We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangrove kayak tour - Could have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dominical Surf Adventures

Dominical Surf Adventures
Frente a Iglesia Catolica, Dominical 11901, Costa Rica
011-506-2787-0431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure company dedicated to a personalized and high quality service. White water rafting, kayak tours, surf school/camp and concierge service. Discover with us the wonders of the South Pacific!
St. Philip's, Newfoundland & Labrador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mangrove kayak tour - Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We took the mangrove kayak tour with Dominical Surf Adventures. A couple of days before we had done a similar tour with another company (Pineapple Kayak Tours). The DSA guide was not engaged in pointing out all the wildlife. He ignored the abundant water birds, and most other birds. There were eight of us on the tour, if you were not near the guide when he explained something, or pointed something out, you were out of luck. He made no effort to ensure everyone was involved. At one point we lagged behind and lost sight of the rest of the group. The guide did not come back to check on us.

We had requested a tandem kayak when we booked the tour and we were assured this was not a problem. On tour day there were two tandem kayaks, but a total of three couples wanted one. We agreed to take singles instead, but told the guide of our request. He told us other people asked for the tandems first(?). I'm contrast to the other outfitter, DSA did not provide binoculars, sufficient dry bags etc. However, the snack they provided at the end of the trip was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Rafting the Sevegre River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed spending the day on the water. The trip there was a bit long, it took us about 1 1/2 hours to get there, but the trip was very educational and worth while as the guides stopped many times along the trip to pick local vegitation to share with us. I loved that! Cinnomon leaves, cilantro, pepper corns, lemon grass, and grasshoppers, thanks Luigi! The water was perfect for beginners and those of us who have done it once already on the Tatshenshini in Yukon, Canada. The snack provided at the waterfall was so beautifully presented right down to the tablecloth draped over the upturned reft offering fresh sliced pineapple, homemade guacamole and salsa, fresh vegies and dip, and cookies all served on hand made plates of banana leaves, perfecto! Lunch in Silencio was the best we've had yet, thank you Jody, and cheers to you Andy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great day on the Sevagre river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For the uninitiated, white water rafting can sound pretty daunting with thoughts of perilous capsizes and hard rocks, but Dominical Surf Adventure's guides, Luis and Andy, made safety the first priority and the trip down the river was always controlled and expertly managed by them both.

It's listed as a class 2-3 trip and the rapids are fun if occasionally a bit hairy but once you're in the swing of it, the more thrills the better!

And there were serene moments when we just jumped out of the boat and floated downstream on our backs giving us the chance to take in the stunning scenery.

Excellent local knowledge from Luis regarding the local plants + wildlife and plenty of rafting information from Andy who has extensive experience in Costa Rica and USA.

A great day - highly recommended for those with a bit of adventurous spirit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We did a trip down the Coto Brus and had a great time! Even got to see a monkey! Thanks Andy for a great trip!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose to go on the Coto Brus rafting trip after reading the glowing reviews. I must say, they did not disappoint. Although the car drive is long before the put in, and breakfast takes a Costa Rican long time to eat... It is fully worth the wait. The rafting was subdued for a class 3-4, probably due to the very low water levels. However, the scenery cannot be beat. The steep banks of the river are 100% uninhabited jungle. Our guides were absolutely safety oriented with a loud flavor of fun! Also the guides were extremely knowledgable about the local flora and fauna, even Andy the guide from Ohio! Several times we pulled off and tasted edible plants, smelled flowers or observed rare birds and lizards. They all had years of rafting experience and had fun dropping us into holes and getting us to laugh until we were gasping for air. Overall, if u go with an open mind and a curiosity for Costa Rican splendor you'll have a blast. Just remember, this is no American class 3-4 (in the dry season at least). But seriously, don't let that deter you, the trip is super fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominical Surf Adventures also viewed

Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Dominical Surf Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dominical Surf Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.