We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergue Alma de Hatillo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albergue Alma de Hatillo
Save
You added Albergue Alma de Hatillo to your Saves list
Hatillo, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not a lot more to say than : amazing. Big, clean rooms, the nicest hotel owner ever, great breakfast made with fruits that grew on her property. Basically, a little oasis of calm. The only thing is that if you want to be by the beach on in the city, it might not be the place for you but for eberything else, it'e more than perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

f you are looking for a cabina in a nice, quiet, and tranquil neck of the jungle then I would highly recommend Cabinas Alma de Hatillo.  This beautiful property is about 7 km north of Dominical and is surrounded by lush and fruitful plants. There's even a yoga platform  but unfortunately there were no yoga instructors visiting since its low season.  Complementing this magical paradise cabina is a wonderful woman named Sabina.

Sabina  was extremely hospitable the minute I met her. She was very interested in getting to know me and felt like she was more of a family friend. She was always concerned with my well being so it was nice to have someone to help you out. She even drove me to Dominical a couple times and introduced me the the surf / adventure shop people.

The breakfasts were epic!  Each morning Sabina brought out a huge plate of fresh fruit.  Toast was served along with these amazing spreads that Sabina made from fruit harvested on her property!  She even makes a delicious chocolate spread!!

Overall I would totally recommend this location for couples or even solo travellers who want to stay at a quiet and peaceful cabina.  It's best if you have a car to get around, but if not, the bus stops in front of Cabina Alma every couple hours which goes to Dominical or Quepos. The property is behind a secure gate and I felt safe the entire time. The rooms are a good size and are kept very clean.

Stop in and say hi to Sabina

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After just 4 days at Albergue Alma de Hatillo during our honeymoon trip, my wife and I were in love with the place! Sabina prepares fantastic breakfast with the most amazing home-made jams. There's the pool (if you haven't spent enough time in the water at the beach)... She has a great recommendation for a nearby beach. There's also a waterfall not too far away!

Sabina is so warm, friendly, caring and funny! We had a great time! When we told her it was our honeymoon, she made us feel even more welcome and special! The flowers were a nice touch! We'll definitely be back! She and the environment that she's created there in sleepy little Hatillo is part of the reason that my wife and I moved down to Costa Rica! Sabina, thank you for being such a nice lady! We hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Because all the accommodation in the nearby town was fully booked we were advised to stay with Sabine. The best advise we could get during our trip. Great service, a wonderful canoe-trip and a nice view from the pool. We stayed much longer than we planned.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have stayed with Sabina twice and hope to make it back again soon. She is a fabulous host and is more than willing to do whatever possible to ensure your vacation is packed with all things Costa Rica. Have to admit that saline pool is always one my favorite things about staying at the Cabinas Beautiful during the day and oh so relaxing at night - just floating and gazing at the stars. Besides the always wonderful breakfasts, I have had some wonderful dinners here. I hope to get back soon!
My only issue is also with the farm across the road, but hey...........it is Pura Vida Costa Rica!!
PS - Although her dogs have changed over time, I have enjoyed them all.
Lynn

Room Tip: All of the cabins I have stayed in were very nice. It is a small establishment and care is given to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

A party of 12 arrived at the iron gates with a security system on a Friday and stayed until Tuesday. We were assigned our rooms and went off to enjoy the lovely salt water pool. Sleeping in the fan cooled rooms was disturbed in the night by trucks, dogs, cows and a rooster who didn't crow only at dawn but one sort of got used to the natural sounds. The yoga platform was a pleasant space to relax with stretches before starting the day. Breakfast was served in the open air dining area and comprised of homemade preserves made by our host Sabina and fresh fruit, all from the surrounding property. Eggs were available at a cost. A car is really a must if staying here as the beach is not nearby but down a rough road but once there a very long and private beach can be enjoyed. Dominical is 6 km down the road and is the place for food and action. Here we bought food and drink to be consumed at the resort as each room was equipped with a refrigerator
Sabina made arrangements for the group to take in horseback riding and ziplining nearby. The younger members took surfing lessons in Dominical. An evening meal can be prepared at the resort with given notice. Sabina, a Canadian was full of knowledge of the flora and fauna surrounding the area.
Unless you are a beach 'bum' Alma de Hatillo was probably the best priced accommodation for a family staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Sabina serves one if the best breakfasts we've come across in Costa Rica! Comfortable and clean cabins and a nice pool.

You do get some noise from the road, but it didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albergue Alma de Hatillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Alma de Hatillo

Address: Hatillo, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is located on the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. It is 6 km north of the surfing town of Dominical, and 35 km south of Quepos.We are 3 km away from Hacienda Baru, a National Wildlife Refuge that offers a wide variety of rainforest tours & activities. Alma de Hatillo is just a 25-minute walk, or five minute drive, to a spectacular 10 km-long beach.We are located at the south end of the village of Hatillo. We are distinguished by a large red hibiscus hedge on the east side of the road through the village. There is a gas station 3 km south on the road to Dominical and several local places to eat.Being located on the edge of a Costa Rican village, we are able to offer our guests an authentic experience of rural life (including the sights and sounds of a small working farm across the road). We also have wilderness trails on the property as well as access to mangroves on a near-by beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albergue Alma De Hatillo Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergue Alma de Hatillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.