We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible view and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Alturas to your Saves list
Villas Alturas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Dominical
Atlanta,Ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible view and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The driveway is straight up and rough but the ride is well worth it! The rooms were spotless and clean with very comfortable beds and a spectacular view. The gardener, Renaldo(spelling right?) is one of the warmest, kindest men I have met in a long time and takes great effort in keeping everything beautiful! We felt safe and welcome on our perch over the Pacific! Such a wonderful natural setting with beautiful birds everywhere and nature all around. We were greeted warmly at our arrival and told not to worry about business until the morning - we were tired and it meant a LOT to be immediately relieved of all stress and allowed to relax by the pool, have a cold drink, and settle in for a cozy night. The howler monkeys wake up early so bring earplugs if that's an issue - I personally LOVE it - I sleep like a baby in the sounds of nature. Thank you for making our 18th anniversary something special. I would like to thank everyone there for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We appreciate all of our guests so much! Please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    32
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
118
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kensington ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were lucky to call Villas Alturas "home" for a week over the Christmas holiday this year. We had already traveled quite a bit throughout Costa Rica prior, so by the time we made it up their steep and rutted driveway (no joke, you need 4-wheel drive), we felt like we had discovered Mount Olympus. The view of the Pacific Ocean is breathtaking which everyone can enjoy from the pool, the bar, the open air dining area. The managers, Cindy and David, will help you settle in even before you arrive with lots of communication via email. The Villas Alturas staff is mostly tico and very friendly and attentive-- our son particularly liked Oscar who played soccer with him and threw him in the pool. We thank them all profusely for providing us such a great experience while we visited-- Oscar escorted a baby scorpion out of our kitchen, Cindy and David booked surfing lessons and boat tours for us, and we enjoyed having breakfast with all the other guests every morning. We also enjoyed having our own kitchen and the convenience of cooking for ourselves and our kids. Perks for us-Wifi worked well, they did laundry for us, they loaned us beach blankets, coolers, took us to a local waterfall hangout, etc.. If you have the time in your vacation schedule, we highly recommend using this as your home base as we did. Also, if you are a party of 2-4, we recommend requesting the room we had-- Room 3-- it is the furthest one away from the main social areas so if you like quiet, you have it, and the veranda has the best view of the ocean as well as the amazing array of birds that live there. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

we stayed here our second week and realy enjoyed it. we had our own kicthen that was very well equiped and if we needed anything Cindy and Dave were happy to oblidge! we even hosted a dinner party for 6! the views are outstanding and having breakfast made for you each morning was a treat. the fruit was always fresh and if you are lucky, you will get to try Dave's banana pancakes!!! (Request them) maid service was excellent. this would be a great place too for older people to stay. one night there were 9 toucans in the tree right in front of our villa.
cindy made some great recommendations for us to see some hidden beaches and other tourist sights. thanks Cindy (and Dave and Victoria) for such a great experience!

