We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Staying With Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Alturas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Alturas to your Saves list
Villas Alturas
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dominical
Arcata, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt Like Staying With Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I spend 3 nights at Villas Alturas in early October, 2012 and it was fantastic! First, I want to say I spend lots of time in Costa Rica and have travelled most of the country, so I'm not some young, impressionable Costa Rica Virgin! Second the Property - it's a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica. Views are incredible and it's only a 10-minute drive or so to a couple of different little towns (Dominical and one I honestly can't recall). The villas are very private and come with safes, kitchens, porches, etc. Finally, Cindy was hosting some of her family members while were there and they adopted us and made us feel totally at home. There was a big "family" dinner one night, another night we had the massage people from town up and everybody got massages and one day we all caravanned down to Quepos and took the boat tour together. All it all it's a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
That is always our goal, to make you feel like family! We want you to be able to kick off your shoes around the pool deck or in the bar/restaurant and then come looking for them in the morning. :) So glad you felt like one of the family. Please come back anytime, we enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    20
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
66
82
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Villas Alturas was everything we had hoped it would be. We love to cook and our villa gave us that opportunity. We love to meet new people and this was the place to do that. Cindy was such a pleasure to be around and even shared my birthday with us at a great place. The views at from the villas are breathtaking. Privacy is important to us and we got it here. You can do as much or as little as you want. We enjoyed most evenings at our villa or at the pool area. Cindy knows the area very well and can always help with things to do. We will be going back in July. There is no other place we would stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 3. Our view was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We really enjoyed your visit, you definitely fit right in with the Pura Vida lifestyle in Costa Rica, we look forward to your return in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I love Costa Rica and wanted an opportunity to submerge in its total beauty and comfort. Booking a week at Villa Alturas was the perfect solution. The location is unbelievable. The views from our porch were amazing. Just what I was looking for to rest and revive from a busy schedule. The food was totally wonderful. David is an amazing chef and everything was terrific. The frozen drinks were also superb. All the staff were so attentive. Anything we needed was attended to immediately. What a skilled, loyal and attentive group.
Not sure what activities are available in the area? Looking for thrills or just exceptional scenery? Cindy will arrange most any tour or activity offered in the area.
Want a gourmet restaurant experience (staying at the Villas offers that on site as well), that can be arranged as well.
Transportation from the airport in San Jose is easily arranged as well. We can with a small group of friends and everything was arranged.
It was a spectacular total experience. You really can't beat this if traveling alone or with a group.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful rooms. No need to choose to get a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with another couple during a 12-day trip to Costa Rica, and it was a perfect way to end our vacation. The views are stunning. Truly unbeatable. Even on stormy nights, you get gorgeous views of the clouds and lightning. We spent a lot time surfing and hiking during the day, and I always looked forward to unwinding at our little oasis. It was very calm and relaxing, and we spent many quality hours just lounging by the pool or on our patio, reading, chatting and drinking wine. Dave and Cindy were extremely welcoming hosts and helped us plan many of our daytime activities. Can't say enough good things about the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasAlturas, Manager at Villas Alturas, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
yes, our views are definitely some of the best in all of Costa Rica! We love sharing our beautiful hotel with guests such as yourself. Please come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

First time in Costa Rica and this was the best place we stayed the entire trip. Great views, very relaxing, and even better staff. Dave and Cindy went above and beyond to help us organize events, rent-a-car, and also serve wonderful food! If you're looking to get away from the world and view the ocean, this is the place to do it. The staff has connections with all the local businesses and was able to get us a automatic transmission rent-a-car when we had trouble with the stick shift.

Also was very helpful with transportation to the airport in San Jose.

Couldn't recommend this place any more!

Room Tip: All rooms have AC and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deSoto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent 6 nights here with a group of 16 (friends and friends of friends). The staff are wonderful- friendly and helpful in arranging activities for you. The view is superb! I enjoyed many days relaxing on my veranda while my active friends were off zip lining or white water rafting. Having separate villas for different family groups was very convenient but having communal breakfast and dinner (all delicious meals) allowed us to catch up with old friends or get acquainted with new ones.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a very enjoyable time. Dave and Cindy are great hosts. They arranged a whale watching trip. They are very knowledgeable about the area and were able to inform us of the best locations for eating and sightseeing. Also made us feel perfectly comfortable staying at the Villa. Breakfasts and Dinners were great. The views were unbelievable. The rooms were perfect. The AC was great!
~Marty

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Alturas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Alturas

Address: Alturas de San Martin Norte, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dominical
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Alturas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Alturas offers the perfect combination of peace and quiet, views, sun, beach and adventure. Situated in the Costa Ballena area, only 35 minutes south of Manuel Antonio, you can enjoy the cool beachy vibe of Dominical 15 min away, explore the Marino Ballena National Park in Uvita or sample the international cuisine offered in Ojochal. Villas Alturas offers a complimentary breakfast every morning and the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner every day. We will plan and book all of your tours as well as help you to connect with all of the local free adventures. Barbque grill, free parking, a/c bedrooms, great pool area with an incredible views! Our road was improved in December, 2013 very easily accessible. We can accommodate 30+ people for your parties, destination wedding or any other event. Time to breathe . . . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas Alturas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Alturas Hotel Dominical
Villas Alturas Costa Rica/Dominical

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Alturas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.