We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxed and friendly place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas San Clemente

Cabinas San Clemente
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas San Clemente
Save
You added Cabinas San Clemente to your Saves list
A.P. 703-8000, Perez Zeledon, Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Cusco, Peru
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxed and friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

It's direct on the beach with a lot of shade. The room was basic but the bed was nice and bathroom clean enough although it looks maybe a bit old. They have at least three friendly cats :) so if you don't need much luxury but just a nice quiet place with perfect English speaking friendly staff, i would recommend it

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I'd been traveling ALL day on the bus on my way to Jaco and Quepos but refused to get off the bus, I was looking for peace and quiet and some good surf/beach action… On the bus i met Ken who runs Cabina's San Clemente. without hesitation my friend and i had signed up to stay there. Some say its basic and it looks awful but what more do you need then to fall asleep to crashing waves and then going downstairs and having delicious cheap breakfast while looking at the ocean and sipping on some coffee? right. The staff who also works at San Clemente bar and restaurant were all so nice and welcoming. the Cabinas are very clean and basic which i personally loved. They are very clean which to me is on the highest priority. I had such an amazing time in Dominical i even recommended folks i would run into traveling about this little gem. amazing location, clean and everyone is so genuine and friendly. Can't wait to go back to Dominical and stay here again! thank you for being so awesome everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

When visiting in low season we paid 20 US for a room.. Location is perfect. Right at the beach.. When I was brushing my teeth there was a giant rat walking from the bathroom into our bedroom, and when I told the owner this is what he said; I know, it;s the tropics, but u can kill it if u like...
Besides the fact that there's a rat in our room, the bar at the hostel is closed, and it seems we are the only costumors..
After about 3 weeks of travelling Costa Rica, this is the worst stay so far!

Room Tip: There are loads of other hostels in town, especially during low season.. My advice: don't go her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Cheap, right on the beach, relatively quiet. The mattresses were surprisingly comfortable.

My friends and I stayed in that room with the ancient window-unit air conditioner. It would have worked better had several window slats not been missing.

It served its purpose (a place to crash at the beach) but I'm not sure I would have stayed a second night.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We spend two nights in Cabinas San Clemente in Domicals, Costa Rica. The place is quite similar to other lodges around that area. This kind of places are not for people who want to have luxury. The room was basic, with two double beds (price was 30USD per night). So, if four people stays in the room, it is cheap. They say that the room has air conditioning and it is true, but you should know that the air conditioning machine is very noisy and goes on and off by itself.

Location is great! The place is right on the beach and you just need to step outside to go sunbathing. The beach is nice, has sand and rocks on it. There is also river quite close by with different animals (flamingos, turtles, etc.)

There are other lodes near-by called Tortilla Flats and Pyramis (or something like that). So, if you don't want to book advance, just walk through the beach street and check out all those places, which suits your needs the best.

There was free wifi, but it didn't work in the rooms. San Clemente does not have a restaurant, but restaurant of Tortilla Flats is close by and there is also some pizza place. If you want to have people around you and party close to you, go to Tortilla Flats. But San Clemente is more quiet one, I prefer that.

At least the room that we were in had sink in toilet was almost coming down. The bedsheets were not clean and had cigarette burns in them. The matrices was hard and the other bed was missing some boards. But still we were able to sleep couple of cheap nights in there, which was ok. At the lobby of this lodge there are hammocks that you can relax in. There is also fridge where you can buy drinks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinas San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas San Clemente

Address: A.P. 703-8000, Perez Zeledon, Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Also Known As:
Cabinas San Clemente Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinas San Clemente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.