We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Alturas

Save Saved
You added Villas Alturas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas Alturas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Gorgeous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband, two sons, and I spent four beautiful nights at Villas Alturas and had a fantastic stay. The view is phenomenal, the staff is super sweet, and the food is amazing. Best meals we had in Costa Rica. The staff loaned us boogie boards and beach towels during our stay. The only downside was that the air conditioning in one of the bedrooms broke down on our third night, but the ocean breeze still allowed us to sleep comfortably. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We enjoyed having you and your family at Villas Alturas for the week. We appreciate your comments and feedback and will continue to strive to insure your experience is the best it can be.
Warm regards,
Tom, Ivette and the VA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
62
75
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing views and nice pool and restaurant area. Felt like you were staying at someone's villa.
The rooms had 2 bedrooms. 1 bathroom , kitchenette, seating area. Furniture very basic. Only bedrooms air conditioned and 1 room didn't work.
Disappointed that they decided to have a conference for about 30 people one day! It's way too small. They were everywhere. Our balcony, in the pool, by the pool. The pool is only the size of a private hone pool. So it was very invasive.
They guy in charge did his best to accommodate us.
Best thing was the 4 dogs. ! Big but gentle

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are very sorry you were upset that we had a teachers conference here one morning and you did not have the exclusivity you wanted but we try our best to accommodate all of our guest and we strive to provide the cleanest and best accommodations in the area. As you see from our reviews guest services are our top priority and we will go the extra mile to make every guest happy with our service, accommodations and their own personal experience. I hope you are able to find the experience you seek in your future travels and we hope you come back and visit us in the future.
Regards
Tom, Ivette and the team at villas Alturas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had originally only booked here for two days, since we usually like to move around when we're traveling but once we were there it ended up being so nice that we stayed the entire week. The view is unbelievable. It's like a postcard. The staff were all very nice and made sure that we always had everything we needed. The restaurant food was very good also. The rooms were clean and everything worked as it should. The AC broke one night, and they had it fixed very quickly the next day. You just cannot get much better than Villas Artura. It's a little tricky to find at night so I would recommend trying to get there during the day. If you do happen to get there at night, as your heading south on the coastal highway past Dominical, then past playa dominicalito, keep your eyes open when you come up around one of the hills for two signs that are close together on the right side of the road that have small lights on the top of them. You can't read the signs at night, but the driveway is right in between the signs on the left hand side. This is surely one of the nicest places to stay in the Dominical area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We really appreciate your wonderful review and were glad you decided to stay with us for the full week. We look forward to your return visit and the opportunity to visit our new animal sanctuary opening in November.
Warmest wishes,
Tom, Ivette and the team at VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband, two daughters and I just returned from an eight day trip to Costa Rica. We spent three of the nights at the beautiful Villas Alturas. It is a stunning property in Dominical with the most gorgeous view I've ever seen from a hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and the rooms were spacious and accommodated the four of us perfectly. The only thing I would change is I would have rented a car. The property is not within walking distance to anything so we had to rely on the staff of the hotel or taxi's to give us rides (thanks Justin for taking care of us!) Dominical and Uvita has a wonderful vibe and we really enjoyed our time there! Thanks to the owners Tom and Ivette for making our stay so special! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
What a wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you and your family here at Villas Alturas. We also appreciate your comments and the recommendations you pass on to other travelers. We look forward to your return visit and will take care of all your needs, including car rental, transportation and tours,
best regards
Tom, Ivette and the team at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We recently stayed at Villas Alturas for 4 nights during our first trip to Costa Rica. We wished we would have spent our entire two weeks here! Villas Alturas is a very special place. Words cannot do justice for the view here. It truly is breathtaking. I will never forget the day we arrived, how incredible it was to walk into the open-air reception/bar/restaurant, with the pool and incredible Pacific Ocean beyond. Simply amazing.

