We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxed lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Clemente Bar and Grill

San Clemente Bar and Grill
Middle of main road, Dominical, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 33 restaurants in Dominical
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: See review from another website here: http://www.igougo.com/review-r1022871-San_Clemente_Bar_and_Grille.html
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great relaxed lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great, fresh food, ice cold beer, and very friendly service. When one travels to a small village like Dominical, they must enjoy the local flavors, and San Clemente is it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    20
    29
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carrollton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“worst food in costa rica ... ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was a huge disappointment as long time owner has apparently just decided to serve slop. I would not recomend this place and I am surprised that the locals/tourists would even support it. The service was nothing to speak of. We asked a fellow hanging out speaking with his girlfriend that was the only waitress working there, if the place was open as it was noon on Sunday and he said I don't know ... and then when his girlfriend came out ... the made fun of us and the question ... because they assumed we did not speak spanish. Faux Paux. I should have left then but decided based on the reputation to go for it ... wow! worst meal ever in Costa Rica.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
1 review
“Enjoy the Flo gives mad props to San Clemente Bar and Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

You know you are somewhere special just by the suspended VW microbus with Elvis and THE DUKE (father of surfing.... swabs) as passengers for their signage. Upon first glance inside the place it is very unassuming, but check out their memorabilia. The place is a museum for classic surfing photos and an entire wall pays homage to The DUKE KAHANAMOKU. An enclave serves as a shrine to the King (Elvis Presley)...never a blue Christmas here! If you want to, you can ride the magic bus for less than one hundred english pounds, or just couch surf in it...you supply your own driver. The ceiling is a graveyard for surfboards that didn't make it out of the fierce waves of Dominical intact. Bring in your broken board, sign it, receive a free taco and beer. Salud! You couldn't ask for a more beautiful and friendly staff. The menu is very diverse with something to meet the needs of every diner, and the food...muy bueno! If you don't stop in here while in Dominical you just haven't arrived. Enjoy the Flo gives it three and a half shakes of the shaka. ITS RAW!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yep, worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good food and good night out. Good fun all round.
We came here in the day for lunch and in the evening for drinks, music and atmosphere... well worth a visit and a photo with a VW Camper with Elvis Presley hanging out the window....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Mikes hot sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Mike has the best hot sauce! I aways pick up two extra bottle to take home. Not too hot but hot enough. If you like mexican food this is the place. We eat there at least once during our visit. Keep up the hard work, ww will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Clemente Bar and Grill also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Been to San Clemente Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Clemente Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.