We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tin roof, concrete floor, ocean views, delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Parcela

La Parcela
Dominicalito, Dominical, Costa Rica
+506 2787 0016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Relax to the soothing sounds of waves rushing to meet the shore. Feast your eyes on the powerful beauty of the rugged coastline, sparkling ocean blues, and vibrant jungle greens. Allow your mouth yo enjoy local and international favorites while your eyes feast on a view that is unparalleled. Fill your soul with the magic of "Pura Vida". Join us and let your senses be touched by the wonder that is Dominical, Costa Rica!
Baraboo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tin roof, concrete floor, ocean views, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just the kind of restaurant you would expect in Dominical, Costa Rica! Low key yet very inviting! The 180 degree views of the Pacific are amazing. We enjoyed blackened tuna which was cooked to perfection and served with roasted potatoes and a fresh salad. Friendly waiter and fairly quick service although this was for lunch. Take it slow when you enter as the road is not the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    64
    20
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mini 4x4 adventure followed by gourmet lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

La Parcela was a highlight on our trip to Dominical, so much so that we visited a couple times.

You'll pay a little more than you would at the tourist traps off the beach in Dominical except at La Parcela you have a much better view and it's so secluded that you need a 4x4 to get to it. - Just my style.

The tuna tartare is excellent and the tuna steak comes out with a little wasabi. Those were our favorites.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Dominical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This restaurant is amazing!! It sits out on a small peninsula so you have ocean views from both sides of the restaurant. The ocean breeze feels amazing and the food is fantastic!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Average Tico food in a great coastal location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

There are few restaurants in this area that are located right on the beach, and this place is found overlooking a rocky bay. You get to it via a mile long very rough track from the main road.

We went for dinner, and as its so dark around here we couldn't really appreciate the location. At night the main dining area is quite badly lit and we had problems reading our menu. The decor is quite basic and the menu for a familiar mix of tico and American dishes. We had bruschetta to start, which were ok, then the blackened tuna which was fine. This is simple home cooking, with no pretensions. Service was prompt and efficient.

The place was reasonably busy for a Saturday evening. My recommendation would be to go for lunch to enjoy the views an sea breeze.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All about breeze and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food was good... setting the best! We were there at low tide with waves crashing over lava slabs. Beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parcela also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Parcela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parcela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.