We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once a year event” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PorQueNo?

PorQueNo?
2km South of Dominical, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica (Formerly Por Que No?)
+506 2787 0340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 restaurants in Dominical
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Contemporary, Central American, Pizza & Pasta, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Within the Costa Paraiso boutique hotel, just 2 km South of Dominical, Por Que No is one of the region's best dining experiences, with an ocean view. With 'tasty treats & funky beats', Por Que No is known for our great dinner specials, delicious wood-fired pizza, healthy smoothies and hit-the-spot coffees.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Once a year event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Apparently it was my birthday, which it was, but at a certain age some of us don't like being reminded. The bats didn't seem to know this fact and they happily carried on feeding under the spotlight forming a spectacle between the veranda of the restaurant and the ocean. Having finished my delicious burger and having downed a couple of Imperials I thought I got away with it. But no, the wife thought it appropriate to let the waiter know. He in turn thought it should be known by the rest of the staff. The outcome of this - a candle in the chocolate gateau and a rousing chorus of happy birthday! Thank heavens birthdays only occur once a year .......

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    150
    25
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Thank you so much for such an awesome meal! The french toast, taquitos (I think!) and all the fresh fruit and drinks were amazing. Can't beat the view either! Definitely recommend eating here for anyone of all ages

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wrong Prices on the Menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I ordered a pizza and when the check came we thought there was mistake with the price so we brought it to the attention of the waitress. We were then told that the pizza was $5.00 more than the price on the menu and that the menu was an old menu and the new ones had not been printed. It ruined our meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Suspect overcharging upon paying bill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not the first time I've seen this done in Costa Rica, but it will be the last time we pay for it. Upon finishing our meal (decent pizza but nothing special) we were given the bill, and noticed that the original price of our pizza was crossed out and an additional ten dollars was added to the cost of the pizza. The menu listed the pizza as $20, which is already exuberant, but when the check came the waitress said that they had since raised to the price of the pizza to $30. She went on to say the menu wasn't updated. Sure, whatever. That $10 wasn't worth enough for us to argue on the spot so we just paid and left. However the principal was enough to leave us with a poor departing impression of the restaurant and to tell all of our friends and trip advisor of the shady practice of the waitress (from Alajuela, but can't remember her name) that night. I had since stopped back to verify that the menu price hadn't in fact changed before writing this. We probably would have tipped her that much anyway but fool me once... shame on you. Otherwise it was a nice setting, average pizza, with well above average prices. I probably won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fantastic and inventive. And it was a bonus that it was connected to our hideaway of a hotel. Loved Costa Paraiso!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PorQueNo? also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to PorQueNo?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PorQueNo?, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.