We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad i found it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Roger

Jolly Roger
Coastal Highway | 1.9 Kilometers up the mountain road across from Cuna Del Angel, Dominical, Costa Rica
+506 8706 8438
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 33 restaurants in Dominical
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Mom and Pop Wing Joint with 23 different wing flavors, hand pattied half pound burgers with hand cut fries, 12 different tequilas, large beer selection, a great view and a fun friendly atmosphere. Come on up the mountain. You'll be glad you did. Oh! CASH ONLY!!! NO CREDIT CARDS!!! I REPEAT CASH ONLY. Open Monday - Sunday 4pm - 9pm. Kitchen open later on Satuday nights when you just might find a poker game going on. 4Wd recommended.
Novi, Michigan
1 review
“Glad i found it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is truly amazing... is unique in anyway, be it location, even the atmosphere and the service and yet warmly welcoming. Chicken wings deliziosi!!!! If you have the time and the money, consider going..we loved it and went back the next day ...way to go rappresenting the USA !!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    136
    48
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
salm01@optonline.net
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Challenge To Get To But Worth It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great wings but the single server is hard pressed to get the food to you quickly. There are a number of sauces and the ones we tasted were very good. Now the perfect wing accompaniment is cold beer but JR had a problem with keeping more than one type of beer cold. So the night that we were there I couldn't have my brew of choice (Bavaria) and it was Imperial or nada. Even an icy Pilsen would have worked. Also did I say that you need a 4 wheel drive and good suspension to get there? Coulda been a contender but I'll give them another chance.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overwhelm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The night we went to Jolly Roger it was packed, they didnt have the staff to provide a good service, and the quality of the food was just ok, bartender couldnt get drinks to us, he was running in circles....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food if you have a long time to wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

5 star food/3 star service. We were staying at a house just up from the Jolly Roger & we went twice the week we were there. The wings and burgers are THE BEST EVER (not exaggerating). Unfortunately both times we were there our food took over an hour to come out after we had ordered it. It's a small, family-run place, I get it, but they need to hire more help. Luckily they are very nice & friendly about it all so you don't feel too annoyed- just really hungry!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All Good in the JR Hood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Go check it out, especially if you eat chicken's wings and drink beer! The owners and locals who work there will make you feel welcomed, and often there is a poker game with a classy, colorful group on Saturdays.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Roger also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Jolly Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Roger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.