We loved sitting on our private comfortable deck, enjoying the view and watching all of the wildlife. We saw so many toucans every day, heard howler monkeys every morning. We also saw capuchin monkeys during breakfast one morning and a huge iguana in a nearby tree one afternoon. I even was lucky enough to see two whales breach one morning.

It seemed as if most of the villas were occupied during our time here, but we still felt as if we had our own private concierge! Marlin was particularly helpful. Whenever we headed out, he or Luke or Tom were there to answer our questions, give directions or provide complimentary beach towels and boogie boards for the beach. When we returned, they were there to welcome us back and ask if we needed anything. They were always helpful, but unobtrusive.

The restaurant was a very nice surprise to us! The food was good and the prices were very reasonable. We expected prices to be high, but they definitely were not. On one side of the menu were sandwich, salad and other options under $10, and the other side offered larger pasta and meat entrees for under $20. We felt as though we had our own private chef, ready to cook for us whenever we wanted. And to top it off was the amazing view while you waited.

We also LOVED the dogs! They were so gentle and sweet. They aren't allowed in the restaurant, pool or villa areas, so if you aren't a fan of dogs, you can easily avoid them. But we are animal lovers, and it was so nice to be able to see those sweeties every day.

My husband and I don't usually like to return to somewhere we've already visited. We think there are too many amazing places in the world to see. But we agree that Villas Alturas is the one place we would love to visit again - soon! It was just amazing, like nowhere else we've ever been.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We truly appreciate your words and comments. It is always our pleasure to provide the best experience for our guests. As a seasoned traveler your recommendation and review really helps other future guests get a real feel for Villas Alturas.
We certainly look forward to your return visit and we will have the new Animal Sanctuary open in November.
Best regards
Tom, Ivette and the team at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was my fourth time to Costa Rica and third time to Dominical, and I think it's safe to say that Villas Alturas is some of the best that the Dominical area has to offer. A few friends and I stayed here for an extended trip and were always able to find something to do, whether it be relax by the pool and take in the view, take a quick trip to the beach, or hike some of the trails that branch off from the hotel property. The villas are spacious yet cozy and come with a fully equipped kitchen that makes it easy to cook and save money, which was a nice option on such a long trip. The villas were a nice break from the typical hotel room vacations. Not to mention that the views can't be beat.

In addition to the beautiful hotel, the owners were very generous to our group and couldn't have been more helpful; they always had an idea for something to do. We were able to keep busy our entire stay, while still having plenty of down time to relax.

A special shout out to the talented Alonso in the kitchen. The menu items, specials, and desserts were simply amazing, every time. While it probably should have been a waterfall or beach, having a group dinner at the hotel with Alonso cooking managed to be the highlight of the trip for pretty much everyone in our eleven person group. This guy could open his own restaurant.

From everyone in the group, thanks again Tom and Ivette!!

Room Tip: Villa 1 has amazing views, but is also close to the pool. The lower level villas are probably the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Justin, thank you for your kind words and extensive review. We enjoyed have you and the group here and being able to provide all the things to make your visit a memorable one.
we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best regards,
Tom, Ivette and the staff at Villas Alturas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Villas Alturas is situated on the mountainside overlooking a breathtaking scene of rainforest and the Pacific Ocean. Our villa is one of the nicest accommodations of its kind where we have stayed. The tasteful decor was bright and tropical. Each room was spacious and well-appointed. We especially enjoyed the rancho, equipped with rocking chairs, a small dining set and a nap-inducing hammock.

The property is absolutely gorgeous and is accented by the abundance of rainforest wildlife. We slept with the windows open, so each morning our "alarm clock" was the sound of toucans making their rounds in the surrounding trees. Delightful!


The food was delicious and the staff were warm and very helpful. I would live there if I could. Suffice it to say that we would not hesitate to book another stay at Villas Alturas.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a porch that front the incredible ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivette O, Owner at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Scott, thank you for the great review. We enjoyed have you both here and really look forward to you return visit.
Warm regards
Tom, Ivette and the team at VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Alturas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.