Room Tip: if a couple, request the one bedroom villas below the pool. has the best view, but usually booked w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great views and comfortable rooms. Friendly and kind management and staff. Set up encourages interaction between guests and makes the stay more fun. Kitchens in each room are handy for snacks or meals. Great bird watching from the covered patios. Chestnut mandibled toucans every day for a week stay. Howler monkeys wake you every morning. Hard to beat for the price. Road is 4x4 required but if you want a view, you have to go up hill in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Let's start with the positive: beautiful views, nice villas, swimming pool, very much designed for catering western (US?) tourists.
But after the positive reviews didn't apply for us any more: into our opinion it is pretentious, but doesn't live up to it. We didn't feel welcome, and especially after we complained -in a very decent manner- about it, we were first denied being right and then secondly (and that killed it off for me) the staff was blamed.
We had a couple of hickups during our stay (including a "forgotten" restaurant reservation @the premises, although we had had an email confirmation before ), but you know what: we could have lived with it, anybody can make mistakes, as long as they a. acknowledge that they are responsible for it -even if they didn't do it themselves- and b. apologize for it. b, was done, have to admit that, but too little and too late.
All in all: yes, it's a great place, but it either needs to revise its tariffs or its management.
We had way better experiences in the rest of Costa Rica, but again, it's all about expectations.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for your inconveniences. We have had many change overs in the restaurant lately, trying to hire a new chef in Costa Rica is the most difficult thing I have ever encountered. We were in the state of transition to a new chef when you were here, and that is the reason for the menu change. He was unable to prepare the menu that you had been sent when you made your reservation. Your reservation was here on our books, but the new chef was unaware of it. Because of his inadequacies (he is no longer here, because of them) the management was out having to get supplies for the restaurant that were unexpected because of the chef's inexperience. So were not able to fix the situation because of having to take care of the restaurant business. You were offered another menu, we were able to accomodate you, and you declined. We do try our best in every situation to rectify any misunderstanings or inadequacies related to our customer service. I assure you, by reading our other reviews, you will see that in every case we make a huge effort to make everyone here as comfortable and happy as possible and i apologize again for the minor inconveniences you exerienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Villas Alturas, without a doubt, has one of the best views of the Costa Rican Coast we've experienced in our three visits! The staff is warm and friendly, making you feel very welcome; like family. The villas have large unairconditioned living areas and a bath, with small, but adequate, airconditioned bedrooms. The beds were very comfortable (so important on vacation!). We enjoyed many hours reading on the pool deck or rocking on the porch of our villa. The hotel is not ON the beach. In fact the beach is several minutes away in either direction. So keep that in mind if being right on the beach is important. This area is known for it's rip currents, so be careful swimming along this coast.

Room Tip: Villa 4 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! Villa Number 4 where you stayed is our smallest two bedroom Villa. Number 1, 2 and 7 all have king beds and larger bedrooms. For the Christmas Holidays all the two bedroom Villas Book almost a year in advance and number 4 is all we had available at the time you booked. If anyone wants a larger Villa, please request 1, 2 or 7.
Thanks again for your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Jaw-dropping views were the first thing that grabbed us. Friendly and extremely helpful hosts were the second: David, who manages Alturas, along with Francisco, Oscar, Eric and last but definitely not least, chef Renaldo. Everyone played a role in making our 5 night stay exceed all of our expectations. Upon arrival, we truly thought we were living in a picture perfect postcard. Our villa had a great kitchen and a huge shower. We spent hours on our porch watching sunrises and sets, storm clouds pass over the ocean, toucans, humming birds and others, listening to howler monkeys - it was all entrancing. And the night skies were mesmerizing - you couldn't miss seeing at least one shooting star. I recommend Villas Alturas highly - it is one of the most wonderful places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Villas Alturas! We appreciate your business and your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
3.1 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
3.8 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#5 of 12 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#7 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 12 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
3.1 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . Terms and Conditions ---------------------------------------------- AMEX is not accepted at this time Payment Policy: Rates include breakfast and daily maid service. Sheets are changed every third day. (Breakfast that is included in the rate for a One Bedroom Villa is for 2 people, Breakfast for a Two Bedroom Villa is for 4 people. ) Above rates INCLUDE 13% sales tax for the room only. A 10% service charge plus tax will be added to all restaurant and bar purchases. Management reserves the right to POSSIBLY withhold deposit per their discretion at time of reservation and is as follows: 50% of reservation is due at the time of booking. The remaining 50% is due at check out. The maximum guests in our villas is 2 per bedroom plus one additional if the villa contains a futon. Check-in time is 2:00pm. Check-out time is 10am. Early check-in and late check-out are subject to availability and may incur a charge. High season is December through April excluding holidays. Green season is May through November. Holiday rates apply December 20th through January 5th and require a 5 night minimum stay. Management declines all responsibility for valuables left in the villas. Cancellation Policy: There is no refund if cancellation is made 14 days or less prior to the reservation date. When cancellation notification is received between 15 and 30 days prior to the reservation, a $50 processing fee per room will be charged. Payment will be forfeited if guest(s) arrive after the specific date of reservation or depart prior to final day of reservation. All cancellations need to be sent via e-mail. A cancellation is not confirmed until you have received an email or fax confirmation from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Alturas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.