We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“natural, unpretencious and calm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Baru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Baru
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“natural, unpretencious and calm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an excellent base to discover nature in this part of Costa Rica. The grounds are well kept, the cabins are spacious and clean and there is a good-sized pool to relax in at the end of the day. You can discover the impressive local wildlilfe within the grounds or within easy reach in the surrounding national parks (Manuel Antonia is a 45 min drive away). Tree climbing was an amazing way to experience the forest, slowly ascending up a 35m tree whilst the helpful guide shared his wide knowledge.
And in the evenings the restaurant offers simple but delicious regional food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    39
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hacienda Baru is a wonderful paradise in Costa Rica. We stayed there for six nights in January with two small children. We loved all the wonderful meals, the butterfly garden, and the natural setting. The cabins were spacious, the pool was clean, and the grounds were just beautiful. The private beach was amazing. We went ziplining right from the property, no driving. It is in a perfect location to drive to a number of tourist areas including Manuel Antonio and whale watching in Uvita. The staff were wonderful, it was such a nice scenic place to take our family. If you are looking for cabins and nature, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Select a cabin if possible, it is worth the extra money. None of the rooms have air conditioning, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been to Hacienda Baru twice for two week stays. Once as a couple's getaway and once as a family vacation. Both times we were treated like family. Jack Ewing is a most gracious host and saw to our every need personally. He checked with us every day to ensure that we were enjoying our trip. Both of our stays were in the green season, which I find to be the best time to visit Costa Rica, especially if you want a quiet, semi-private getaway, rather than a tourist flood. The grounds are exquisite, with a great many flora and fauna. The guides are knowledgeable and helpful, most are quite fluent in English and extremely patient with tourists' Spanglish. In fact, our children made fast friends with several of the staff, some of whom live on the property with their families. We were free to explore the entire spread of the property, enjoyed many guided excursions also and basically lived in our cabin as if it were our second home. Since the last time we visited, they have added some smaller rooms and a pool. The experiences we had there were outstanding and we plan to go there every time we visit beautiful Costa Rica!

Room Tip: The cabins, while somewhat rustic, are very comfortable and extremely accommodating for up to five o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Hacienda Baru for 9 nights in January. One of the highlights was the food prepared by Chef Roman. He has a talent for food art, including carving carrots to look like dolphins, butterflies and roses; one night he sent us a swan delicately carved from an apple. The setting is unpretentious and open to wildlife viewing, not the sort of place you'd expect food of this caliber. The cabins are rustic--just our style--and the wildlife on the trails is plentiful if you go slowly and quietly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. The cabins and out buildings are quite nice and made of local wood. Although there is no AC, the rooms are quite comfortable with excellent construction and ceiling fans. There was obviously great care and thought put into developing this complex. There is a great attention to detail. The pool is quite nice and well kept. The grounds and trails are every well maintained. The beach is pleasant and secluded. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was typical Tico fare, well prepared and plentiful fall. We saw many Toucans, Cherrie's tanager, and a great variety of other birds. On the trail I saw three Peccary, a sloth and number of lizards. Hacienda Baru is very close (couple of miles) to Dominical which has a number of good restaurants. Agreat place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've been to Hacienda Baru three times over my three separate trips to Costa Rica. This place is beautiful and holds some sort of magic. While most of the resorts and wildlife reserves in Costa Rica feel very generic or overused; this part of the country and this resort still feels secluded.

The accommodations are large and rustic with the exception of the new "luxury" cabins which are new and have ceiling fans/AC/modernized showers. We've always been satisfied in the older cabins as they are very large (two bedrooms, kitchen, living rooms). There is a swimming pool which is always nice for the afternoon or evening cool off. Hacienda Baru also has a restaurant/bar on the premises which serves some fantastic food and drinks.

From Hacienda Baru you can easily walk to the beach or hike through the jungle to the beach. You'll always be surprised by how empty it is. There have been many days at Hacienda Baru where it has been just my girlfriend and I sunning ourselves and swimming. The walks through the jungle are beautiful too as Hacienda Baru has both old growth and new growth rainforests. You can spot sloths, monkeys, toucans. The wildlife is still very active there.

Just south of Hacienda Baru is a small town the name of which escapes me. You can easily drive or walk to town. It's a somewhat sleepy surfer town but if you are there at the right time you can find a good party. There are a few good restaurants in the town, we tend to eat at the same one most nights it's the one with the giant camper van on the post in front.

Regarding Hacienda Baru's staff I can only say the best things. They are both polite and friendly and every time it's the same people. They remember you. The owner/manager Jack Ewing is a great guy and is more than happy to make suggestions as to what to see and what to do.

I plan on going back ASAP!
The only thing I would like to humbly request from Hacienda Baru...bring back your made to order breakfast! The buffet was nice but not as good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hacienda Baru is just off of the main highway south along the Pacific Coast. It was a functional cattle ranch that has been returned to a more natural state. The grounds are extensive and they have several trails that are good for general hiking as well as bird watching. The room that we had was well appointed, spacious and had a fridge in it. There is a market several kilometers south were you can pick up drinks etc. The restaurant is good but fairly expensive. The grounds around the rooms are very well maintained and alive with birds and sometimes monkeys. There is a small, but very pleasant swimming pool. The best birding trail is the one that goes through the teak plantation and then into the mangrove area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Baru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Baru to your Saves list