We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale peaceful retreat perfect for romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Gabriela

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Punta Gabriela
Save Saved
You added Punta Gabriela to your Saves list
Pan American Hwy | 2km south from main Entrance Playa Dominical, Dominical 33317, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Upscale peaceful retreat perfect for romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Punta Gabriela in June 2012. We were greeted with a friendly smile by Edwid (property manager) along with Jessie and Karen (owners of the property). We were escorted to our beautiful bungalow which was exceptionally clean. The room is beautifully decorated and has so many amazing details. Everywhere you look, you are blown away by the high-end details. The beds are so huge (king size) and so comfortable you just sink into it! There is a 3 story main house and on the roof of the house is a helicopter pad. The lower level has a huge industrial size kitchen and also a bar area. There are plenty of hammocks throughout the property to just sit back and relax. Then there are 3 bungalows each of which are uniquely decorated with exceptional taste! The bungalows are located along a lush tropical walkway towards the ocean. The front bungalow has its own private infinity edge pool and is completely private from the rest of the property. There is also a large main pool on the property which has built in barstools, a shallow area to relax in and then a deep end too. There is a tree house above the pool and there are ziplines throughout the property. The property is the cleanest I have ever visited. The landscaping is so beautifully maintained! Behind the property is lush rainforest and the front of the property is surrounded by crystal blue ocean views! The home is 5 minutes from the local supermarket and about 8 minutes from the main town where there are restaurants, a club and local vendors. We did 2 excursions while there. We went horseback riding through the jungle to a beautiful waterfall which was $60 per person which included breakfast and lunch (so worth it)! Then we also did zipling through the jungle which was really cool too! It is one of the prettiest places we have ever been! Just breathtaking! This would be perfect for a romantic getaway, yoga retreat or a FUN couples getaway! My review does not do it justice! We will definitely go back soon and only stay at Punta Gabriela! Thank you so much Jessie, Karen, Edwin and the Punta Gabriela staff for treating us like family!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at his lovely villa and barely wanted to leave it to do other things on our vacation. Our very private villa was beautifully furnished and included our own outdoor patio with pool and jacuzzi with a sweeping view of the Pacific coastline. We spent many wonderful hours just dozing in our hammock during the day and stargazing from the jacuzzi at night.

The owners and staff members were also delightful and infinitely eager to please. Breakfast each morning was filled with fun conversation as well as suggestions for what to do while there.

If I ever return to that area of the country, I will look no further to find a place to stay. Thank you for a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Punta Gabriela's Villa 1 for our honeymoon. We were amazed by how beautiful and luxurious the resort is. We had been to Costa Rica before but nothing compares to Punta Gabriela. We are so happy that we were able to stay and enjoy the privacy and romantic nature of Punta Gabriela. Thank you to Karen and Jesse for making our honeymoon absolutely incredible! We cannot wait to return!!
Michelle and Joseph Lopez

Room Tip: The villas are absolutely beautiful and breath taking, if you are looking for a more private getaway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Punta Gabriela is an over the top luxury resort nestled in a jungle setting above the town of Dominical. This is an absolutely fantastic place with breathtaking view and even better sunsets. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and surrounding attractions and excursions, although you might not want to leave the premises! Highly recommend it. We enjoyed this beautiful and private property for a lovely romantic getaway. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Cottage #1 is in my opinion the best one since you get uninterrupted views of the Pacific Ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

The owners of this luxury resort missed nothing when it came to decorating the three guest villas. Every comfort you would expect in a five star resort. My family has visited Punta Gabriela twice already. The second time we brought back two other couples to share the great experience with us. You can do s much or s little as you would like. Whether you want to be adventures and let the staff help you organize the many day trips available. Or you just want to relax by one of the two pool areas and have a massage they can coordinate everything for you.

We got up early and had made arringment for the cook to have breakfast available for us before we left for our excursions. Upon our return in the afternoon we relaxed at the pool and sat at the beautiful outdoor bar which accomidiated our need for Wifi. The sunsets at Punta Gabriela are unbelievable.

The owners of the estate accommodated us in every way possible to make sure our vacation was everything we wanted it to be.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed at the secluded paradise called Punta Gabriela, staff and facilities were first class. Had a wonderful time with the owners and staff. Telling all our friends what a great place for a quiet secluded getaway.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Gabriela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Gabriela

Address: Pan American Hwy | 2km south from main Entrance Playa Dominical, Dominical 33317, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Punta Gabriela in the South Pacific Coast of CostaRica. This Marvelous compound has all the amenities for a perfect vacation. "Luxury in the Jungle" is our way of life; where the mountain terrain meets the ocean and the sea mist rises onto the rocky shoreline.This majestic home features a rooftop heliport, a penthouse suite with private jacuzzi, an outside bar and a full kitchen, wine room, and recreation area, on the side there is three suites all overlooking Pacific Ocean from the point, each one with private patios, 550 square-feet of modern Zen living. Our Honeymoon Villa even has its own, secluded, private pool and Jacuzzi.The property offers its own three zip lines for your canopy adventure, and other adventures abound all around, as world class sport fishing, white water rafting, surfing, sea kayaking, horseback riding, or visiting to waterfalls, national parks, and the most beautiful beaches in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Punta Gabriela Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Gabriela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.