw to our every need personally. He checked with us every day to ensure that we were enjoying our trip. Both of our stays were in the green season, which I find to be the best time to visit Costa Rica, especially if you want a quiet, semi-private getaway, rather than a tourist flood. The grounds are exquisite, with a great many flora and fauna. The guides are knowledgeable and helpful, most are quite fluent in English and extremely patient with tourists' Spanglish. In fact, our children made fast friends with several of the staff, some of whom live on the property with their families. We were free to explore the entire spread of the property, enjoyed many guided excursions also and basically lived in our cabin as if it were our second home. Since the last time we visited, they have added some smaller rooms and a pool. The experiences we had there were outstanding and we plan to go there every time we visit beautiful Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The cabins, while somewhat rustic, are very comfortable and extremely accommodating for up to five o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Baru for 9 nights in January. One of the highlights was the food prepared by Chef Roman. He has a talent for food art, including carving carrots to look like dolphins, butterflies and roses; one night he sent us a swan delicately carved from an apple. The setting is unpretentious and open to wildlife viewing, not the sort of place you'd expect food of this caliber. The cabins are rustic--just our style--and the wildlife on the trails is plentiful if you go slowly and quietly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. The cabins and out buildings are quite nice and made of local wood. Although there is no AC, the rooms are quite comfortable with excellent construction and ceiling fans. There was obviously great care and thought put into developing this complex. There is a great attention to detail. The pool is quite nice and well kept. The grounds and trails are every well maintained. The beach is pleasant and secluded. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was typical Tico fare, well prepared and plentiful fall. We saw many Toucans, Cherrie's tanager, and a great variety of other birds. On the trail I saw three Peccary, a sloth and number of lizards. Hacienda Baru is very close (couple of miles) to Dominical which has a number of good restaurants. Agreat place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've been to Hacienda Baru three times over my three separate trips to Costa Rica. This place is beautiful and holds some sort of magic. While most of the resorts and wildlife reserves in Costa Rica feel very generic or overused; this part of the country and this resort still feels secluded.

The accommodations are large and rustic with the exception of the new "luxury" cabins which are new and have ceiling fans/AC/modernized showers. We've always been satisfied in the older cabins as they are very large (two bedrooms, kitchen, living rooms). There is a swimming pool which is always nice for the afternoon or evening cool off. Hacienda Baru also has a restaurant/bar on the premises which serves some fantastic food and drinks.

From Hacienda Baru you can easily walk to the beach or hike through the jungle to the beach. You'll always be surprised by how empty it is. There have been many days at Hacienda Baru where it has been just my girlfriend and I sunning ourselves and swimming. The walks through the jungle are beautiful too as Hacienda Baru has both old growth and new growth rainforests. You can spot sloths, monkeys, toucans. The wildlife is still very active there.

Just south of Hacienda Baru is a small town the name of which escapes me. You can easily drive or walk to town. It's a somewhat sleepy surfer town but if you are there at the right time you can find a good party. There are a few good restaurants in the town, we tend to eat at the same one most nights it's the one with the giant camper van on the post in front.

Regarding Hacienda Baru's staff I can only say the best things. They are both polite and friendly and every time it's the same people. They remember you. The owner/manager Jack Ewing is a great guy and is more than happy to make suggestions as to what to see and what to do.

I plan on going back ASAP!
The only thing I would like to humbly request from Hacienda Baru...bring back your made to order breakfast! The buffet was nice but not as good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hacienda Baru is just off of the main highway south along the Pacific Coast. It was a functional cattle ranch that has been returned to a more natural state. The grounds are extensive and they have several trails that are good for general hiking as well as bird watching. The room that we had was well appointed, spacious and had a fridge in it. There is a market several kilometers south were you can pick up drinks etc. The restaurant is good but fairly expensive. The grounds around the rooms are very well maintained and alive with birds and sometimes monkeys. There is a small, but very pleasant swimming pool. The best birding trail is the one that goes through the teak plantation and then into the mangrove area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 12 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 12 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
6.4 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 12 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#8 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Address: 3 Km North of Dominical, Dominical, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is located at the entrance to Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge which protects 330 hectares (815 acres) of tropical forest, wetlands, mangrove and 3 kilometers of pristine Baru Beach. The refuge offers seven kilometers of well marked nature trails and a bird watching tower for a modest entrance fee. Guided tours with sharp-eyed local guides include two different types of canopy tours, five hiking tours, a camping tour and three bird watching tours. Hacienda Baru National Wildlife Refuge & Lodge is situated on Costa Rica's Southern Pacific Coast. This is a region of distinct natural beauty where forest covered mountains rise up from the dramatic Pacific coastline. The village of Dominical is just 3 km from Hacienda Baru located. Hacienda Baru Ecolodge's bungalow style cabins are large and roomy. Each one has two bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with one double and one twin bed. Each bungalow has a bathroom with hot water shower, living room, porch, and kitchenette. For your convenience, they come equipped with fridge, coffee maker, hot plate and fans in all the rooms. They are ideal for families. In addition to the cabins, Hacienda Baru Ecolodge is now offering six new Pool View Guest Rooms. Each of these superior units has a large bathroom, a porch and ample space for beds and other furniture. Each will normally have a king size bed and a twin bed , but they can be equipped with up to four twin beds. Each has a frige and coffee maker as well. The attractive tile roofing is made from recycled plastic bags. A well ventilated design, insulation between the roofing and the polished teak ceiling, and overhead fans all insure cool comfort for our guests. All of the teak and gmelina wood used in the construction came from Hacienda Baru's own plantations. The wood for the pine beams and cypress furniture all came from plantations as well. Not a single piece of the wood used came from a natural forest. Solar heaters provide plenty of hot water for the bathrooms. The outside walls are slate and polished teak. The new guest rooms are conveniently located right in front of our new swimming pool. Our breezy open air restaurant allows you to observe the gardens and natural surroundings as you dine. We have five private ranchos for guests that want an intimate setting perhaps for a romantic candlelight dinner or a special family meal. Our menu is primarily very tasty typical Costa Rican food, but we do offer a variety of dishes for those who either don't like or want a break from rice and beans. We offer a selection Costa Rican fruit drinks known as FRESCOS meaning refreshing, soft drinks, a selection of Costa Rican beer, you must have heard of Imperial, wines and other licors. The swimming pool at Hacienda Baru Lodge is disinfected with ozone produced by an ozone generator which injects a constant flow of this eco-friendly gas into the water. This system of disinfection allows us to maintain a very low concentration of chlorine in the pool. The chlorine level is so slight that it is imperceptible to pool users. The swimming pool is open from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM. Guests from both the cabins and guest rooms are welcome to use the pool during these hours. Bird Watching, Canopy Exploration and Ecological Tours are our specialty. Our bilingual grass roots naturalist guides will help you discover the wonders of the tropical rainforest, such as leaf cutter ants, the sleepy sloths and the nesting site of the Common Pootoo. On our tours you can experience everything from the Rainforest Canopy to Mangrove Swamps or the Jungle at Night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Baru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.