We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Favorites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Baru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Baru
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Baru to your Saves list
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of our Favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We really love Hacienda Baru! The cabins are simple and adequate. The restaurant is reasonably priced and we still talk about the fresh fruit juices and how good they tasted after hiking.

We did the "night in the jungle" stay. Wow. What a fantastic memory. Be warned, it's a LONG hot hike but so worth it. My only complaint is that you leave later in the afternoon, hike for a couple of hours and get there when it's getting dark. We ate a terrific tipico dinner by candle light and then half of us went on a night hike and the other half went to sleep. Waking up with a stunning view of the jungle was AMAZING! We had breakfast and trekked back down. I think these trips should be at least two nights in length to explore and to really feel what it is like to be in the middle of nowhere.

The beach is beyond anything we have ever experienced. Gorgeous, warm water and not another soul as far as the eyes could see in either direction.

We'd go back to Hacienda Baru in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    39
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Six of us ranging from 65 to 5 in 2 cabins. The pool and gardens are beautiful and wonderful to see all the monkeys scrambling about the trees. We did the ziplining and the morning wildlife walk. The guides and staff are kind and amazingly informative. They engaged the young kids about leaf cutter ants and all sorts of wildlife that has stuck with them. We had a rental car and went into the nearby town which was great for watching the surfing and dinners. The food at Baru is best for breakfast but the rest aren't great. We picked up some snacks and beer to keep in the cabin but the kitchen is not too useful and the fridge isn't terribly cold. This is not a slick all inclusive by any means, but it was a lovely way to really visit Costa Rica. I felt like a guest of a family. The beach is absolutely stunning, but the undertow makes it very dangerous to swim. However, we played at the edge and had an endless beach to ourselves which was magical. Time is on a different clock in these parts, so be flexible about time so order a beer and bring snacks for the kids because everything runs very late.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hacienda Baru for four nights over New Year's (2012) in a 'Superior Room' near the pool and took advantage during our three full days there of walking most of the trails available to all who stay there. We also took a birding walk, from about 5:30am until early afternoon, with one of the excellent guides, Juan, who took us up into the hills on rainforest trails that are available only with a guide.

We absolutely loved this place and look forward to going again some day. The trails are varied and informative, with well-written panels in English, Spanish and French, to explain various features of the forest, its plants, animals and other fauna; beautiful birds and monkeys are plentiful out in the forest and at times around the grounds near the rooms, too; the extra, guided outings are very reasonably priced and expertly led; the ambience is very friendly and relaxed both in the restaurant (which serves good food) and the pool, which is lovely; and our room was both huge and comfortable in every way. It seems to me to have something for everyone, really. A youngish mother whom we got to know with her daughter had a great time there, as did other families with kids. Couples would find it cosy and romantic. Groups with varied interests could probably find plenty to do, with individuals going their separate ways. And so on.

Shops and restaurants in (much over-rated) Dominical are very nearby, if you want to eat elsewhere, as we did one evening.

As the website for the place will explain in detail, the Hacienda Baru was once partly a farm and ranch, though it comprised a very large tract of untouched rainforest as well. The principal owner, Jack Ewing, became more interested in the natural world than in being a farmer and cattleman (since at least the mid-1970's, I believe) and over the years has very actively participated in the regeneration of that part of the property which was formerly farmland, and has made the pristine wilderness more accessible. There are beach walks, swamp walks, walks through former cocoa and teak plantations, and of course many forest walks. This is a delightful place to be, but also a great, thoroughly successful experiment. We were delighted to witness and in some small way support it.

Room Tip: Those rooms in a long line near the pool are (I think) the newer ones and are excellent. Some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We would have liked to stay here for more than one night. Next time. Beautiful trails. And we liked the butterfly garden. Great morning guided hike--saw toucans, sloths, and owls. No monkeys--too many homosapiens in high season, I think. We enjoyed hiking on the trail to the pristine, natural beach, and had a great time playing on the beach and swimming. The kids enjoyed the pool also. Food was excellent too--especially the smoothies. We stayed in one of the older cabins--next time we'd pay extra to stay in the new ones by the pool. The cabin was extremely hot. There were tons of centipede-like creatures in our cabin and we slightly worried about what else might find its way in during the night.

Room Tip: Recommend staying in the new rooms by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We ended our Central American trip with a refreshingly low-stress and rewarding 3-night stay at Hacienda Baru. We were a group of five staying in two cabinas enjoying the low-impact lifestyle where most of the electricity and all of the hot water come from solar sources. Everyday we watched hummingbirds, toucans, monkeys and iguanas go about their business. One day we went whale watching at the nearby national park. We took early morning treks every day before breakfast to see the animals that make themselves scarce in the afternoon heat. Guided treks are also available. We spent time at the beach that is accessible to all, but frequented by few and lazed around the luxurious ozone pool. Yes, a well-designed pool is a necessity when you are on vacation. :-) The landscaping, structures and pathways are all extravagant in their simplicity and purpose. The older cabinas are simple, well constructed and maintained. The new cabins looked beautiful. Hacienda Baru is living proof that true ecotourism can be accessible and rewarding for those who seek it. The website can tell you more about the story of the place, the man who has devoted his life to it and the value of biological corridor. Thanks to Jack and staff for making this all possible. I will return to see how the forest changes.

Room Tip: All rooms have everything you need and nothing more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

Immersed in the Dominical rain forest close to the ocean Hacienda Baru is an oasis of peace and beauty on the southern pacific coast of Costa Rica.
The sounds of Nature accompany your day all along
Spacious rooms, drinkable tap water, great pool, good breakfast, beautiful trails in the forest, at the reasonable price of $85 all included for a superior room a bit more for a larger cabin.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed for a few nights in November at a very quiet time so the resort was almost empty. Hacienda Baru is a great place for spotting wildlife, with marked trails through the forest that you can easily follow yourself, plus other guided walks. We did both and saw plenty of wildlife, including white faced capuchin monkeys, three toed sloths and many many birds and butterflies. In the afternoon, a pair of Toucans seemed to be regular visitors to the garden that edges the rainforest and we got superb sightings of them. The zipline they have here is very enjoyable; gentle rather than hardcore and plenty of opportunities to spot wildlife along the way.

Our cabin was one of the original rooms... it was very tired and really could do with an update, but that said, it was excellent value for money and we soon got over the aesthetics and started to value the space (three bedrooms!) and the fact that it had a full size fridge and a kitchen area. You'd be hard pressed to cook a full meal in it, but it was great for making tea and coffee.

The pool area is lovely, though there isn't a lot of shade if you want to relax with a book, but there is also a shady little hammock area which was nice. A short walk either down a rough road or through the rainforest gets you to a long sandy beach.

Food at the restaurant was actually very good in the main and when compared with prices we paid elsewhere, represented great value for money, as did the drinks.

If a chic and stylish room is ultra important to you, it's probably not for you, but if you can put up with jaded decor, it's a good value place for some excellent wildlife spotting and it's only a few minutes drive to Dominical where there is an ATM, shops, bars, restaurants and surfing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Baru

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Specialty lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hacienda Baru Hotel Quepos
Hacienda Baru Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Baru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.